How do I get to enable NX on AMI BIOSes

Discussion in 'BIOS Mods' started by matybg, Jan 1, 2013.

1. matybg

matybg MDL Novice

Nov 1, 2011
    Hi, I have an old Asus p4v800d-x MB with the latest bios (Version 704, link here dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/sock478/p4v800d-x/ P4V8D704.zip

The problem is a lot like the topic below
    forums.mydigitallife.net/threads/35176-TUTORIAL-How-do-I-get-the-option-in-the-bios-to-enable-vt-at-Phoenix-BIOSes

My Processor is capable of NX/PAE but the option to enable it does not exist on my bios (and I cant install Windows 8 because of that).

I just want to know if there is a possibility to hack the bios to enable the option.
    if it's not impossible and someone is willing to help me (I'm new to modding BIOSes but with some guidance I will catch it up), I will post more detailed information of my setup.

Thanks a lot!
    Cheers

2. LatinMcG

LatinMcG Bios Borker

Feb 27, 2011
    most wil say upgrade your hardware some. like a core2duo board or better

3. matybg

matybg MDL Novice

Nov 1, 2011
    Still, my pc works pretty damm good and I see no reason to upgrade it to install windows 8 (very stupid nx check from w8, I can run w8 consumer preview which doesn't have that nx/pae check and works very good.

Here is a picture of my bios, in the section that should appear the option

ht tps ://ww w. dropbox. com/s/9wzu9x069d28sdr/2013-01-01%2018.45.54.jpg

4. jayblok

jayblok MDL Guru

Dec 26, 2010
    i always wondered about the nx/pae check on cosumer preview win8,this is great info on your behalf,i thank you very much, you are a great person :worthy: now i can run win8 cp on old dell/HP computers,hold on,does not win8 consumer have an expiration date? Do you have a solution for this? or does it just stay in evaluation mode forever?

5. matybg

matybg MDL Novice

Nov 1, 2011