How to reinstall Windows 7 Home Premium OEM

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Bluze, Sep 6, 2011.

  1. Bluze

    Bluze MDL Novice

    Sep 6, 2011
    14
    0
    0
    I have recently bought a new notebook which came with W7 Home Premium OEM and it's very fast except for the HDD. So, I want to replace that and start with a fresh installation. I won't work from a backup, because I also want to get rid of all the clutter from the manufacturer. It's an Asus, BTW. How do I go about reinstalling Windows 7 Home Premium OEM? Can I just download a DigitalRiver image, for instance X17-58997.iso and go from there? Or are these Retail images which for some reason won't work with an OEM key? Regarding the OEM key, can I just enter the number on the sticker upon installation, or would using Advanced Tokens Manager by Josh Cell be preferred? Thank you.
     
  2. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,772
    3,121
    300
    #2 urie, Sep 6, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2011
    You can download a DigitalRiver image and just use Daz loader to activate the loader will not install it will just add the key (for the version you install say Ultimate) and certificate you do not use the COA Key i,e, the one ont the sticker it is not OEM:SLP key. I would also download the ei.cfg Removal Utility then you can install any version of windows 7. If you want to make up your own OEM DVD you can download Windows 7 DVD (Multi-Brand|Multi-Edition) Activation Make sure you download from Link #1
     
  3. Bluze

    Bluze MDL Novice

    Sep 6, 2011
    14
    0
    0
    I do not wish to use Daz loader, or any loader for that matter. I just want to reinstall Windows 7 Home Premium OEM, the version that is currently installed.
     
  4. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,772
    3,121
    300
    Did you actually read my post when you run the loader it will only install your certificate and key you are not installing the loader itself.
     
  5. Bluze

    Bluze MDL Novice

    Sep 6, 2011
    14
    0
    0
    So, If I were to use the Daz loader, what key do I enter during installation? And how does the Daz loader know my OEM key?
     
  6. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,772
    3,121
    300
  7. Bluze

    Bluze MDL Novice

    Sep 6, 2011
    14
    0
    0
    I don't want to install using some shady generic key. I want my own key. Can't I just find out what my OEM:SLP key is somehow?
     
  8. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,772
    3,121
    300
    If you take some time to read these forums you will see there is a list of Manufacturers OEM:SLP keys these are not Shady Keys download SLIC ToolKit x86/x64 (Includes PKey&Cert. Backup) and you will find the key I posted will be the same as the one used to install your windows 7. Windows-7-OEM-SLP-Key-Collection
     
  9. woebetide

    woebetide MDL Member

    May 28, 2007
    240
    78
    10
  10. Bluze

    Bluze MDL Novice

    Sep 6, 2011
    14
    0
    0
    Okay, you are right I have the same key. Is there any difference between using the Daz loader and Advanced Tokens Manager? forums.mydigitallife.net/threads/27341-Advanced-Tokens-Manager-The-Activation-Backup-Solution
     
  11. Bluze

    Bluze MDL Novice

    Sep 6, 2011
    14
    0
    0
    and can I still run Windows Update or other Microsoft services? How does it know that I am legal?
     
  12. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,772
    3,121
    300
    Of course you can this is exactly the same way ASUS activated your computer in the first place only difference is you are just doing a Clean Installation without all the freeware Bloat e.c.t that comes with your ASUS installation.
     
  13. Bluze

    Bluze MDL Novice

    Sep 6, 2011
    14
    0
    0
  14. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,772
    3,121
    300
    You do not seem to understand these are not individual user keys like retail, these are keys used by the manufacturers every ASUS Computer with Home Premium Installed will use the same OEM:SLP key and certificate so computer is Pre-Activated you cannot expect a manufacturer who build thousands of computers to use individual keys and activate every computer via the internet.
    Have a look at Vista-OEM-Activation-How-it-Works
     
  15. Bluze

    Bluze MDL Novice

    Sep 6, 2011
    14
    0
    0
    Okay so do I need to backup my activation and certificate using SLIC Toolkit / Advanced Token Manager or does Daz loader magically regenerate this?
     
  16. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,772
    3,121
    300
  17. hbhb

    hbhb MDL Expert

    Dec 15, 2010
    1,017
    263
    60
    Dazzzz it up dude,that is what URIE has been saying:worthy:
     
  18. uffbros

    uffbros MDL Senior Member

    Aug 9, 2010
    340
    26
    10
    Simply install Windows 7 from the digital river DVD you create and use the key that is on the side or bottom of your computer.
     
  19. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,772
    3,121
    300
    We are talking about off-line activation and not using COA key.
     
  20. acyuta

    acyuta MDL Expert

    Mar 8, 2010
    1,653
    375
    60
    #20 acyuta, Sep 7, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2011
    I have a question pertaining to my new Dell laptop to be delivered soon.
    1. It has win 7 home pre. x64 installed, alongwith office starter 2010 and all sorts of bloatware.
    2. This would not be too much of a problem, except that I have a technet account with keys for both windows and office.
    3. I can go with the factory image/existing laptop for sometime, or do this soon enough:
    a. delete all partitions, clean partitions, and install everything as I like. In this case, will most of the drivers be automatically inplace or offered thru windows update. Dell also offers drivers but many are not needed.
    b. is there a way I can have the option for factory restore later but wipe the main partition and do a clean install. I think c: and system recovery partition in laptop are interlinked.

    What would be best. I would prefer option a (deleting everything).
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...