How to upgrade from W7/8.1 without going through the complete upgrade process

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by Yen, Aug 28, 2015.

  1. Gilly10

    Gilly10 MDL Novice

    May 28, 2014
    8
    2
    0
    So does this have the same desired result of an upgrade e.g. Activated & HWID sent to Microsoft, so any future clean re-installs of Windows 10 on the same hardware/system will be activated once online (only this method bypasses the need to do an actual upgrade)?

    Thanks
     
  2. hack

    hack MDL Senior Member

    Sep 14, 2009
    293
    252
    10
    #22 hack, Aug 29, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. abbodi1406

    abbodi1406 MDL KB0000001

    Feb 19, 2011
    10,761
    44,786
    340
    Sort-of off-topic but relevant

    Windows 10 also has its GenuineTicket.xml that's generated when upgrading to higher insider build:

    View attachment GenuineTicket.txt
     
  4. tehhunter

    tehhunter MDL Novice

    Aug 9, 2012
    18
    4
    0
    Thank you Yen..you are the best and Daz
     
  5. esemef

    esemef MDL Novice

    Sep 15, 2013
    19
    1
    0
    Is there any way to force a H/W ID change? For example if a machine was upgraded to W10 home and now you want to try upgrading to W10 pro?
     
  6. Lolos

    Lolos MDL Novice

    Aug 29, 2009
    37
    0
    0
    We have said this many times that Win 10 is a free OS.
    It will upgrade any machine one way or another sooner or later, so don't bother.
     
  7. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    9,018
    3,357
    300
    What are you talking about how can you legitimately upgrade from home to pro without a key.
     
  8. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    9,018
    3,357
    300
    Don't know if it would work but you could try procedure from post 1 using windows 7 ultimate.
     
  9. esemef

    esemef MDL Novice

    Sep 15, 2013
    19
    1
    0
    I'm going to, I already tried doing an upgrade from windows 7 ultimate and that wouldn't activate. So if there was something I could do to force a different hwid then I'd rather do that and save some time. I'm assuming there is some partial matching to cope with some hardware changes, so an upgrade as well as giving the hwid generation a tweak might work better.
     
  10. soretito

    soretito MDL Junior Member

    Jul 31, 2009
    75
    3
    0
    followed instructions for the XML file using win7, downloaded x64 iso, copied it to a pendrive using rufus 2.3, installed from zero on an empty ssd, worked flawlessly. Thanks!!
     
  11. Bezalel

    Bezalel MDL Member

    Apr 30, 2012
    230
    23
    10
    I once started the upgrade on one PC and than moved the HD after the first reboot. It did not activate. You need to generate the ticket on the same HW that is being upgraded. (Sorry, no patching the WIM with a generic ticket.)
     
  12. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    12,026
    12,549
    340
    Yes. Confirmed by 2 members already. :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. mabaega

    mabaega MDL Senior Member

    Dec 30, 2010
    281
    175
    10
    follow 1st post step... and done!

    got win10 activated.

    tyvm
     
  14. cbsvitzer

    cbsvitzer MDL Junior Member

    Feb 4, 2010
    63
    33
    0
    Thanks for this excellent and most time saving post
     
  15. asabater

    asabater MDL Member

    Sep 6, 2008
    158
    46
    10
    tested ok with win 8.1 pro mce (infamous keys) x86 to generate ticket, to install clean win 10 pro x64.

    at first time i can skip serial number and select pro, later i have to put the profesional one

    saludos from spain
     
  16. zbteck

    zbteck MDL Member

    Jul 27, 2009
    132
    31
    10
    Simple question:
    How Validate w7 SP1 (W8.1)?

    thanks
     
  17. fkar

    fkar MDL Recognized Advisor

    Nov 3, 2012
    1,588
    1,406
    60
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. megasound

    megasound MDL Novice

    Jan 8, 2010
    5
    0
    0
    Thanks works like a charm. :worthy:
    it saves me a lot of time ;-)
     
  19. Macka

    Macka MDL Novice

    Jul 7, 2011
    5
    0
    0
    Hi All,

    I've followed the instructions in the first post exactly.

    Mine hasn't activated, and I have the following error:

    "The activation server determined that the specified product key has been blocked."

    Can anyone help?

    Thanks

    Macka
     
  20. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    12,026
    12,549
    340
    More details, please.
    Which version to which version? Validated before? What kind of license? Is the ticket still at its location C:\programdata\microsoft\windows\clipsvc\genuineticket\
    No key-input during install of w10?
    Were you offline when applied the ticket and then rebooted and then went online?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...