I need this file quickly

Discussion in 'BIOS Mods' started by Ayad, Apr 24, 2012.

  1. Ayad

    Ayad MDL Junior Member

    Apr 22, 2012
    71
    1
    0
    I have Hp Pavilion G6-1060se , its bios has damaged so I want to programming the SPI flash externally
    Please I need that binary file quickly
    Note :
    The original file size is 4096 kB and the downloaded file from Hp official site is larger ....
     
  2. LatinMcG

    LatinMcG Bios Borker

    Feb 27, 2011
    5,390
    1,464
    180
    #2 LatinMcG, Apr 24, 2012
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2012
    put hdd in a different computer and goto the HP Tools partition. .. search for *.bin . should be in a folder called Previous or Current.
    (might have to use linux if the partition is hidden.)

    then use the PhoenixDell/EFI mod tool to find the recovery filename if it shows it.
     
  3. Ayad

    Ayad MDL Junior Member

    Apr 22, 2012
    71
    1
    0
    sorry the hard is protected by password
     
  4. LatinMcG

    LatinMcG Bios Borker

    Feb 27, 2011
    5,390
    1,464
    180
    #4 LatinMcG, Apr 24, 2012
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2012
    mhdd to unlock it. what model drive?

    set desktop sata mode to ide then boot usb dos then run mhdd.
    if it dont work unplug hdd before booting dos then plug in and run mhdd
     
  5. Ayad

    Ayad MDL Junior Member

    Apr 22, 2012
    71
    1
    0
    please I need file directly I should fix this problem soon please help me
     
  6. LatinMcG

    LatinMcG Bios Borker

    Feb 27, 2011
    5,390
    1,464
    180
    eventually some day.. (maybe 3 months) someone might post it.. not everyone has this laptop.

    i wish i knew a way to convert the file.
     
  7. Ayad

    Ayad MDL Junior Member

    Apr 22, 2012
    71
    1
    0
    all hp pavilion g6-1000 series have that file
     
  8. LatinMcG

    LatinMcG Bios Borker

    Feb 27, 2011
    5,390
    1,464
    180
    i caled my local repair shop tampabaylaptops and they didnt have any G6.. goodluck
     
  9. LatinMcG

    LatinMcG Bios Borker

    Feb 27, 2011
    5,390
    1,464
    180
    i extracted the SP56874.exe and found
    0166CF63.BIN 4,622 KB
    0184DF63.BIN "
    0338AF63.BIN "
    01666F63.BIN "

    when i open them with PhoenixDell/EFI mod it DECrypts them to 0166CF63.BIN.DEC size 4,228 KB
    would that work ?
     
  10. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    11,165
    10,919
    340
    Andy's tool is able to decrypt HP EFI updates. Just open it with his tool and you'll get it.
    You can post a link here to the HP update.

    Edit: You need to cut it to 4096 KByte exactly in order to SPI flash it. There must be some FF bytes or zero bytes you can cut off.
    The decrypted bin on HDD usually has 4228 KB as well.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. Ayad

    Ayad MDL Junior Member

    Apr 22, 2012
    71
    1
    0
    sorry its size must be equal to 4096 kB
     
  12. LatinMcG

    LatinMcG Bios Borker

    Feb 27, 2011
    5,390
    1,464
    180
    #12 LatinMcG, Apr 24, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  13. Ayad

    Ayad MDL Junior Member

    Apr 22, 2012
    71
    1
    0
    I do not have Andy's tool please where can I find it
     
  14. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,574
    15,380
    340
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    11,165
    10,919
    340
    Unfortunately I cannot hexedit atm here.
    You can cut the EFI by cutting a gap between the firmware volumes. (Usually FF bytes). Important is that you don't lose data when cutting. Size must be exactly 400000h bytes.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. LatinMcG

    LatinMcG Bios Borker

    Feb 27, 2011
    5,390
    1,464
    180
    wish there was some tool called AutoBinCuter with preset sizes :p
     
  17. Ayad

    Ayad MDL Junior Member

    Apr 22, 2012
    71
    1
    0
    I do not have Andy's tool please can you tell me where can I find it (link)
     
  18. LatinMcG

    LatinMcG Bios Borker

    Feb 27, 2011
    5,390
    1,464
    180
    first he needs to determine which bios file he needs.. on the motherboard sometimes it says part of the filename example 6CF
    its likely for videocard model.
     
  19. Ayad

    Ayad MDL Junior Member

    Apr 22, 2012
    71
    1
    0
    sorry I can not do that , if you could please decrypt bios version F.32
     
  20. LatinMcG

    LatinMcG Bios Borker

    Feb 27, 2011
    5,390
    1,464
    180
    #20 LatinMcG, Apr 24, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    that makes it 4 times harder because to determine proper bios means have to fix the size on all 4 and u flash and attempt boot each time.
    Code:
    [Platform_Check]
    flag=2
    PlatformName1=1666
    PlatformName2=1667
    PlatformName3=1668
    PlatformName4=1669
    PlatformName5=166A
    PlatformName6=166B
    PlatformName7=166C
    PlatformName8=166D
    PlatformName9=166E
    PlatformName10=166F
    PlatformName11=1670
    PlatformName12=1671
    PlatformName13=1672
    PlatformName14=338A
    PlatformName15=338B
    PlatformName16=338C
    PlatformName17=184D
    PlatformName18=1898
    PlatformName19=
    PlatformName20=
    ;This flag is the switch of comparing bios project ID with ROM file project ID.
    ;Flag              default : 3.
    ;                        0 : Don't check project ID.
    ;                        1 : Check project ID of new file.
    ;                            If ID is different with current BIOS, the utility will close. 
    ;                        2 : Utility will compare current platform ID with the 20 platform IDs.
    ;                            If any one is match, it will go ahead, otherwise utility will close.
    also if you are flashing chip.. why cant u look on motherboard since u took it apart to desolder spi chip.??
    sounds like your are a vendor of bios chips and cant find the bios image. :rolleyes: