How to prevent "this app needs to update" message in the Xbox Music app (Windows 8)?

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by SkullKid2000, Sep 3, 2013.

  1. SkullKid2000

    SkullKid2000 MDL Junior Member

    Jul 17, 2012
    98
    9
    0
    I was wondering, am I able to use the Applocker to prevent this from occurring? I can sadly not give a screeny of this... because if the message appears, there seems to be no way to get rid of it, but making a new local account? Any help is GREATLY appreciated and REWARDED with my gratitude and thankfulness :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. SkullKid2000

    SkullKid2000 MDL Junior Member

    Jul 17, 2012
    98
    9
    0
    #2 SkullKid2000, Sep 11, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2013
    (OP)
    Bump

    This is what the message says whhen I open up Xbox Music:

    Your app needs an update. To keep using this app, get the latest version at the Windows Store.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. tripog

    tripog MDL Novice

    Sep 27, 2012
    6
    0
    0
    yeah I couldn't get my music or video to update, then after searching here i read to uninstall then reinstall but im now without both :(
     
  4. tripog

    tripog MDL Novice

    Sep 27, 2012
    6
    0
    0
    #4 tripog, Sep 12, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2013
    fix for my issue:

    log in and delete the apps from all users, reboot, install :D

    ahh now that I have music and video back I see the message you are talking about.
     
  5. MrMagic

    MrMagic MDL Guru

    Feb 13, 2012
    5,706
    3,711
    180
    Same in 8.1, I uninstalled them and reinstalled them from the Store, they took forever to install but are back and updated now
     
  6. tripog

    tripog MDL Novice

    Sep 27, 2012
    6
    0
    0
    yeah I was talking about 8.1, unfortunately it didn't work for me at first because I didn't realize I had to delete them from the other user account as well.
     
  7. MrMagic

    MrMagic MDL Guru

    Feb 13, 2012
    5,706
    3,711
    180
    There's been a lot of problems with Metro apps for me today, installing, opening, crashing, updating, hanging....
     
  8. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    6,787
    10,365
    210
    You guys realize that this 8.1 is not even supposed to be released yet right?
    Of course there's going to be online updating issues.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. donsr

    donsr MDL Member

    Aug 24, 2013
    171
    13
    10
    you are right
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. acyuta

    acyuta MDL Expert

    Mar 8, 2010
    1,623
    365
    60
    Windows 8 store in windows 8 is a huge joke and its purpose is to (a) make it as unfriendly as possible (B) make you try at least 5-6 times before getting an app updated (c) remember which app you want instead of just putting a search button. Even with a high speed connection, one gets a connection error or app could not be downloaded/updated.

    Best is to use android apps!!!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. SkullKid2000

    SkullKid2000 MDL Junior Member

    Jul 17, 2012
    98
    9
    0
    Whoa! Lots of replies since I checked this thread a couple of hours or days ago... anyway, deleting the "WindowsApps" folder in "C:\Program Files\" actually helps? I see... will check that and reply here then...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. SkullKid2000

    SkullKid2000 MDL Junior Member

    Jul 17, 2012
    98
    9
    0
    #12 SkullKid2000, Sep 12, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2013
    (OP)
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. SkullKid2000

    SkullKid2000 MDL Junior Member

    Jul 17, 2012
    98
    9
    0
    Anyone with any idea how I can "downdate" my apps? o_O
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. SkullKid2000

    SkullKid2000 MDL Junior Member

    Jul 17, 2012
    98
    9
    0
    BUMP

    I am stuck with this "update message", please help! :(
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. tripog

    tripog MDL Novice

    Sep 27, 2012
    6
    0
    0
    Well, I finally could "fix" this issue. What I did, was:
    1) Turn my Microsoft (connected) account into a local account
    2) Created a new local account (with administrative privileges)
    3) Switched to this new account and converted it to a Microsoft account (using the original one)
    4) Deleted the old one
    After this, the music app was automatically installed and available after the account's initial setup and I was able to sign in with no problem at all.
     
  16. tofu

    tofu MDL Novice

    Sep 13, 2009
    4
    0
    0
    i wish there was a way to just sideload the app. i don't want to have to go fudging around with accounts
     
  17. SkullKid2000

    SkullKid2000 MDL Junior Member

    Jul 17, 2012
    98
    9
    0
    Hmm... I did EXACTLY as said by tripog, but it didn't work :(...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. SkullKid2000

    SkullKid2000 MDL Junior Member

    Jul 17, 2012
    98
    9
    0
    BUMP

    Anyone out there?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. SkullKid2000

    SkullKid2000 MDL Junior Member

    Jul 17, 2012
    98
    9
    0
    Solution: Upgrade to Windows 8.1, which added support for turning off app updates :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  20. tripog

    tripog MDL Novice

    Sep 27, 2012
    6
    0
    0
    id try again and if you have multiple user accounts make sure to do it with all user accounts