How to Open Dell hidden SLIC?

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by alamas, Sep 13, 2009.

  1. alamas

    alamas MDL Novice

    Aug 23, 2009
    8
    0
    0
    #1 alamas, Sep 13, 2009
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2009
    Hi All,
    My PC is Dell Vostro 1320 N series,and i updated the newer BIOS from A02 to A03,but i can't find SLIC in windows in it.
    And my window 7 or Vista can't be activated,and i won't use the loader to activate it.
    I know Dell hidden SLIC!
    I searched on web and found svctag.exe(revision:3.4) can open SLIC.
    But when i run svctag in DOS,after key "Y",it have not pop me enter Service Tag,and PC dose not respond.
    I tried many times,still faild.

    Please help how can i open my PC SLIC!!!!
    Thanks in advance!

    =====================
    Fixed it with a mod bois.
    =====================
     
  2. HotCarl

    HotCarl MDL Addicted

    Jul 21, 2009
    833
    16
    30
    :confused: You should not have to "open" your SLIC. The SLIC tables should either be present in your BIOS or not... If you do not have it then you will either have to mod your BIOS or install a loader. I don't know what you have against loaders, I am using one. It works great for me...loaders work great for many other people too... If you don't want to use a loader, find a BIOS mod for the motherboard & BIOS you have.
     
  3. alamas

    alamas MDL Novice

    Aug 23, 2009
    8
    0
    0
    no,i do not against with loader,i just want to open my hidden SLIC,my BIOS have SLIC,why will not i use it?
    I checked the BIOS file,it have SLIC 2.1.
    Someone said it could use SVCTAG.exe(Dell internal tool) to remove my Service Tag to open SLIC.
    I tried,but i faild.
     
  4. Mr Jinje

    Mr Jinje MDL Expert

    Aug 19, 2009
    1,773
    1,078
    60
  5. Lenmaer

    Lenmaer MDL Addicted

    Jul 3, 2009
    579
    3
    30
    Well he updated his bios, so maybe the SLIC is gone now.
     
  6. shakeyplace

    shakeyplace MDL Addicted

    May 5, 2007
    861
    75
    30
    #6 shakeyplace, Sep 14, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 29, 2017
  7. wuhoatu

    wuhoatu MDL Member

    Apr 24, 2009
    235
    14
    10
    DELL sell their product w/o OS (Free-DOS) version in some regional markets and these system has BIOS that is SLIC locked.

    alamas can use DELL Service Tag Reset Tool (also called DELL BIOS password killer) to clear your S/T in system and then re-insert the same ST back. This method was reported that will unclock SLIC table also.
     
  8. alamas

    alamas MDL Novice

    Aug 23, 2009
    8
    0
    0
    I tried to used EE-CPB.exe or SVCTAG.exe to remove ST but faild.
    I think Dell must have been changed the lock key,old method is not effecive anymore.
     
  9. wuhoatu

    wuhoatu MDL Member

    Apr 24, 2009
    235
    14
    10
    I have downloaded an ISO file of bootable CD/DVD Tool kit that allow to reset DELL service tag. I will upload it to thepiratebay and you can try.
     
  10. anmg

    anmg MDL Senior Member

    Jul 28, 2009
    304
    302
    10
    #10 anmg, Sep 15, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. alamas

    alamas MDL Novice

    Aug 23, 2009
    8
    0
    0
    #11 alamas, Sep 15, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    (OP)
  12. alamas

    alamas MDL Novice

    Aug 23, 2009
    8
    0
    0
    Could you send me via E-mail:alamas@126.com,thanks.
     
  13. TeeCupp

    TeeCupp MDL Junior Member

    Aug 8, 2009
    73
    4
    0
    #13 TeeCupp, Sep 15, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
  14. wuhoatu

    wuhoatu MDL Member

    Apr 24, 2009
    235
    14
    10
    woo, I think you have usefull answers from shakeyplace and anmg
     
  15. alamas

    alamas MDL Novice

    Aug 23, 2009
    8
    0
    0
    Thanks all.
    Worked with another method,flashed a mod bios to open the slic table.
     
  16. Allo

    Allo MDL Member

    Jul 29, 2009
    127
    42
    10
    Mind to share your working Vostro 1320 mod bios? TIA.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. shakeyplace

    shakeyplace MDL Addicted

    May 5, 2007
    861
    75
    30
    please, some details.. Did you alter the SLIC table, or add another... how did it work for you?
     
  18. steve21

    steve21 MDL Novice

    Sep 14, 2009
    5
    6
    0
    Doesn't work anymore. The newer BIOS aren't BIOS anymore but are UEFI. I'd used this method for 3 different dells when the fourth one (Latitude E6410) just couldn't be done. It has UEFI.
     
  19. Daz

    Daz MDL Developer / Admin
    Staff Member

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,293
    66,087
    300
    UEFI at this point just emulates a BIOS. Personally I don't know how editable things are but I could suggest the loader which should work with these emulated BIOS's just fine.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  20. psychoboust

    psychoboust MDL Novice

    Sep 14, 2009
    11
    2
    0
    Hi, just want to know if there is anyupdate on this. I have a Dell Optiplex 790 with no SLIC enabled. SVCTAG 3.4 doesn't work on it.
    Thks for your help.