HWID Activation Interchangeable 32/64 bit - Success

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by colinzim, Aug 4, 2015.

  1. colinzim

    colinzim MDL Senior Member

    May 14, 2007
    438
    90
    10
    #1 colinzim, Aug 4, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2015
    Maybe this is well known:

    Installed Win 7 Pro 32-bit - Activated with OEM SLIC 2.1 BIOS.
    Did not install updates, only latest hardware drivers for Win 7.
    While in Windows ran Windows 10 Pro 32-Bit Setup - chose upgrade.
    Windows Installed and activated.

    Booted computer from dvd rom - Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit.
    Partition (wipe) and formatted drive.
    Installed Windows 10 - fresh install.
    Windows activated online

    edit: As stated below many methods work.
    If no oem slic use the tools from mdl
     
  2. Lacius

    Lacius MDL Junior Member

    Oct 22, 2010
    91
    73
    0
    I figured this would be the case, but it's nice to have it confirmed.
     
  3. xinso

    xinso MDL Guru

    Mar 5, 2009
    3,974
    5,315
    120
    Good for you.
     
  4. coromonadalix

    coromonadalix MDL Senior Member

    Jul 21, 2009
    410
    82
    10
    #4 coromonadalix, Aug 4, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2015
    it is not an hwid activation

    basically slic is an information hidden in the bios at a specified location by OEM vendors, if the windows setup see that it will go in oem mode for activation purposes, and you input the oem serial needed, or an oem certification tool / loader etc ... i used xtreme loader 3.05 very frequently, very few non "slicable" bios where not oem activated ...

    Slic 2.1 is not affected by 32 or 64 bits

    It is well known :)
     
  5. s1ave77

    s1ave77 MDL Guide Dog/Dev

    Aug 15, 2012
    14,717
    18,995
    340
    This refers to Win 10 activation which indeed is HWID based and uses generic key as trigger.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Delta128

    Delta128 MDL Novice

    Apr 30, 2012
    19
    0
    0
    I can also confirmed, on older Dell hardware (Latitude laptop) went from W7Pro to W10Pro with the free upgrade, activated on 64 bits. Extracted the W10Pro 32 bits ISO to USB, boot up & did a fresh/clean install - wiped C:\ and got prompted several times to input the "key" & just click on option to "skip" - when all done & system rebooted, W10Pro 32 bit was fully activated. (Could've downgraded to W10 Home 32 bits & no problem either, I imagine)

    With "just" 4GB memory - it's running very smoothly now after doing some "tweaking" and turning off various unwarranted options.
     
  7. coromonadalix

    coromonadalix MDL Senior Member

    Jul 21, 2009
    410
    82
    10
    yep slic is old tech loll
     
  8. jincuteguy

    jincuteguy MDL Member

    Oct 26, 2012
    177
    3
    10
    Where do you download the OEM SLIC 2.1 Bios activation? And why did you have to install the 32bit windows 7? but not 64bit windows 7?
     
  9. s1ave77

    s1ave77 MDL Guide Dog/Dev

    Aug 15, 2012
    14,717
    18,995
    340
    My question would be why he didn't use Daz Loader, but any 'obscure' tool from anywhere :g:?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. vuze4u

    vuze4u MDL Member

    Apr 24, 2010
    117
    27
    10
    Little something different on my end but is possible to upgrade from Windows 10 Home to Pro edition. At first i was using OEM Win7 Home Premium and upgraded to Win 10 Home, decide to try for Pro edition and i downloaded Win7 Pro installed with Loader and upgraded to Pro 10. Format drive and clean installed Pro and activated.
     
  11. jincuteguy

    jincuteguy MDL Member

    Oct 26, 2012
    177
    3
    10
    Would Daz Loader work?
     
  12. s1ave77

    s1ave77 MDL Guide Dog/Dev

    Aug 15, 2012
    14,717
    18,995
    340
    For MBR systems yes (you can upgrade from MBR system and then Fresh install with GPT).
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. coromonadalix

    coromonadalix MDL Senior Member

    Jul 21, 2009
    410
    82
    10
    #13 coromonadalix, Aug 4, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2015
    i think it's going off topic in win 10 section ????


    anyway

    Slic 2.1 is "old activation technologie" for win vista thru windows 7, xp used slp activation, not for windows 10

    Never used loaders, because they where sometimes detectables, slic activation is the safest for theses old systems. Search OEM activation in the other windows sections.

    Search slic 2.1 in google you will have plenty of infos ... have messed up a few bios before, even with the right tools.
     
  14. s1ave77

    s1ave77 MDL Guide Dog/Dev

    Aug 15, 2012
    14,717
    18,995
    340
    Not actually old, Server 2012 R2 Editions still use SLIC (iirc OA.2.2) :cool2:.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. jincuteguy

    jincuteguy MDL Member

    Oct 26, 2012
    177
    3
    10
    How do you switch between MBR and GPT in Bios? or what?
     
  16. coromonadalix

    coromonadalix MDL Senior Member

    Jul 21, 2009
    410
    82
    10
    if i recall server 2012 r2 is windows 7 based ???
     
  17. coromonadalix

    coromonadalix MDL Senior Member

    Jul 21, 2009
    410
    82
    10
    With partitioning tools
     
  18. s1ave77

    s1ave77 MDL Guide Dog/Dev

    Aug 15, 2012
    14,717
    18,995
    340
    ... where else ... :g:?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. colinzim

    colinzim MDL Senior Member

    May 14, 2007
    438
    90
    10
    #19 colinzim, Aug 4, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2015
    (OP)

    I used what is on hand at the time. An old Win 7 oem box laying around with Win 7 32 bit so thought I would try. Figured it activate in 10, I would just wanted to confirm.
    Yes many great 'obscure' tool .......
    Did not mean to state the obvious but had wondered for certain myself.
    Thanks