HP DV5-1183CL Bad BIOS Flash Recovery

Discussion in 'BIOS Mods' started by bluecatfish, Jan 26, 2013.

  1. bluecatfish

    bluecatfish MDL Junior Member

    Apr 8, 2009
    70
    2
    0
    After bad flash the screen is blank, fan running, LED's on steady and no beeps. Tried several different size USB flash drives formatted FAT and Fat 32. USB blinks 1 time as detected, nothing else. HDD LED flashes continually. CD drive LED on as it is detected on power on. Tried all different key combinations.
    Bought an EN25T80 programmer but it does not recognize chip, shows a different ID each time detected. Will read chip when Force ID is checked but every backup is not the same when opened in HEX editor. What am I doing wrong? I believe the chip is an EON F8075HCP.

    Any suggestions? Thanks
     
  2. LatinMcG

    LatinMcG Bios Borker

    Feb 27, 2011
    5,266
    1,422
    180
    #2 LatinMcG, Jan 27, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2013
  3. bluecatfish

    bluecatfish MDL Junior Member

    Apr 8, 2009
    70
    2
    0
    #3 bluecatfish, Jan 27, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2013
    (OP)
    chip on programmer is Atmega8L.
    the BIOS chip is soldered to MB. tried reading with a SOIC8 clip, no go so I soldered the wires to chip. chip still not detected. downloaded the software and extracted to folder, 3 files in folder: Usb Tiny Tool.exe, and 2 rar files, fw_12Mhz.rar and fw_16Mhz.rar. there 1 hex file in each file. should I extract these 2 hex files and to where?
    you said eon25f80-75 should work. do you mean as a replacement chip?
     
  4. LatinMcG

    LatinMcG Bios Borker

    Feb 27, 2011
    5,266
    1,422
    180

    those mhz files are unrelated to programmer.. they are for some satelite receiver.

    unsolder chip and it should work to read x2 and compare.
     
  5. bluecatfish

    bluecatfish MDL Junior Member

    Apr 8, 2009
    70
    2
    0
    I will try to unsolder the chip but I will probably need a replacement chip as I am not very successful in removing chips. Any advice on the best way to remove the chip? I don't have a hot air station only a soldering iron.
     
  6. LatinMcG

    LatinMcG Bios Borker

    Feb 27, 2011
    5,266
    1,422
    180
    #6 LatinMcG, Jan 28, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2013
    lay iron flat on one side 8 pins and lift lightly
    (not too hard or u break pads on other side.. light pressure up with a needle or toothpick)
    .. then switch side.. alternate 3 times or so and it would work

    dont use tweezers to pull chip up as that might bee too much force and break pads. little bit up pressure.

    optionaly u can get a $25 hot air gun from hardware store... or even a gas lighter works lol

    did u receive software with your programmer ? mine didnt i had to find it.
    post yours plz i want to test it.
     
  7. bluecatfish

    bluecatfish MDL Junior Member

    Apr 8, 2009
    70
    2
    0
    will try to get it off. i have a hot air gun from harbor freight but i am afraid i will blow something else loose.

    I did get software with my programmer but i think it is the same as you posted. here it is:
    http://www.mediafire.com/?6mutmlzz3gt87tm
     
  8. LatinMcG

    LatinMcG Bios Borker

    Feb 27, 2011
    5,266
    1,422
    180
    #8 LatinMcG, Jan 28, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2013
    your software dont pickup my programmer weird. the one i have works


    edit: with the drivers included from 2005 it works.
    so it is driver version dependent.
     
  9. bluecatfish

    bluecatfish MDL Junior Member

    Apr 8, 2009
    70
    2
    0
    @LatinMcG
    got the chip off with your instructions. thanks. after several tries i was able to make to backup files that compare the same and they look the same to me. please look at them and see if they tell you anything. link to files:

    http://www.mediafire.com/?rd3trev19ci802g,d7fyf8z143chg68

    i think i still have a problem. this is what comes up when i start the programmer:

    FW ver ICE11
    checking flash....
    Release from PWRDN, ID = 13
    ID=FF Type=FF Size=FF
    Unknown SPI Flash detected:

    i click Detect and then read flash and nothing happens. then i check Force ID and this comes up:

    FW ver ICE11
    checking flash...
    Release from PWRDN, ID = 13
    Force SPI chip detection
    ID=01 Type=01 Size=07
    Spansion SPI Flash detected: 128Mbit Size

    after that i can read the chip and got the 2 backup files and compared them, appeared to be the same. so i tried to erase the chip. it appeared to start erasing whole flash...Error after a little while. it never showed any % erased. any suggestions? thanks
     
  10. LatinMcG

    LatinMcG Bios Borker

    Feb 27, 2011
    5,266
    1,422
    180
    #10 LatinMcG, Jan 29, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2013
    1MB ? kinda small.
    i think it will detect it as unknown due to it not being in the list in the exe of chips but should still work. u could have made a 2MB backup.
     
  11. bluecatfish

    bluecatfish MDL Junior Member

    Apr 8, 2009
    70
    2
    0
    #11 bluecatfish, Jan 29, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2013
    (OP)
    will make 2mb backups and post. i have been reading the datasheet for the EN25F80-75HCP chip and it says 8Mbit with 4Kbytes uniform sector. should i have the sector size set to 4K on the programmer?

    edit: made backups with sector size set to 4K:

    http://www.mediafire.com/?t35o8s5vj5ttiba,tj9t1p9kisyjjy5
     
  12. LatinMcG

    LatinMcG Bios Borker

    Feb 27, 2011
    5,266
    1,422
    180
    #12 LatinMcG, Jan 29, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2013
    looking at them.
    the dload seems to match the 1mb section but not exactly.
    what version bios u have in chip ?

    what board id is the laptop 3602 or 3603?
     
  13. bluecatfish

    bluecatfish MDL Junior Member

    Apr 8, 2009
    70
    2
    0
    @LatinMcG
    the board id is 3603. i flashed the bios with in windows with the 3603 file from the sp4158.exe, from HP website, link:
    http://www.mediafire.com/?fuaglnrwcfrmmb7
    there are 2 files in the sp, 3602 and 3603. after the bad flash i put the hdd in another computer to look for a backup bin, there was none and no HP_TOOLS folder. i did find a log file that had the board id as 3603.

    i did finally get my programmer to detect the chip as an eon chip, erased the chip and wrote the 3603 bin file in the link below to the chip, read the chip and compared the 2 files they look the same to me.

    http://www.mediafire.com/?3ki20nftept18dw,9qwohmxkdfb3kex

    i have read your posts where you fixed the new bios file with info from the backup. does the 3603.bin need to be fixed? before i solder the chip back on the mb i want to be as positive as possible that the bios id right. i am trying to learn as i go.

    thanks for all your help.
     
  14. LatinMcG

    LatinMcG Bios Borker

    Feb 27, 2011
    5,266
    1,422
    180
    should work if the beginning and end matches.

    what did u do to make it see it EON ?
     
  15. bluecatfish

    bluecatfish MDL Junior Member

    Apr 8, 2009
    70
    2
    0

    after i changed the sector size to 4K in the tiny usb software it detected the eon without checking force id box.

    do you mean if the beginning and end of the backup6.bin file made after writing the 3603.bin file matches?
     
  16. LatinMcG

    LatinMcG Bios Borker

    Feb 27, 2011
    5,266
    1,422
    180
    the end might not be same.. seems chip is 2 mb but bios is 1mb
     
  17. bluecatfish

    bluecatfish MDL Junior Member

    Apr 8, 2009
    70
    2
    0
    soldered chip to mb, put it all back together, still just a blank screen. desoldered chip again, wrote an older bios file to the chip, soldered to mb again and it booted up. serial number not found message came up. loads windows 8.
    there is no serial number, model number, product name, uuid is all 0000 in the bios setup screen. is there a way to write this back into the bios?
     
  18. LatinMcG

    LatinMcG Bios Borker

    Feb 27, 2011
    5,266
    1,422
    180
  19. bluecatfish

    bluecatfish MDL Junior Member

    Apr 8, 2009
    70
    2
    0
    I downloaded the files from the post, the ones that were still good links, have done reading and research, but i an still not clear on the uuid. i have all the other info to insert, but not the original uuid. will the dmi program create a uuid or do i need to get one from a uuid generator?

    LatinMcG i really appreciate your help in recovering my dv5-1183cl and anyone else help.
     
  20. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,214
    14,777
    340
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...