I am new to Windows 10

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by Dmitry Grudsky, Aug 10, 2015.

1. Dmitry Grudsky

Dmitry Grudsky MDL Novice

Aug 10, 2015
    I upgraded my Windows 8.1 to Windows 10 and couldn't figure it out how to transfer photographs from my digital camera to computer using USB device. My second question is do I need to uninstall my Photoshop Elements 9 and reinstall it again.

Thank you,
    Dmitry

2. potjevleesch

potjevleesch MDL Addicted

Aug 7, 2010
    like before
    1) copy-paste files
    2) no

3. SpecieX

SpecieX MDL Novice

Nov 1, 2010
    Use Windows 10 the same way as Windows 8.1, all your previous software must function without problem... with some exceptions.

Transfer your pics as you used to do. There are no differences

4. Carol666

Carol666 MDL Member

Aug 12, 2015
    I'm new to win 10 too, hi ;)

5. EFA11

EFA11 Avatar Guru

Oct 7, 2010
    I did notice after upgrades, some programs need reinstalled. If you are having issues with a program, by all means it wont hurt to try

6. odiebugs1

odiebugs1 MDL Expert

Jul 30, 2015
    #6 odiebugs1, Aug 18, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2015
    What everyone said is correct. When you plug your camera in windows should see the camera as a drive, it should be listed with your other drives.

Have you ever RT clicked on the bottom taskbar, and moused over toolbars, and checked desktop, this adds a very handy way to quickly access your folders, drives, apps.

You might not like it but it's just a click away to remove it.

When you look under THIS PC, you see your C: drive and others and camera, if not, and you don't get a notification when you plug the camera in, it might need the driver, and you only need to go to the camera MFG site and get it.

7. Edwe

Edwe MDL Member

Sep 1, 2011
    Welcome

Moust of us are new to win10 so ur in god Company :)
    What way are you used to to transfer your files and how does that behaviour differens from what you are experiense now?

8. Nucleus