Install Windows 8.1 on a PC with Windows 8, not activating

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by mcbyte, Jan 13, 2017.

  1. mcbyte

    mcbyte MDL Junior Member

    Jul 26, 2009
    94
    1
    0
    I had to reformat a laptop that had Windows 8.1 Pro (laptop has a sticker Windows 8), I did not backup the tokens (didn't know about that).

    I used the iso for multiple editions, but during install I was not asked to select version, and it installed 8 standard. And in all cases, Windows is not activated. I got the key from the bios, but when I enter it in the slui 3 it says not usable.

    Tried using KMSPico, it also says bios key found, skipping...

    What other solutions are there? can I force the installation of pro and use the bios key?
     
  2. xim2

    xim2 MDL Novice

    Jan 9, 2008
    14
    2
    0
    #3 xim2, Jan 13, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2017
    You need Windows 8.1 Core edition :smile3:
     
  3. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    23,101
    32,214
    390
    #4 Enthousiast, Jan 13, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2017
    I didn't know the 8.1 multiple editions iso used the oem:Dm bioskey to activate like win10 10586 and up can do.

    So every time you install with the 8.1 Multiple Editions iso you end up with home (because of the bioskey), but you want to install pro?

    You have to use an ei.cfg that either points at pro or gives you a choice to install pro.

    You also could install home, and upgrade to pro (or even pro-wmc by changing the productkey to pro or pro-wmc and then activate with a kms solution.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,704
    15,842
    340
  5. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    23,101
    32,214
    390
    He wants pro on that laptop, why pointing at csl?

    He only can't use the oem:Dm bioskey for it, because it's not for pro.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,704
    15,842
    340
    @Enthousiast

    I'm not pointing him to CSL, but discussing the possible case where his statement is wrong ("a laptop that had Windows 8.1 Pro (laptop has a sticker Windows 8)").
     
  7. mcbyte

    mcbyte MDL Junior Member

    Jul 26, 2009
    94
    1
    0
    The key parser gives me:

    Core means Windows 8.1 standard? which iso do I need?

    I am quite sure the System properties said pro, here is says core. And anyway, it doesn't matter, I am only looking to get an officially activated Windows on that laptop.
     
  8. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    23,101
    32,214
    390
    What language and architecture (x86 or x64?) do you want?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,704
    15,842
    340
    @mcbyte

    Which ISO did you use? Mention the MSDN name. If you use IR3/IR5 8.1 MSDN multiple editions ISO, then it'll detect the OEM: DM key & activate automatically after being online. On the other hand, you can also use 10 (preferably 14393) multiple editions ISO too, to get a valid digital entitlement for lifetime for this particular PC.
     
  10. mcbyte

    mcbyte MDL Junior Member

    Jul 26, 2009
    94
    1
    0
    US English, x64...
     
  11. mcbyte

    mcbyte MDL Junior Member

    Jul 26, 2009
    94
    1
    0
    #12 mcbyte, Jan 13, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2017
    (OP)
    I had this iso downloaded long ago: en_windows_8.1_with_update_x64_dvd_4065090.iso

    I also have these:

    • Windows_8.1_EN-US_x64.ISO
    • en_windows_8_x64_dvd_915440.iso
     
  12. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    23,101
    32,214
    390
    #13 Enthousiast, Jan 13, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,704
    15,842
    340
    @Enthousiast @mcbyte

    "Edition Type: Core" clearly says that the OEM: DM key is for Core SKU, so CoreSingleLanguage would do nothing. We need the exact error message after doing slmgr.vbs /ato.
     
  14. mcbyte

    mcbyte MDL Junior Member

    Jul 26, 2009
    94
    1
    0
    I'll get this on Monday, the laptop in question is at the office.... Thanks in advance .... great answers....