install windows 7 on a brand new unformatted hdd

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by sb18180, Feb 19, 2010.

  1. sb18180

    sb18180 MDL Junior Member

    Aug 25, 2009
    99
    2
    0
    #1 sb18180, Feb 19, 2010
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2010
    hi,
    iam thinking of replacing my hdd(2.5"sata) on the notepad to a 500gb unformatted hdd.
    can i just replace old for new sata hdd, and boot up with win7 disk in and choose the formatt option(ntfs),let it format then continue to install windows 7. is this correct? the partitioning i can do later with paragon.
    i take it that the bios will remain the same as is slic 2.1. BUT i will have to put the cert and serial back in once windows has installed.
    thanks for any help i have never installed an unformatted hdd before.
     
  2. timesurfer

    timesurfer MDL Developer

    Nov 22, 2009
    8,527
    4,065
    270
    Some people copy one hard drive data to the new hdd. and then just boot from new drive
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. sb18180

    sb18180 MDL Junior Member

    Aug 25, 2009
    99
    2
    0
    thanks for your reply but i dont want to clone the old hdd to much clutter on there that came with it when the notepad was brought,recovery ect.
    its just that iam unsure if any bios oem info slic 2.1 ect is kept on the hdd or is that totally seperate?
     
  4. timesurfer

    timesurfer MDL Developer

    Nov 22, 2009
    8,527
    4,065
    270
    If you have slic 2.1 in bios then it stays I believe. If you were using loader then you have to install loader again if your going to install windows 7 on new disk.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. sb18180

    sb18180 MDL Junior Member

    Aug 25, 2009
    99
    2
    0
    yes it came with windows 7 already installed and the bios is slic 2.1,no loader needed only cert and serial for the ultimate upgrade.
     
  6. Rosco

    Rosco MDL Addicted

    Oct 29, 2007
    633
    45
    30
    I would extract your certificate before removing the old disk - there is a fine tutorial on how to easily do this on these forums - you should know your key or if you want to change versions the keys are listed.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,696
    3,048
    300
    Use Slic dump tool kit to backup your certificate and key before removing older Hard drive.
     
  8. sb18180

    sb18180 MDL Junior Member

    Aug 25, 2009
    99
    2
    0
    ok got the backup part.can the new unformatted hdd be formatted to ntfs using the windows 7 install disk and choosing the format option?
     
  9. beamslider

    beamslider MDL Senior Member

    Feb 1, 2010
    339
    95
    10
    Yes it can
     
  10. MaxKts

    MaxKts MDL Novice

    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    0
    0
    Just put the hard drive in the computer and start with the Win7 disk in the dvd drive. You do not have to choose a "format option" - install, by default, will format the entire drive for Win7 (NTFS) unless you tell it to make a smaller partition.
     
  11. sb18180

    sb18180 MDL Junior Member

    Aug 25, 2009
    99
    2
    0
    #11 sb18180, Feb 20, 2010
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2010
    (OP)
    many thanks i will go ahead now and buy one and have a go.another issue i see is that some hdd are now sata 2 instead of of just sata will this cause me an issue,the notepad is new and latest samsung r519 so iam hoping there will be no conflict with a sata2 hdd and my motherboard.
    the new hdd iam looking to buy is western digital scorpio blue 2.5" 500gb sata11 around £60 $100
     
  12. beamslider

    beamslider MDL Senior Member

    Feb 1, 2010
    339
    95
    10
    that model seems to have a SATA I controller. The drives usually have a jumper allowing you to configure them as SATA I so it should not be a problem. Main difference is maximum transfer rate 150 vs 300. Not an issue as you won't see much or any difference in reality with either SATA I or SATA II in a laptop with one drive.