HP DM1 1010el Insyde Bios hacking

Discussion in 'BIOS Mods' started by Liknus, Feb 20, 2014.

1. Liknus

Liknus MDL Novice

Feb 20, 2014
    Hi all!
    This is my first BIOS hacking ever, so I'm a newbie in this! I'm trying to understand and learn how to hack BIOSes.. Do not pretend to become as skilled as most of you are.. I'd like to acquire just some knowledge! :)

As the title says I have an old HP DM1 1010el! From the BIOS itself i see that it has an:
    Know.. I've read the first post of How to use New Phoenix Bios Mod Tool ... and it says that I need to download the BIOS from the motherboard manufacturer.. The problem is that I don't know who produced it! So I've downloaded it from HP's website: sp51139.exe
    Unpacked and found that in it there are two .fd files: 3663F150 and 3663F151.. I tried them both with InsyneFlash Utility once at a time and just the 3663F15.fd works. The other one gave me an error when launching InsyneFlash:
    I presume then that I need to modify just one of them: 3663F150.fd
    By following the guide of the user donovan6000 (the guide is hosted on his own website) I started the process of hacking my BIOS.
    Since my InsyneFlash is pretty old it doesn't check if the BIOS it is going to flash has been modified or not.
    I begin by trying to change the default splash screen that sees the HP logo with the one of GNU logo. But even though I both resize the GNU Logo to the exactly same number of pixels of the default image, and compress it to make it weight less then the default one, after trying to flash it - again with Insydeflash - I get another error:
    Any idea of why this is happening? I googled the error, but the only help I found was the it seems that I'm trying to flash a BIOS from another vendor/laptop model.

Thanks in advance for the reply,
    -please let me notice if my english has some problems-
    Best Regards,

L.
    ;)

2. LatinMcG

LatinMcG Bios Borker

Feb 27, 2011
  3. Liknus

Liknus MDL Novice