How to check for SLIC 2.1 on bios?

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Dissonance, Oct 2, 2009.

  1. Dissonance

    Dissonance MDL Junior Member

    Aug 12, 2009
    50
    1
    0
  2. Reign_Of_Freedom

    Reign_Of_Freedom MDL Expert

    Aug 1, 2009
    1,263
    447
    60
    #2 Reign_Of_Freedom, Oct 2, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
  3. Dissonance

    Dissonance MDL Junior Member

    Aug 12, 2009
    50
    1
    0
    Thanks I did see that before I was just hoping that there was a way to check without having to flash first. I guess I'll just flash tomorrow and see what I get.
     
  4. HotCarl

    HotCarl MDL Addicted

    Jul 21, 2009
    833
    16
    30
    Did you purchase a brand new PC from an Royalty OEM vendor recently? (ex: HP, Sony, Lenovo)
    If not, it is very unlikely that you have a BIOS in your PC that supports SLIC 2.1 and will have to either mod or use a loader.
     
  5. HotCarl

    HotCarl MDL Addicted

    Jul 21, 2009
    833
    16
    30
  6. danny3456

    danny3456 MDL Member

    Aug 22, 2009
    131
    13
    10
    If it is still being sold in the market and it carries a free upgrade-to-win7 option, it should have a updated bios with slic 2.1 for sure!!!:cool:
     
  7. HotCarl

    HotCarl MDL Addicted

    Jul 21, 2009
    833
    16
    30
    #8 HotCarl, Oct 2, 2009
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2009
    They weren't giving out the free upgrades at the end of last year when he purchased his PC (over 10 months ago)...the new ones they are still selling will have an updated BIOS to make them SLIC 2.1 compliant if they are coming pre-loaded with Win7. As I said, you can install Everest and see, but I don't think you will be that lucky.


    EDIT: The upgrade copies are more than likely retail copies with retail keys (which require online activation), so just because a PC comes with a free Win7 upgrade does not automatically mean that it has a SLIC 2.1 enabled BIOS...
     
  8. Dissonance

    Dissonance MDL Junior Member

    Aug 12, 2009
    50
    1
    0
    Well right now all the HDX 18t systems show the same bios at HP.com (F.31 A). So if the new systems have slic 2.1 then mine would too. I'll try flashing when I get some time tomorrow night and i'll let you guys know if it works or not.
     
  9. HotCarl

    HotCarl MDL Addicted

    Jul 21, 2009
    833
    16
    30
    Let us know what happens.. ;)
     
  10. Dissonance

    Dissonance MDL Junior Member

    Aug 12, 2009
    50
    1
    0
    You were right! SLIC 2.0.
    What are they waiting for! :(
     
  11. Ruley

    Ruley MDL Junior Member

    Jul 26, 2009
    89
    0
    0
    Request a mod, im sure someone here would be able to help you out.