How To Exclude A Drive When Making Windows Image Backup

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by ChaserLee, Dec 31, 2014.

  1. ChaserLee

    ChaserLee MDL Senior Member

    Oct 7, 2014
    425
    91
    10
    #1 ChaserLee, Dec 31, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    I learned how to make a Windows Image Backup here on this forum some months ago, and it has been of use to me a couple of times. However, since I learned how to make one, I started installing some of my larger sized games to my D: drive. Now, when I use the Admin Powershell to make a backup, instead of just making an image of my C: drive, it now includes all those large game files on my D: drive too. This makes for a really large backup image, as you can imagine.

    The command I have been using is as follows:

    Code:
    wbAdmin start backup -backupTarget:P: -include:C: -allCritical -quiet
    Would anyone know of a way that I can exclude the D: drive when making the backup image? This would be for my Windows 8.1 Update x64 OS, if that makes any difference.

    TIA !!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. david_xross_2

    david_xross_2 MDL Senior Member

    Aug 31, 2012
    284
    304
    10
    #2 david_xross_2, Dec 31, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2014
    Use the GUI for making backup...that way you can select or deselect individual drives prior to imaging...
    http://forums.mydigitallife.net/attachment.php?attachmentid=32935&stc=1
     

    Attached Files:

  3. ChaserLee

    ChaserLee MDL Senior Member

    Oct 7, 2014
    425
    91
    10
    #3 ChaserLee, Dec 31, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    I don't seem to be able to locate that GUI. I did a search for "Recovery" without any such results, then searched for "System Image Backup" with no results. The closest I seem able to get is an option to make a "System Recovery Drive", which is not what I wish to do. I just want to make an Image without the D: drive included.

    I've done a Google search also, and all I come up with is the following directions:
    Code:
    Use System Image Backup
    
                      You can use System Image Backup like you did in previous verison of Windows.
             To open System Image Backup
    
    
    
    • Swipe in from the right edge of the screen, and then tap Search. (If you're using a mouse, point to the lower-right corner of the screen, move the mouse pointer up, and then click Search.)
    • Enter File History in the search box, tap or click File History, and then click System Image Backup.
    When I follow those directions, there is no option for 'System Image Backup' when I click File History. I do have 'File History' turned off, if that makes any difference??

    I also found out that the portion of what I enter into PowerShell that is "-allCritical " option includes everything (additional partitions/volumes or drives) required to start and run Windows properly in the backup. So, I suspect that if there is a way to do what I want, it will have to be done with the -allCritical section of the command, yes?

    Would you mind directing me to that System Image Backup GUI you spoke of? I've tried everything I can think of, and everything I've found doing searches, but no joy....
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. ChaserLee

    ChaserLee MDL Senior Member

    Oct 7, 2014
    425
    91
    10
    Thank you, I finally found the GUI. But still no joy.o_O The check box next to drive D: is checked, and the GUI will not let me un-check it. So, it seems that I have no control over it using the GUI.

    If it can be done at all, it will have to be in the command line argument somewhere.....
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. CEW

    CEW MDL Member

    Jan 21, 2011
    205
    109
    10
    There is obviously something critical on that drive.

    You can image any individual partition, just by omitting the allcritical bit

    wbAdmin start backup -backupTarget:p: -include:C: -quiet

    Though, iirc, you would have to restore using command line as well.
     
  6. ChaserLee

    ChaserLee MDL Senior Member

    Oct 7, 2014
    425
    91
    10
    I think it's just that the registry is pointing to installed games on the D: drive, so the backup process figures that there is something critical there.

    I'll mess around and do more searching on the web, maybe I can figure this out. Thanks for the suggestion!!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. bodmas

    bodmas MDL Member

    Jul 26, 2011
    246
    130
    10
    #8 bodmas, Jan 1, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  8. ChaserLee

    ChaserLee MDL Senior Member

    Oct 7, 2014
    425
    91
    10
    Tried to run it as Admin, but it shows a small text box stating " Error #5 starting the PowerQuest engine".

    Out of curiosity, why do you want a screenshot of my disk partitions? There are other ways I can provide a snapshot of them, if you think it will help?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. SpeedDream

    SpeedDream MDL Addicted

    Feb 20, 2012
    619
    121
    30
    #10 SpeedDream, Jan 1, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2015
    diskmgmt.msc maximized should be enough, I'd personally would use another program like macrium reflect or acronis trueimage
     
  10. ChaserLee

    ChaserLee MDL Senior Member

    Oct 7, 2014
    425
    91
    10
    I agree totally, but again, I fail to understand what an image of my partitions is going to do for anyone to help me solve my issue? The backup command does an excellent job of backing up all the C: partitions, the UEFI, Recovery, and main C: partions on my drive 0. I have no issues with that. The thing I'd like to be able to do is to not include the D: partition of a completely different drive.

    My thinking is this..... When something goes wrong with my OS for any reason, I certainly want that C: drive image, with ALL the partitions on it including UEFI, Recovery, and OS. However, I do not believe that anything that messes up my C: drive is going to affect my D: drive, as it is a different physical drive, and contain all large game installations. As long as a restore on the C: drive includes the savegames and such, everything should be good to go.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. bodmas

    bodmas MDL Member

    Jul 26, 2011
    246
    130
    10
    Yes, I think your HDD has more than one boot partitions or something else error. the normal partition table should be as follows running Ptedit.exe.
    http://forums.mydigitallife.net/attachment.php?attachmentid=32950&stc=1
     

    Attached Files:

  12. ChaserLee

    ChaserLee MDL Senior Member

    Oct 7, 2014
    425
    91
    10
    Ah, I see now. However, I can assure you that my D: drive is just a normal MBR HDD, with a normal Primary partition on it.

    In the past, the System Backup did not include the D: drive. It was only after I started installing games to that drive, that it began to include it as part of the backup image. I understand why it does this, because there are programs on the D: drive that are being referenced by the registry. So, naturally, the backup program wants to include that drive so that in the event I need to use that image, it will be complete.

    I'm just looking for a way to exclude the D: drive from the image, plain and simple. The more I research the issue, the more I become convinced that this will not be possible, using the built-in backup program. If I'm to accomplish what I want, it's looking like I'm going to have to use a third-party program that includes a rescue disk. I think that's the only way I can be assured of backing up the UEFI partition, the Restore partition, and the main OS partition on the C: drive.

    The reason I started installing the large game files on the D: drive is because it is a normal HDD, with lots of room on it, while my OS drive, C:, is an SSD, with limited space.

    Thank you for your idea, and your suggestion. I just don't think it applies in this instance... o_O
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. arcon49

    arcon49 MDL Novice

    Jan 30, 2017
    4
    3
    0
    In general, the following methods are:
    Will have installed the game folder as a whole copy out, and then rename, and then uninstall the original D drive game, and then paste the folder to the original place, rename the recovery.
     
  14. Joe C

    Joe C MDL Guru

    Jan 12, 2012
    2,682
    1,498
    90
    ChaserLee posted that 2 yrs ago
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...