How to Boot into Sfe mode in windows 8 RTM?

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by triggat, Aug 17, 2012.

  1. triggat

    triggat MDL Member

    Feb 18, 2009
    192
    12
    10
    Can anyone tell me how to boot into safe mode in this final RTM or Msdn version of win 8. I know that in the release preview version of win 8 you had to manually activate safe mode through command prompt...is this still the case in this version of win 8?
     
  2. 5856898

    5856898 MDL Junior Member

    Aug 18, 2012
    72
    32
    0
    You can still use command prompt to activate safe mode.
    Also, you can boot into Safe mode in this way:

    Change PC Settings - General , go to Advanced startup, Restart now, choose Advanced, reboot, and press the needed function key asked.
     
  3. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend MDL Senior Member

    Feb 10, 2010
    360
    112
    10
    Change PC Settings --> Power --> Press 'Shift' Key and Click Restart --> Select Troubleshooting --> Select Advanced Options --> Restart --> On Restart, Press 4 from Keyboard to boot in safe mode
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. hellohello

    hellohello MDL Junior Member

    May 10, 2007
    95
    18
    0
    is there a way we can boot into the safe mode without going into windows first?

    something like the F8 during the bios

    thanks
     
  5. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend MDL Senior Member

    Feb 10, 2010
    360
    112
    10
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. hellohello

    hellohello MDL Junior Member

    May 10, 2007
    95
    18
    0
    I just found a way by editing the boot menu using BCD, that way you will get the option safe mode in the new bootloader menu, quite kool.
     
  7. MrMagic

    MrMagic MDL Guru

    Feb 13, 2012
    5,702
    3,704
    180
    So there is no way to boot in safemode manually then without going into windows first ?

    Fail from MS, what if a customer has a bad virus infection that stops windows from working ? I need safemode to repair it

    What if my system will not boot all the way to windows and the repair option won't boot either ? I need safemode to repair it too

    Removing access to safemode before booting windows = huge fail
     
  8. Puremin0rez

    Puremin0rez MDL Member

    Nov 24, 2010
    235
    81
    10
    I think you could technically boot into the win8 iso and select repair and go into safe mode that way, but I'm not very sure.

    I agree faster bootup in favor of removing safe mode was a big fail.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. alien2xx

    alien2xx MDL Senior Member

    Aug 5, 2009
    382
    188
    10

    This may work for you. You may only need to be able to get to the logon screen..

    http://forums.mydigitallife.net/thr...o-MSDN-version?p=626749&viewfull=1#post626749
     
  10. ahmadmaher

    ahmadmaher MDL Novice

    Mar 20, 2010
    8
    5
    0
    #10 ahmadmaher, Aug 31, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2012
    i did add the safe mode in the boot menu

    cmd as admin

    bcdedit /enum /v

    get the identifier code then type

    bcdedit /copy {the 2nd one} /d SafeMode <- name it what you like

    msconfig > boot > safe boot > apply

    when you restart it will be there and you can boot into safe mode directly

    w w w .addictivetips.com/windows-tips/how-to-enable-windows-8-safe-mode/
     
  11. triggat

    triggat MDL Member

    Feb 18, 2009
    192
    12
    10
    This thread could be closed...as I got the answer to this ages ago. I posted this sometime ago but it just got allowed by the mods....its old news!
     
  12. MrMagic

    MrMagic MDL Guru

    Feb 13, 2012
    5,702
    3,704
    180
    Yea the booting from the DVD would work, bit of a PITA compared to hitting F8 though

    Another irritating thing they have done is force startup repair if boot fails more than a couple of times, so for example the other day, I was messing around with my OC settings and of course had a few crashes during boot, so Win 8 decided it just had to launch startup repair with absolutely no way to stop it and boot normally like you can with 7

    Does MS think all of their users are thicker than a plank of wood and need big colourful pictures instead of useful settings ?
     
  13. Rock Hunter

    Rock Hunter MDL Senior Member

    Dec 6, 2011
    406
    99
    10
    My overall impression of Windows 8 compared to Windows 7 is that Microsoft changed a lot of things that were easy to use and made them more difficult in Windows 8.
     
  14. dreamss

    dreamss MDL Junior Member

    Apr 7, 2009
    99
    45
    10
    instead of entering the id this clones the default entry:

    bcdedit /copy {default} /d "Safe Mode"

    then

    msconfig > boot > safe boot > apply
     
  15. nijel

    nijel MDL Junior Member

    Mar 8, 2008
    56
    6
    0
    #15 nijel, Sep 2, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Simple .bat file to restart Windows 7/8 in Safe Mode. Run as Admin:

    Code:
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
    
    ; @echo off
    ; cls
    ; bcdedit /set safeboot Minimal
    ; regedit /S "%~f0"
    ; shutdown /r /f /t 5 /c "Restarting in Safe Mode..."
    ; exit
    
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunOnce]
    "*normalBoot"="cmd /C bcdedit /deletevalue safeboot"
    
     
  16. HALIKUS

    HALIKUS MDL Addicted

    Jul 29, 2009
    527
    369
    30
    #16 HALIKUS, May 19, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Old thread, but heres how to add safe mode for Win8 as an extra option in the bcd menu, and not have your main entry boot into it. Compile in autoit.

    Code:
    If @OSVersion = "WIN_8" Then
    ;Win8 Safemode to BCD
    Runwait(@ComSpec & ' /c ' & @WindowsDir & '\system32\bcdedit /set {current} safeboot Minimal', "", @SW_HIDE)
    Runwait(@ComSpec & ' /c ' & @WindowsDir & '\system32\reagentc /enable', "", @SW_HIDE)
    Runwait(@ComSpec & ' /c ' & @WindowsDir & '\system32\bcdedit /copy {current} /d "Windows 8 (Safe Mode)"', "", @SW_HIDE)
    Runwait(@ComSpec & ' /c ' & @WindowsDir & '\system32\bcdedit /deletevalue {current} safeboot', "", @SW_HIDE)
    Runwait(@ComSpec & ' /c ' & @WindowsDir & '\system32\bcdedit /set {current} bootmenupolicy standard', "", @SW_HIDE)
    RunWait(@ComSpec & ' /c ' & @WindowsDir & "\system32\bcdedit /timeout 10", "", @SW_HIDE)
    EndIf
    
     
  17. moderate

    moderate MDL Guru

    Aug 31, 2009
    2,595
    2,107
    90
    #17 moderate, May 19, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Why not to do so permanently? :) And without f***ing msconfig... :)

    bcdedit /set {default} bootmenupolicy legacy
    bcdedit /copy {default} /d "Windows 8 Safe Mode"
    bcdedit /copy {default} /d "Windows 8 Safe Mode with Networking"
    bcdedit /copy {default} /d "Windows 8 Safe Mode with Command Prompt"
    bcdedit /timeout 3
    bcdedit /enum /v


    ...and find {UUID} of new copied items like:

    Code:
    Windows Boot Loader
    -------------------
    identifier              {d0769877-bfef-11e2-a06d-926154e31c77}
    device                  partition=C:
    path                    \Windows\system32\winload.exe
    description             Windows 8 Safe Mode
    locale                  cs-CZ
    inherit                 {6efb52bf-1766-41db-a6b3-0ee5eff72bd7}
    recoverysequence        {c419b4a3-aefd-11e2-aa8a-8ce598f46bfe}
    integrityservices       Enable
    recoveryenabled         Yes
    allowedinmemorysettings 0x15000075
    osdevice                partition=C:
    systemroot              \Windows
    resumeobject            {c419b4a1-aefd-11e2-aa8a-8ce598f46bfe}
    nx                      OptIn
    safeboot                Minimal
    bootmenupolicy          Legacy
    (In that case above it is the string behind "identifier" {d0769877-bfef-11e2-a06d-926154e31c77}, but yours will be different, then find the {UUID}s for other two copied items.)

    Then finally do:
    bcdedit /set {d0769877-bfef-11e2-a06d-926154e31c77} safeboot minimal
    and you will have working "Safe-Mode" menu item avaiable selection for 3s each boot. :))
    bcdedit /set {d0769878-bfef-11e2-a06d-926154e31c77} safeboot network
    ...for "Safe Mode with Networking and both of these:
    bcdedit /set {d0769879-bfef-11e2-a06d-926154e31c77} safeboot minimal
    bcdedit /set {d0769879-bfef-11e2-a06d-926154e31c77} safebootalternateshell yes

    ...for "Safe Mode with Command Prompt"...
     
  18. HALIKUS

    HALIKUS MDL Addicted

    Jul 29, 2009
    527
    369
    30
    #18 HALIKUS, May 19, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Isn't that basically the same thing i posted, but with my way you don't have to mess with {UUID}s ? I only mention it because you made a point about having less steps with your way, whereas my way is totally silent with no user interaction.

    My way you can make an exe, but for cmd, it would be :

    bcdedit /set {current} safeboot Minimal
    reagentc /enable
    bcdedit /copy {current} /d "Windows 8 (Safe Mode)"
    bcdedit /deletevalue {current} safeboot
    bcdedit /set {current} bootmenupolicy standard
    bcdedit /timeout 10
     
  19. moderate

    moderate MDL Guru

    Aug 31, 2009
    2,595
    2,107
    90
    #19 moderate, May 19, 2013
    Last edited: May 20, 2013
    Aaah, "your way... my way" :D
    I didn't read it to be honest :)

    AutoIt is rubbish BTW :)

    Without finding {UUID}s:

    bcdedit /set {default} bootmenupolicy legacy
    bcdedit /set {default} safeboot network
    bcdedit /copy {default} /d "Windows 8 Safe Mode with Networking"
    bcdedit /set {default} safeboot minimal
    bcdedit /copy {default} /d "Windows 8 Safe Mode"
    bcdedit /set {default} safebootalternateshell yes
    bcdedit /copy {default} /d "Windows 8 Safe Mode with Command Prompt"
    bcdedit /deletevalue {default} safebootalternateshell
    bcdedit /deletevalue {default} safeboot
    bcdedit /timeout 3


    BTW: bootmenupolicy standard is spoiled, because it starts loading {default} at 1st and when you select something other, it kicks half-loaded OS to trashcan and does reboot for loading "other menuitem". So for example, if you have TrueCrypt authentification, you will have to enter the pass-phrase twice... also that reboot is unnecessary, so use bootmenupolicy legacy setting...