HP tattoo problem

Discussion in 'BIOS Mods' started by CowDoc, Feb 12, 2017.

1. CowDoc

CowDoc MDL Novice

Feb 11, 2017
    I have an HP Pavilion dv2000 (dv2415nr) that was running Vista. The motherboard was replaced with an after market board. Everything worked fine until I formatted the hard drive. Now the system rejects the HP supplied Restore disks. I need some of that good learnin to make the Vista Restore disks work again. For now, it's running XP.

Two questions:
    1) Does anyone happen to know what file on the HP Vista Restore disk contains the valid Product Numbers and RIN? I want to make sure there isn’t a space or dash somewhere there shouldn’t be in the BIOS values.
    2) What's an easy way to read the RIN in the BIOS and/or on the hard drive? I'm an engineer, but not a computer engineer.

Why:
    This is a motherboard tattooing issue. In 2004, HP installation software started copying Desktop Management Information (DMI) from the Bios to a hidden sector on the hard drive. Namely, it copies the Product Number and the Recovery ID Number (or Software Bill of Material). Software on the Restore disk looks at the hard drive data. If the data doesn’t match one of the allowable Product Numbers and RIN on the Restore disk, the Restore disk fails.

Formatting the drive wiped the old (valid) DMI data. I used HP’s HDD_DMI utility to ensure it was fully erased. The Restore disk should then automatically copy the new DMI from the BIOS to the drive. Unfortunately, the Restore disk still fails. Using Hp’s utility to manually copy the hard drive DMI data also had no effect. Assuming the data is making it onto the hard drive, it appears the new motherboard BIOS data may not match the Restore disk.