HP Secure HDD (Seagate Thin ST320LT025) password removal

Discussion in 'PC Hardware' started by onepic, Oct 16, 2016.

  1. onepic

    onepic MDL Novice

    Oct 7, 2011
    40
    3
    0
    I have get 3 Seagate Thin MDL: ST320LT025 HDD's all recovered from disaffected/defective HP laser printers and all 3 are password protected and i want to use them into laptops as spare parts. Is it possible to remove the password (i do not have access to put them back into a HP printer and set from menu unlock as HP tell on their service manual) ? Th'x in advance !
     
  2. Joe C

    Joe C MDL Guru

    Jan 12, 2012
    2,186
    1,170
    90
    #2 Joe C, Oct 16, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. MrMagic

    MrMagic MDL Guru

    Feb 13, 2012
    5,702
    3,705
    180
    #3 MrMagic, Oct 16, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  4. pisthai

    pisthai Imperfect Human

    Jul 29, 2009
    6,653
    1,928
    210
    Those HDD's are used mainly in HP's Network Laser Printer and configured as Print-Servers. To get access to that HDD's, you'll need the Master Password if you didn't like to format that drives. Format wouls required a Low-Level Format, which also 'clears' the Track Zero of that HDD's which contains Passwords and more.

    In case you'll format (LLFMT), all data will be gone with NO way of recovery! Low-Level Format is irreversible, and requires partitioning and High-Level Format after done!

    If you really need the (Master-) Password, you must try for to get from a reputatet service and/or HP directly. Not easy to get! In Thailand only HP itself could do that, IF they will accept such order and also will ask for a proof of Ownership etc.!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Michaela Joy

    Michaela Joy MDL Crazy Lady

    Jul 26, 2012
    3,438
    3,578
    120
    #5 Michaela Joy, Oct 16, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. LatinMcG

    LatinMcG Bios Borker

    Feb 27, 2011
    5,268
    1,422
    180
    #6 LatinMcG, Oct 16, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  7. John Sutherland

    John Sutherland MDL Senior Member

    Oct 15, 2014
    481
    634
    10
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. Joe C

    Joe C MDL Guru

    Jan 12, 2012
    2,186
    1,170
    90
    #8 Joe C, Oct 16, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2016
    LatinMcG, I've heard of this software or that software for $$$ but nothing that really worked until today. I'm not sure how much new bios's allow a user to use the "ide" option
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. onepic

    onepic MDL Novice

    Oct 7, 2011
    40
    3
    0
    Th'x all for suggestions to try with zu. I will try to find an older MB (i see one with Intel G31 chipset is working) and hope i will have some luck.
     
  10. pisthai

    pisthai Imperfect Human

    Jul 29, 2009
    6,653
    1,928
    210
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. LatinMcG

    LatinMcG Bios Borker

    Feb 27, 2011
    5,268
    1,422
    180
    most intel boards work. dells seems to get error.
    nvidias and amd might not work.. reason is it uses direct access via the chipset to the registers of the hdd and nvidia ata isnt completely standard.
     
  12. dougwa

    dougwa MDL Junior Member

    Mar 6, 2013
    63
    8
    0
    To me this is a VERY interesting thread. I once had a locked Samsung laptop hard drive which was not supported by either version of ZU, and from what little google russian-to-english translating I did it seemed the author had no intent to add support for Samsung or Seagate drives.
    I know for a fact that ATA Secure Erase can NOT be run on a locked Samsung, so that's no help. I googled up some special equipment meant to access and write to the firmware section of the platter but it was WAY not worth it... I figured that the drive was worth maybe $25, so why spend multiple hundreds to get it unlocked? lol