How many times must I delete a file to remove it?

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by Davejay, Mar 5, 2013.

1. Davejay

Davejay MDL Novice

Mar 5, 2013
    Hi folks, newbie here, VERY newbie. . . in fact this is my first post. Probably posted in the wrong place, but here goes. . . I downloaded the very useful Microsoft Office 2010 toolkit EZ-Activator 2.2.3. It worked like a charm. However I no longer want or need the program. I cannot delete it. Well I can, it moves to the recycle bin, I empty said recycle bin, but after the next boot it is back again! Spooky. Then I started to investigate the program and discovered I could limit its activity in Task Scheduler. The problem is, EVERY time I boot my laptop, the UAC asks if I want to let this program make changes to my computer. It has already activated the program so I click the "NO" option. The aformentioned task scheduler had no effect. I deleted the task and it miraculously returns. I deleted C:\Windows\AutoKMS. It also comes back. I used Regedit and deleted every mention of "toolkit.exe". It still comes back. That's why I joined this forum. The author of the program has several posts here. But they all talk about USING the program. I can find nothing about completely removing it from my system. If CODYQX4 is reading this (I can hope!) perhaps he can help me remove it. Thanks. Hope someone can help.

My Computer is a HP Pavilion g6 intel 2.2Ghz. 8 Gb Ram Windows 8 (legit copy - pre-installed)

2. im bored

im bored MDL Member

Aug 17, 2009
    #3 im bored, Mar 5, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2013
    Well I will use version 2.4.1 as an example under Activation tab there is a button that says Uninstall.
    WT 2.4.1.jpg

and if that doesn't work for you than you can go to Control Panel -> Administrative Tools -> Task Scheduler -> Task Scheduler Library
    and in there you will likely find a Task that is scheduled to run every boot up (AutoKMS). DELETE it

3. Davejay

Davejay MDL Novice

Mar 5, 2013