HP Compaq 6710b F.20 BIOS mod with SLIC2.1 table?

Discussion in 'BIOS Mods' started by coreburner, Aug 12, 2012.

  1. coreburner

    coreburner MDL Junior Member

    Feb 1, 2011
    80
    2
    0
    Hi all,
    I did ask for the above, but in the wrong thread, sorry my apologies for that.
    ...so boldly asking here now, is there a HP Compaq 6710b BIOS mod with a SLIC 2.1 table?
    I did see a F.16 version of this BIOS, but thats an old one, i'am more in favour of the F.20 version.
    Please help me out here, if possible please? Asking -almost begging- nicely... :worthy:
    I'll keep hoping for it.
    TIA.
     
  2. sebus

    sebus MDL Guru

    Jul 23, 2008
    5,767
    1,727
    180
    Most likely NO, as in F20 HP made it pretty impossible
    Anyway, we seems to have lost the HP guru from here

    sebus
     
  3. coreburner

    coreburner MDL Junior Member

    Feb 1, 2011
    80
    2
    0
    Hi sebus,
    Strange the F.16 BIOS version is modded, there isn't any difference with the F.20 version (besides some corrections for the machine itself). :confused:
    Next, i don't understand your second remark about losing the HP guru from here?
    Please could you explain.
    Thank you.
     
  4. Serg008

    Serg008 MDL BIOS/EFI Guru

    Feb 23, 2010
    17,880
    7,987
    340
    http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsuppor...EnvOID=2096&swLang=13&taskId=135&mode=4&idx=3

     
  5. coreburner

    coreburner MDL Junior Member

    Feb 1, 2011
    80
    2
    0
    Ok agreed, but this is meant for the actual flash- procedure and downgrading of the BIOS- version. That's not what i've asked, i did ask if it was possible to add a SLIC table (v2.0, v2.1) into the F.20 version BIOS. That's a whole other thing.
    Ok, thank you for your explanation of things, i still don't agree but i'am no specialist and have to comply with your answer and respect.
    Thank you.
    TIA.
     
  6. Serg008

    Serg008 MDL BIOS/EFI Guru

    Feb 23, 2010
    17,880
    7,987
    340
    I already tried to modify same BIOSes, but no one was able to flash them, unfortunately o_O
     
  7. coreburner

    coreburner MDL Junior Member

    Feb 1, 2011
    80
    2
    0
    #7 coreburner, Aug 13, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2012
    (OP)
    Hi Serg008,
    Just some questions please about these BIOS'es. I would be grateful if you would/could answer them for me. :(
    1. Is it a question on how to Flash/Program the modified BIOS- binary into the system with the appropriate software?
    2. or is it a question that it's not known where in the BIOS (offset) the SLIC table has to be fitted/placed?
    3. or are there multiple offsets in the F.20 BIOS where (parts) of the SLIC table or tables have to reside?

    If it is only a question on how to flash the modified F.20 BIOS into the notebook, maybe i can have a go with it, but then i need the modified binary. Would you send it to me then please?
    Did you check the checksum of the modified binary if it's correct? I'll remember from the old EPROM days that the last position in the ROM has to hold the Modulo- checksum of the whole contents of the ROM.
    Ok, hope to hear from you.
    With kind regards.
    Harm

    P.S.: The notebook in question, HP Compaq 6710b is sold with Microsoft Vista (as operating system) on it. I believe (didn't check) that the BIOS has a SLIC v2.0 table in it already. That's what i'am told by a HP- user today. Maybe this helps a bit. I still think that's it's a shame that such awonderful notebook with the f.20 version BIOS can't be modified... :weeping:
     
  8. coreburner

    coreburner MDL Junior Member

    Feb 1, 2011
    80
    2
    0
    Bump! Nothing?
     
  9. Serg008

    Serg008 MDL BIOS/EFI Guru

    Feb 23, 2010
    17,880
    7,987
    340
    Sorry, I am very busy now :eek:
     
  10. coreburner

    coreburner MDL Junior Member

    Feb 1, 2011
    80
    2
    0
    Ok Serg008, i'll understand, but when you have some time left, please have a look for this Compaq F.20 BIOS issue? Please... :whistling:
     
  11. Serg008

    Serg008 MDL BIOS/EFI Guru

    Feb 23, 2010
    17,880
    7,987
    340
    #11 Serg008, Aug 18, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2012
    it's modified F20 bios
    HP Compaq 6710b_F20-sp55553_HP21_.rar
    http://www.sendspace.com/file/bz5z3p
    but no one able to flash the mod

    http://forums.mydigitallife.net/thr...odify-the-bios?p=564686&viewfull=1#post564686
     
  12. coreburner

    coreburner MDL Junior Member

    Feb 1, 2011
    80
    2
    0
    Thank you Serg008 for the binaries supplied.
    It was impossible for me to flash your modified F.20 HP Compaq 6710b binary into the system. I've used several utilities (yours included) and end-up eventually with a self-modified HPQFlash.exe file wich bypasses a.) the signature check en b.) the version check.
    I did finally came to the conclusion that the loader (already residing in the HP flash-chip on the motherboard) is checking if the "master binary", the actual BIOS itself matches a pre-programmed checksum. If this checksum fails the flashprocedure is terminated at once.

    So "our" problem resides in the final checksum of the F.20 BIOS itself. This numberhas changed due to injecting/modifying the BIOS wit the requested v2.1 SLIC table.
    If we had a way of correcting the checksum of the modified binary (the BIOS- file in this case) and re-packed the whole thing into a .CAB file, the Flash-procedure would work. I'am 100% sure of this.
    Now the 1 million dollar question, where is a program wich can calculate the proper checksum of the F.20 v2.1 SLIC BIOS? ...or who's to debug the part of the checksum-check with SoftIce or similar?
    Who's good in assembly? Reverse engineering is a more appropriate term here.

    Allright, thank you anyways for your coorperation in this matter.
    Maybe i'll bump into something in the near future.
    TIA
     
  13. Galileo Figaro

    Galileo Figaro MDL Junior Member

    Sep 6, 2010
    86
    13
    0
    Modifying the checksum should be doable. Normally the routine for doing that already resides somewhere in the BIOS. So finding someone who can read and understand machine code could be a way to solve this.

    Another idea is to flash from DOS or Linux. Have you tried that yet?
    I very much doubt that the DOS flasher would care about the content of the ROM file.

    There's also the possibility to flash via the SPI interface, if there is one in the 6710b.
     
  14. pcwiztech

    pcwiztech MDL Novice

    Sep 20, 2010
    4
    0
    0
    Manufacturer: HP
    Model: Compaq 6510b 6710s 6710b
    Version: F.20
    Bios Type: Others BIOS /ACPI 2.0
    SLP: 2.1
    SLIC: 2.1
    Link: sendspace.com/file/tjyi5g
    Modder: pcwiztech
    Tester: pcwiztech (Proof Image in Link Archive)
    Method: HxD

    Use Rompaq Patched or HPQFlash Patched to apply this modified BIOS Image

    Proof: PROOF.JPG
     
  15. sebus

    sebus MDL Guru

    Jul 23, 2008
    5,767
    1,727
    180
    Once. but almost too easy...
     
  16. pcwiztech

    pcwiztech MDL Novice

    Sep 20, 2010
    4
    0
    0
    I know, it's incredibly easy! Thank You for the tutorial but now I need to find a method to remove the 6510b's whitelist.
     
  17. lethelshadow

    lethelshadow MDL Novice

    Sep 17, 2009
    7
    0
    0
    How do I go about flashing the F.20 bios with slic 2.1 when I already have the original F.20 slic 2.0 bios flashed?
     
  18. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,210
    14,767
    340
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. lethelshadow

    lethelshadow MDL Novice

    Sep 17, 2009
    7
    0
    0
    I tried both options and no dice. Even built my own rom.cab. HPQFlash thinks the bios I am trying to flash is older (although it is the same version) and ROMPAQ says it has flashed successfully but stays on slic 2.0 when checked with the slic toolkit.
     
  20. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,210
    14,767
    340
    Best way is to ask pcwiztech.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...