How to Upgrade Win10 on a 30GB SSD

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by janzen, Aug 8, 2016.

  1. janzen

    janzen MDL Junior Member

    Sep 7, 2009
    75
    3
    0
    I have done everything to remove programs and files and now have 18.3 GB free space on my Windows10 Tablet SSD
    Still the upgrade tool insists that my free space is ubsufficient to upgrade to the Anniversary Update.

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. thorin0815

    thorin0815 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 16, 2015
    428
    260
    10
    Clean install instead of upgrade possible?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. LiteOS

    LiteOS MDL Expert

    Mar 7, 2014
    1,421
    538
    60
    clone it to bigger storage and upgrade it there and clone back
     
  4. colsearle

    colsearle MDL Novice

    Nov 17, 2015
    24
    1
    0
    I recently upgraded a 30gb HP notebook and was asked if i wanted to use a usb flash drive during the upgrade as there was not enough capacity.

    Are you asked if you would like to use external storage ?
     
  5. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    14,731
    16,939
    340
    Did you also cleanup all systemfiles, by using disk cleanup>systemfiles and you can do a /resetbase, delete all files in "c:\windows\softwaredistribution\download". I succesfully upgraded my laptablet (32GB "ssd") from a fully updated 8.1 x86 to 14393.5. As source I used an usb drive with the extracted iso on it.
     
  6. janzen

    janzen MDL Junior Member

    Sep 7, 2009
    75
    3
    0
    I am hesitant.
    Would be difficult I assume, having no DVD nor USB connection on the tablet that came with Windows10 pre installed.
     
  7. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    14,731
    16,939
    340
    To clean install go to: "settings" > "Update & Security" > "recovery" > "reset this pc", keep nothing.

    Afterwards use "disk cleanup" > "Cleanup systemfiles" to cleanup the windows.old folder and other unneeded files.
     
  8. janzen

    janzen MDL Junior Member

    Sep 7, 2009
    75
    3
    0
    No, I am afraid not
     
  9. janzen

    janzen MDL Junior Member

    Sep 7, 2009
    75
    3
    0
    Thanks.
    I did all that...
     
  10. T-S

    T-S MDL Guru

    Dec 14, 2012
    3,988
    1,316
    120

    Compress your disk and use the ISO to upgrade. 18GB free are usually enough to upgrade from the ISO, with compression you can get 3-4 additional free GB if you do that from the current OS, and 7/8GB if you do it from the recovery console.

    For the record the compression usually leads to a faster system on SSDs, in the worst case the speed will be unchanged.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. janzen

    janzen MDL Junior Member

    Sep 7, 2009
    75
    3
    0
    Can you explain how to compress my disk?
     
  12. T-S

    T-S MDL Guru

    Dec 14, 2012
    3,988
    1,316
    120
    #12 T-S, Aug 8, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2016
    right click on your disk icon, properties, compress disk...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. janzen

    janzen MDL Junior Member

    Sep 7, 2009
    75
    3
    0
    I am sorry.
    Too complicated for me...
     
  14. T-S

    T-S MDL Guru

    Dec 14, 2012
    3,988
    1,316
    120

    Three mouse clicks are too complicated for you? :eek:

    Two clicks would be simple enough, or you need a single, iphone like, big green button? :D
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. janzen

    janzen MDL Junior Member

    Sep 7, 2009
    75
    3
    0
    I did start as you suggested but got a lot of complaints from the system.
    You are not this and not that, etc.
    Anyhow, tomorrow is another day. It is bedtime here.
     
  16. T-S

    T-S MDL Guru

    Dec 14, 2012
    3,988
    1,316
    120

    Just reply to skip the files. It's because of this that from the running system you can gain just 3/4GB instead of 7/8 from the recovery console.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. yomoma2

    yomoma2 MDL Member

    Feb 27, 2010
    218
    48
    10
    #17 yomoma2, Aug 9, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2016
    I had no problem to upgrade th2 to rs1 on a 32GB SSD with about 11GB free via ISO (on another drive), and even after the upgrade with a windows.old folder there were some GB free (maybe 5?). compactos is set at always, but other than that it's not even using regular ntfs compression on the whole drive.
     
  18. janzen

    janzen MDL Junior Member

    Sep 7, 2009
    75
    3
    0
    I finally succeeded with the help of the newest ISO on a micro SD card transferred to Daemon Tools Lite.

    Thank you all for your suggestions.
     
  19. T-S

    T-S MDL Guru

    Dec 14, 2012
    3,988
    1,316
    120

    Windows mounts the ISOs with a doubleclick since Win 8. No need to use the daemon tools.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...