How to Disable Windows Defender in Windows 8/8.1

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by ian82, Mar 5, 2014.

  1. ian82

    ian82 MDL Expert

    Mar 7, 2012
    1,147
    302
    60
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. pisthai

    pisthai Imperfect Human

    Jul 29, 2009
    6,748
    1,959
    210
    #2 pisthai, Mar 5, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2014
    It's easy to do also:

    From Run open MSCONFIG and click on Services, than scroll down to the 2 entries in picture below below and uncheck them:


    screenshot_483.png


    screenshot_484.png

    IN Taskmanager the 2 services WinDefend and WdNisSvc should be booth stopped, see picture, if not, use right click and click Stop for both:


    screenshot_485.png
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. colinzim

    colinzim MDL Senior Member

    May 14, 2007
    438
    90
    10
    Also,

    Change in Group Policy


    Run as admin gpedit.msc

    Computer Configuration > Administrative Templates > Windows Components > Windows Defender

    Turn off Windows Defender = Enabled

    gpedit.PNG
     
  4. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    6,787
    10,376
    210
    The only part that works on Core N version I'm testing is the uncheck box inside windows defender settings.
    The autoruns.exe doesn't work to disable the services. Gives access denied message.
    You might be able to modify things with takeown and icacls, but I really don't think that's a great idea.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. colinzim

    colinzim MDL Senior Member

    May 14, 2007
    438
    90
    10
    Did you run as admin ?
     
  6. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    6,787
    10,376
    210
    Yep. I'm very good at following directions.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. ian82

    ian82 MDL Expert

    Mar 7, 2012
    1,147
    302
    60
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. ian82

    ian82 MDL Expert

    Mar 7, 2012
    1,147
    302
    60

    you need to first disable Windows Defefender, then only can you disable the startup item WdNisSvc and WinDefend

    you cannot delete the startup entry itself
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    6,787
    10,376
    210
    #10 murphy78, Mar 5, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2014
    Yep, doesn't work on Core N... gonna try it on ProWMC soon.

    Edit: Missed the step about clicking the administrator part of the Windows Defender app.
    Sorry! - The screens look almost exactly the same!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. SpeedDream

    SpeedDream MDL Addicted

    Feb 20, 2012
    620
    121
    30
    right click, run as admin and you get this nice choice screen, turn on this app, untick and all done
    Capture.PNG

    cheers
     
  11. Aninvitedsoul

    Aninvitedsoul MDL Senior Member

    Sep 14, 2012
    421
    110
    10
    Somebody has a problem with using Windows Defender ! Who ? :druff:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. Mr.X

    Mr.X MDL Guru

    Jul 14, 2013
    5,762
    13,239
    180
    #13 Mr.X, Mar 5, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2014
    Almost post the same question here. Please somebody explain the "side effects" having both Windows Defender and an AV solution running simultaneously, which could obliges me to turn off either one or another.
     
  13. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    6,787
    10,376
    210
    I messed up. You know the Windows Defender screen where you have to click the Administrator column before unchecking the box? Yah... I didn't do that because the default screen looked the same as the one in the pic.
    That was my problem. This method works with the autoruns.exe runas admin stuff and unchecking the boxes after you properly disable the correct option.

    Thx for finding the details for this ian82,
    I personally have no use for a fulltime malware blocker. I scan exe files before running them.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. Aninvitedsoul

    Aninvitedsoul MDL Senior Member

    Sep 14, 2012
    421
    110
    10
    Btw Windows 8, automatically,turns Windows Defender off when you install another AV,or just disable the service.No big deal.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. ian82

    ian82 MDL Expert

    Mar 7, 2012
    1,147
    302
    60
    no the startup entries never go away, u NEED to disable them manually or else you WILL run into issues i've seen on many other forums like Eset's and Webroot's forums
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. s1ave77

    s1ave77 MDL Guide Dog/Dev

    Aug 15, 2012
    14,971
    19,899
    340
    Hmm ... after installing AVG IS 2014 i only disabled the WinDefender Service and good. Don't have any start entries left and no problems at all :cool2:.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. Aninvitedsoul

    Aninvitedsoul MDL Senior Member

    Sep 14, 2012
    421
    110
    10
    I just installed Webroot that you,re obviously using and started scanning to see how it behaves.I'll remove Windows Defender start up

    entries.I'm trying to see your point of view about AVs,maybe I'll change my mind.;)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. ian82

    ian82 MDL Expert

    Mar 7, 2012
    1,147
    302
    60

    After you install Webroot, Reboot, many people forget that

    after you reboot, run a custom scan, and select all your partitions

    once you do that full/custom scan, Webroot whitelists the files so it becomes even lighter than it already is
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. Aninvitedsoul

    Aninvitedsoul MDL Senior Member

    Sep 14, 2012
    421
    110
    10
    Yah fine then, but as soon as stopped the service there is no start up entries in autoruns.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...