i have an iso application size of 8gb and would like to burn to a 2 dvd-r disc

Discussion in 'Application Software' started by catdog215, Aug 2, 2010.

  1. catdog215

    catdog215 MDL Senior Member

    Oct 21, 2009
    396
    20
    10
    hi,

    i have an iso application size of 8gb and would like to burn to a 2 dvd-r disc. anyway to do that? this is what i would like: after burning i insert dvd_1 to install the applciation, the dvd_1 would ask to insert dvd_2 to complete it installation.
     
  2. catdog215

    catdog215 MDL Senior Member

    Oct 21, 2009
    396
    20
    10
    the reason i post this is because my dvd burner kept giving me error half way when it burns. i bought 8x write speed Memorex DVD+R Double Layer 5pack from Staples and only one actually burn successful. 4 of them burn failed b/t 30-50% completed. i extract iso and burn, failed. i burn with iso still failed. please help me on how to burn DL to 2 dvd.
     
  3. Stannieman

    Stannieman MDL Guru

    Sep 4, 2009
    2,232
    1,798
    90
    #3 Stannieman, Aug 3, 2010
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2010
    I don't think it's possible cause the setup isn't made to ask for a 2nd dvd, it will throw a "file not found" error.
    You can also mount the iso, this way there's no need for burning it to a dvd.

    And it seems your burner doesn't like the memorex dvds, a firmware upgrade or other dvds can also solve the problem.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. catdog215

    catdog215 MDL Senior Member

    Oct 21, 2009
    396
    20
    10
    well, there are 2 applications iso. dvd 1 is 8gb and dvd 2 is 6gb. after the 1st dvd installed, it will ask for 2nd dvd to continue. this mean i need 8 dvd disc to burn both dvd double layer.
     
  5. mrthuvi

    mrthuvi MDL Member

    Apr 2, 2008
    102
    28
    10
    That only can happen with specific type of installers and specific workarounds (which are ussualy very complicated). Tell us the name of the application, maybe someone onboard know how to do it (though i highly doubt it). There's no "magic" way to make it 2 DVD.

    Try changing the brand of blank DVD dual layer , burn at slowest speed available, that may work.
     
  6. catdog215

    catdog215 MDL Senior Member

    Oct 21, 2009
    396
    20
    10
    #6 catdog215, Aug 3, 2010
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2010
    (OP)
    ok let me try slowest speed. oh it's CS5 master collection with 2 double layer iso from torrent. or maybe combine disc 1 and disc 2 as an iso then install from there w/out burning in dvd?? but how to combine? thx
     
  7. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,692
    3,046
    300
    #7 urie, Aug 4, 2010
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2010
    Forget it those dvd probably have custom menus and are made to run of individual dvd's hardly worth the bother for the sake of carrying another dvd.
     
  8. catdog215

    catdog215 MDL Senior Member

    Oct 21, 2009
    396
    20
    10
    i extracted dvd2 and added into dvd1 iso, save it. i extract dvd1 that also contain dvd2, then install and everything works great. it didn't ask for dvd2 since dvd2 already merge w/dvd1. credit goes to blitzkrieg. thx
     
  9. glow

    glow MDL Novice

    Apr 30, 2008
    24
    4
    0
    Memorex?

    Junk!

    Try Verbatim....