I need Help with vista repair ? convert vista basic to vista preium

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by christian666, May 17, 2012.

  1. christian666

    christian666 MDL Senior Member

    Feb 24, 2010
    275
    4
    10
    Hi everyone
    here is my case:

    I was trying to fix a dell comp with vista premium, but it had some virus malware and other things... just a big mess

    now I was able to remove the virus and malware but the comp was very slow

    so i decided to re install the os from a partition inside the comp(manufacturer had made the partition)
    but for some reason the comp was on a loop of system repair and keep just trying to repair and fail. :confused:

    so I decided to reinstall the OS with a dvd of vista I had, but it was a oem dell vista basico_O

    it work but here is my problem the comp had original vista premium and not vista basic

    is there a way to convert the vista basic to vista preimium?

    thank you so much for your help
     
  2. redroad

    redroad MDL Guru

    Dec 2, 2011
    5,326
    6,009
    180
  3. christian666

    christian666 MDL Senior Member

    Feb 24, 2010
    275
    4
    10
    There link for the tool to back up the cert is no longer working.
    Can you help find a new link for the cert tool
     
  4. redroad

    redroad MDL Guru

    Dec 2, 2011
    5,326
    6,009
    180
    You can use this I believe have not used on Vista but I think will work.
    http://forums.mydigitallife.net/threads/6925-SLIC-ToolKit-x86-x64-%28Includes-PKey-amp-Cert-Backup%29

    Here are the certs and keys in case you can't backup

    http://forums.mydigitallife.net/threads/5900-Vista-OEMSLP-Certificate-amp-Bin-Collection


    and to answer your question on other thread just use

    Windows Vista with Service Pack 2 (x64) - DVD (English)
    File Name: en_windows_vista_sp2_x64_dvd_342267.iso
    SHA1: AAEE3C04533899F9F8C4AE0C4250EF5FAFBE29A3
    ISO/CRC: 80B2EDB5

    and use key for version you want
     
  5. christian666

    christian666 MDL Senior Member

    Feb 24, 2010
    275
    4
    10
    I save the certi using the tools you told me to use.

    i dl the vista version and did install using the key on my comp panel side.

    now I need to activated--- but im a bit lost here
    can you please help me
    thank you
     
  6. redroad

    redroad MDL Guru

    Dec 2, 2011
    5,326
    6,009
    180
  7. christian666

    christian666 MDL Senior Member

    Feb 24, 2010
    275
    4
    10
    i dl the attachment you ask me to dl.
    i extracted the files, and within the folder I look look at the dell folder since the machine that im working is a dell.
    I copy the dell folder in the c: (anywhere in the root of c: )


    but here is my question

    what would be the name of my cert?

    ---------

    when I open cmd with admin privilages

    I get

    C:\Windows\system32>

    is this correct?
     
  8. christian666

    christian666 MDL Senior Member

    Feb 24, 2010
    275
    4
    10
    lol the name of my certficate

    would be Dell-Dell-2.0
    -------------------

    but what folder should I place in the root of c:

    the dell folder

    or the ~CERTIFICATE~ folder?
     
  9. redroad

    redroad MDL Guru

    Dec 2, 2011
    5,326
    6,009
    180
    #10 redroad, May 18, 2012
    Last edited: May 18, 2012
    First from the list of vendors choose Dell if Dell and open all the way down to the actual cert. Check to make sure it matches the one from slic 3.2 tool and copy and paste certificate in C:\ . When opened, right there is fine then close

    Now open all programs from start icon and find cmd ICon right click on it and choose admin privlages and command prompt should be open and then begin above commands

    ctrl + Alt + delete will close cmd line
     
  10. redroad

    redroad MDL Guru

    Dec 2, 2011
    5,326
    6,009
    180
    you want only the certificate inside certificate folder. right clic --> copy and open C:\ and paste --> close and then above mentioned
     
  11. christian666

    christian666 MDL Senior Member

    Feb 24, 2010
    275
    4
    10
    so I copy the certif file found under the dell folder (DELL-DELL-2.0) to c: (root of c:)
    ----------------
    I open with admin priv the cmd

    I get
    C:\Windows\ system32>

    here I type

    slmgr.vbs -ilc DELL-DELL-2.0

    where ultimately the cmd displays

    C:\Windows\system32>slmgr.vbs -ilc DELL-DELL-2.0

    and then I hit ENTER

    but I get the following message

    Windows Script Host

    Run 'slui.exe 0x2a 0xBBA' to display the error text.
    Error: 0xBBA
     
  12. christian666

    christian666 MDL Senior Member

    Feb 24, 2010
    275
    4
    10


    great

    so on root of c:

    I have the following folder

    ~CERTIFICATE~

    inside this folder the following file is inside

    DELL-DELL-2.0


    correct so far?
     
  13. redroad

    redroad MDL Guru

    Dec 2, 2011
    5,326
    6,009
    180
    nope... Just the DELL-DELL-2.0.XRM-MS should be there so when you use cmd it finds it
     
  14. christian666

    christian666 MDL Senior Member

    Feb 24, 2010
    275
    4
    10
    I just compared both certificate files

    I compared both by double clicking on the file then looking at the different inside the file

    the only difference I found is just the name of the certificate file which


    DELL-DELL-2.0 from the file you ask me to dl

    DELL_V2.0_Cert from the 3.2 tool
     
  15. christian666

    christian666 MDL Senior Member

    Feb 24, 2010
    275
    4
    10

    okay so on root of C:

    the file

    DELL-DELL-2.0

    is only there, not under any other folder
     
  16. redroad

    redroad MDL Guru

    Dec 2, 2011
    5,326
    6,009
    180
    that should be the one just possibly newer version... :biggrin: you are close
     
  17. christian666

    christian666 MDL Senior Member

    Feb 24, 2010
    275
    4
    10
    so I should I the cert file from the 3.2 tool

    and not from the file I dl

    correct?

    i hope I m getting closed
     
  18. redroad

    redroad MDL Guru

    Dec 2, 2011
    5,326
    6,009
    180
    Use DELL-DELL-2.0.XRM-MS for now it should work fine
     
  19. christian666

    christian666 MDL Senior Member

    Feb 24, 2010
    275
    4
    10
    so when I paste the cert file from the 3.2 tool
    on root of C:

    file name

    DELL_V2.0_Cert

    ------------

    I type and ultimated IT looks like this
    the following on cmd with admin priv

    C:\Windows\system32>slmgr.vbs -ilc DELL_V2.0_Cert

    but I get an error

    the same error as before:

    Windows Script Host

    Run 'slui.exe 0x2a 0xBBA' to display the error text.
    Error: 0xBBA