How to Make Administrator Account in Windows 8?

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by Happpy, Nov 1, 2012.

1. Happpy

Happpy MDL Senior Member

Jan 23, 2010
    Hello, Guys!

I've installed Windows 8 Enterprises and obviously I'm very new to Windows 8. Now, the First account which has been made on installing Windows is saying me a Local User. Now I've made another user to test it as limited user but Windows still doesn't make it limited user, Windows make it still a local user. Means both become local users. So my question is that how can I make an Admininstrator and a limited user account in Windows 8?

Another thing is that my Windows is not genuine.

Regards,

2. Adidas

Adidas MDL Novice

Aug 26, 2009
    Hi,
    i had the same issue, although my local user was marked as "Administrator" i still couldn't do stuff that an administrator can do and got security pop ups.

you can right click "My computer" icon and click "Manage", in the window opened expand "Local users and groups", click on "Users", right click "Administrator" and choose "Properties, Untick the "Account is disabled" checkbox. next time you'll log in you will have the "Real" administrator account to choose.

after this change i deleted my local account and left only the administrator account, so windows wont hassle me with security prompts.

3. rrohela

rrohela MDL Expert

Sep 1, 2009

Quick Instructions:

Logon to Windows 8 using an account which is a member of the local Administrators group.

Launch the cmd prompt "Run as administrator" (Elevated command prompt)

Run Net user administrator P$sw0rdX (To set Password, Set it according to your choice )

Run Net user administrator /active:yes (To Activate)

Test the activated Administrator: Switch User, or logoff
    Logon as Administrator
    Password P$sw0rdX (your password is different)
    Once activated, you can also view the Administrator account in the Control Panel, Users Accounts.

4. life

life MDL Novice

Oct 28, 2012
    @ Happy @