Installing Windows Server 2012 Standard

Discussion in 'Windows Server' started by Jay001, Oct 2, 2014.

1. Jay001

Jay001 MDL Novice

Oct 2, 2014
    Hoping someone can help as I haven't much knowledge of installing and setting up a server but I have some knowledge of computers. Basically I want a server to run standalone in a room and have 5 computers connected to it on its own network. This server will not have an outside connection to the internet once complete, so it will just be connected via a switch to 5 computers.

These 5 computers are running XP but what I am thinking is can they run remote desktop connection and connect to the server and have their own desktop and programs to run? Is it simple or do or does it involve a lot of work setting it up or do I need some additional software or plug-ins etc? First of all is this possible, or am I barking up the wrong tree and got this totally wrong?

So far.....

• Installed Windows Server 2012 Standard onto a server
    • No domains have been added
    • No users have been added apart from the administrator
    • No software has been installed (but the software is compatible)
    • No workgroups have been setup
    • No policies have been setup
    • No roles or features have been installed
    • I have a CAL licence but not sure when or how to enter the code anywhere?
    • Do I need Active Directory installed if so I have never used this before so will need some guidance
    Basically all that has been done is Windows Server 2012 has been installed onto a server.

Can someone give me step by step instructions on what to do even if it's starting a fresh with a clean install in case I have missed anything?

2. GHeimnis

GHeimnis MDL Member

Jun 18, 2011
    #2 GHeimnis, Oct 3, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  3. Jay001

Jay001 MDL Novice

Oct 2, 2014
    GHeimnis,