How to project wide-screen from a Windows 8 PC to Projector ?

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by soamz, Dec 8, 2013.

  1. soamz

    soamz MDL Senior Member

    Mar 12, 2011
    282
    5
    10
    Hi, I have a 120 inch 16:9 huge screen, which I use at my home theatre room and we watch all Blu-Ray movies at 16:9 wide screen. At that time, the projector source is my Blu-Ray Player and amplifier through HDMI.

    I want do project the same 16:9 widescreen way from my Windows 8 PC.

    How do we do that ?

    As soon as I connect my PC and projector through a RGB cable, the screen resolution of the PC changes to square 4:3 resolution. Why is that ?

    And on the projector screen, then wide view is totally gone and I see the squarish view 4:3 view ?

    How do I get the complete 16:9 output to projector screen from a PC ?


    I also tried through HDMI and my Apple Macbook Retina, I still dont get the wide view.
     
  2. soamz

    soamz MDL Senior Member

    Mar 12, 2011
    282
    5
    10
    Anyone who got an idea ?
     
  3. pun

    pun MDL Senior Member

    Oct 19, 2013
    465
    188
    10
    Er, maybe because the projector isn't capable of projecting at 16:9? :g:
     
  4. soamz

    soamz MDL Senior Member

    Mar 12, 2011
    282
    5
    10
    Ots perfect 16:9 as I have watched over 100 movies at 16:9 through this PJ.
     
  5. paresh

    paresh MDL Novice

    Dec 6, 2012
    15
    0
    0
    Try changing the settings of the graphics card of your PC. Which one are you using? On board or a dedicated nvidia one? Also try to find out whether your graphics supports 16:9 wide screen resolution or not?
     
  6. soamz

    soamz MDL Senior Member

    Mar 12, 2011
    282
    5
    10
    How do we do that ?
     
  7. Mustafa Can

    Mustafa Can MDL Member

    Jul 6, 2011
    124
    56
    10
    On desktop, right click > screen resolution. Change screen resolution.
     
  8. soamz

    soamz MDL Senior Member

    Mar 12, 2011
    282
    5
    10
    already tried, doesnt work bro.
     
  9. MrMagic

    MrMagic MDL Guru

    Feb 13, 2012
    5,850
    3,950
    180
    #9 MrMagic, Dec 11, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2013


    What if you plug the projector in as the ONLY display ?
     
  10. soamz

    soamz MDL Senior Member

    Mar 12, 2011
    282
    5
    10
    My windows PC dont have HDMI port.

    And what do you mean as ONLY display ?
     
  11. MrMagic

    MrMagic MDL Guru

    Feb 13, 2012
    5,850
    3,950
    180
    "Only" obviously means no other displays attached to the PC other than the projector

    RGB leads is probably the problem
     
  12. paresh

    paresh MDL Novice

    Dec 6, 2012
    15
    0
    0
    If your PC does not have HDMI slot does it mean you are using a VGA cord to connect to your monitor? In such a case you can either buy a high end VGA cable that supports 1920x 1080p resolution or you can buy an HDMI connecting PCI Express card & connect your projector through one of these two. Either of these two should solve your problem. Take care.
     
  13. PaulDesmond

    PaulDesmond MDL Magnet

    Aug 6, 2009
    6,993
    7,146
    240
    This is new to me that a High-End VGA cable can support special kind of resolution. Guess this is out of the world of fantasy :p
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. MrMagic

    MrMagic MDL Guru

    Feb 13, 2012
    5,850
    3,950
    180
    VGA can support 1920x1080 easy, but you don't need a special type of high end cable cable - I can run 1080p from my laptops VGA port using a bog standard VGA cable that I found in the bottom of a draw, likely from a 1990s CRT monitor
     
  15. paresh

    paresh MDL Novice

    Dec 6, 2012
    15
    0
    0
    No my friend PaulDesmond I do not wish to sound cynical about your comment but high end cables {Good quality cables in layman's term} are available that support 1920x1080 resolution. You just have to look for them at the right places.
     
  16. MrMagic

    MrMagic MDL Guru

    Feb 13, 2012
    5,850
    3,950
    180
    They don't have to be good quality cables at all, the one I use is a crappy ancient one and displays 1080p fine
     
  17. PaulDesmond

    PaulDesmond MDL Magnet

    Aug 6, 2009
    6,993
    7,146
    240
    resolution of any kind of monitoring is not determined by using special kind of cable my friend. Resolution is made by drivers and video-hardware such as expensive cards plugged into a machine or some PCs which already come with a good quality on-board chip. Don't let you fool by so called high-end accessories without any value... period
    Some still believe that a gold plated RCA-plug sounds better than a standard connection .... lol .... guys wake up and don't let you fool by ignorant gangsters collecting your money
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. paresh

    paresh MDL Novice

    Dec 6, 2012
    15
    0
    0
    It wasn't my intention to mislead people in this forum but if you guys find my advice useless please do not pay any heed to it. But my other option of HDMI card in the PCI Express slot could have been tried, as I feel soamz's PC configuration is a tad weak to give him the desired results. I think it would be better if soamz could post the details of his PC configuration. No offense intended no offense taken, we all are here to help each other & not to make war. Thanks for enlightening my perspective too PaulDesmond.