How to: Make a Windows 10 "1703 LTSB" ISO

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by damianfox, Nov 19, 2015.

  1. damianfox

    damianfox MDL Senior Member

    Jan 23, 2011
    322
    208
    10
    #1 damianfox, Nov 19, 2015
    Last edited: May 1, 2017
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. Andycarr

    Andycarr MDL Novice

    Nov 18, 2015
    1
    0
    0
    Hi I've followed the instructions but when i try to mount the Source the command prompt closes??
     
  3. dhjohns

    dhjohns MDL Guru

    Sep 5, 2013
    3,059
    1,503
    120
    I tried it once. It was like going to Wally World, and finding it closed. :( It has nothing. No apps, no Edge, no updates, NO FUN. :(
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. JakeBickel

    JakeBickel MDL Junior Member

    Nov 9, 2009
    65
    29
    0
    If I wanted FUN I'd get a puppy.
     
  5. Gharlane00

    Gharlane00 MDL Addicted

    Aug 26, 2009
    530
    133
    30
    The only people who like LTSB are corporate admins who by the way are running pro on their own workstations.
     
  6. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    13,739
    15,301
    340
    #6 Enthousiast, Nov 19, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2015
    The post title states "LTSB" but the proceedings state: "download the enterprise N iso" and "remove metro apps".

    The real LTSB doesn't have any metro apps at all and still is on TH1.

    Apllying this on a regular Enterprise N version doesn't create a LTSB just a "lited" Enterprise N ;)
     
  7. Rudi1

    Rudi1 MDL Member

    May 30, 2007
    204
    65
    10
    Nice guide. I will try it ;)
     
  8. freiwald

    freiwald MDL Member

    Jul 27, 2015
    188
    30
    10
    im not an admin and i like LTSB pretty much. only thing missing from the new update are the colored titelbars. everything else idgaf about.
    windows 10 will not get any better then LTSB
     
  9. T-S

    T-S MDL Guru

    Dec 14, 2012
    3,988
    1,313
    120
    Replace "admins" with "adults" and your sentence will start to make some sense.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. MrMagic

    MrMagic MDL Guru

    Feb 13, 2012
    5,706
    3,711
    180
    Not a corporate Admin, and I run LTSB, easily the best version of 10

    If I wanted crApps, I'd use my tablet or phone, the devices they are designed for.

    If PCs were designed for children only, then a child OS would be welcome, they are not, and crApps are not welcome
     
  11. LiteOS

    LiteOS MDL Expert

    Mar 7, 2014
    1,374
    522
    60
    #11 LiteOS, Nov 19, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2015
    If u gonna lite better go with normal Enterprise so u will have WMP
     
  12. Scor1pan

    Scor1pan MDL Junior Member

    Sep 18, 2015
    50
    4
    0
    do you use kms activator for the enterprise ?
     
  13. damianfox

    damianfox MDL Senior Member

    Jan 23, 2011
    322
    208
    10
    Yes you do
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. Scor1pan

    Scor1pan MDL Junior Member

    Sep 18, 2015
    50
    4
    0
    do i still have the days left remaining for my kms activated windows if say windows/microsft change kms protocol ?

    as in say

    you activate enterprise LTSB for 180 days using kms activator (activate windows every 175 days manually)

    kms protocol changed the next day (theoretically speaking)

    does that deactivate my windows instantly or i have until days left of activation til find a new kms activator
     
  15. XxBrazilianoxX

    XxBrazilianoxX MDL Member

    Oct 5, 2011
    198
    20
    10
    The Windows search on taskbar or from start menu is not working. Also, there will be no calculator.
     
  16. Scor1pan

    Scor1pan MDL Junior Member

    Sep 18, 2015
    50
    4
    0
    can always download it afterward
     
  17. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    13,739
    15,301
    340
    As far as I know the service installed by kms emulators reactivates windows/resets the counter every reboot or 24hrs, you could call it permanent ;) No need to do it manually.
     
  18. sammarbella

    sammarbella MDL Novice

    Dec 12, 2009
    31
    3
    0
    I guess the thread title is misleading and a more apropiated title will be:

    "How-to create a Windows 10 enterprise LTSB TH2 (1511) "alike""

    My question about this method is:

    Can i do an in-place upgrade of my "regular" W10 Enterprise as i use to do when upgrading builds with this modded version iso and preserve my programs/settings?

    Is the final result a more clean OS with all my programs?
     
  19. KeepCool

    KeepCool MDL Novice

    Nov 1, 2012
    17
    0
    0
    Nice...;)
    We can do this with pro too..???
    I really don't need any apps...
    Were are the fastest links to downloads ent. or pro single language..??
    Thanks..
     
  20. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    13,739
    15,301
    340
    You can screw up everything you want, it's only the "long term" what will tell if this is a "good" idea ;)