is bios modding really this easy

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by jabberwocky, Aug 29, 2009.

  1. jabberwocky

    jabberwocky MDL Member

    Aug 28, 2009
    201
    15
    10
    1st attempt at bios modding I downloaded the award bios tool and bios V8 for my Gigabyte GA-M61PM-S2
    fired up the award tool and followed the instructions .
    1 navigated to my bios file
    2 ditto for the slic (choose HP)
    3 then the slp file (HP)
    Noticed that the correct bios type and maker listed .
    SSV3 was pre choosen.
    clicked on run . and waited .
    no errors , then success message .
    clicked on verify .... all checksums show ok (no errors)
    verify cert , get slic matches cert message .

    is that it ?
    I now have around eight files in the bios folder where there were only 3 before.

    an autoexec file
    a flash app
    M61pms2.f8
    m61pms2_slic.f8
    main.bin
    main_slic.bin
    acpi.bin
    acpi_slic.bin

    Do I only copy the new bios file m61pms2_slic.f8 along with the original autoexec.bat and flash.exe to the floppy and run at reboot ,and should I modify the name in the autoexec to match the new bios name.

    cannot be that easy .... can it.
     
  2. friskies

    friskies MDL Junior Member

    Jul 27, 2009
    61
    4
    0
    Yes it`s that easy, i did it with my 2 computers some time ago. Brilliant, ain`t it?
     
  3. NoJuan999

    NoJuan999 Experienced SLIC Tool Operator

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,919
    1,933
    300
    #3 NoJuan999, Aug 29, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    Copy the original BIOS m61pms2.f8 to a new folder as a back up.
    Then rename the Modded BIOS m61pms2_slic.f8 to m61pms2.f8 and flash with awdflash in DOS.

    Do a search of these forums for the best method for flashing an Award BIOs. I only do AMI and I use AFUDOS for those, so I'm far from an expert on Award BIOS flashing.

    I did post a simple way to make a USB Boot Drive here:
    http://forums.mydigitallife.net/threads/8909

    There is a link to the HP format tool and Instructions for using it listed there.

    PS
    Make Sure that you have all the tools necessary for BIOS recovery in case the flash doesn't work properly.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. jabberwocky

    jabberwocky MDL Member

    Aug 28, 2009
    201
    15
    10
    thanks ,I think the autoexec and flash utility are designed to flash the bios from floppy at boot so if I just do as you said and remove the original as backup and rename the new one ,with the correct(original) name and put the 3 files into a floppy. it should automatically flash at boot .
    at the moment there is a boot loader installed (HAZARS) do I remove this before proceeding.

    thanks again.
     
  5. Everilda

    Everilda MDL Senior Member

    Jun 28, 2009
    306
    25
    10
    @ Jabberwocky

    If you use the floppy it must be formatted to be bootable, or use usb as suggested above.

    Another way is to use Gigabyte's built in bios flashing tool called Q-flash, this can read the bios file straight from floppy disk or usb stick.
     
  6. NoJuan999

    NoJuan999 Experienced SLIC Tool Operator

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,919
    1,933
    300
    Yes, you must uninstall that loader completely so it doesn't conflict with the SLIC in the modded BIOS.
    Then Activate with the manual commands found the the Windows 7 Repository (It's stickied) here in the forums.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. jabberwocky

    jabberwocky MDL Member

    Aug 28, 2009
    201
    15
    10
    worked perfectly .I used the VOATKTools to remove the loader and any remnants of cracks .then made a copy of the bios in modded and unmodded versions on floppies .
    used gigabytes biult in Qbios to flash them and Voila all systems working I have 2 installs of windows XP 4 of vista 2 of each 32x64bit and now 4 of windows7 again 2 of each all working all fully activated ,with no annoying loader script to see at start up .
    do I post the bios if any one else with the same board wants them.
     
  8. Everilda

    Everilda MDL Senior Member

    Jun 28, 2009
    306
    25
    10
    #8 Everilda, Aug 30, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    Post your modified bios here. http://forums.mydigitallife.net/threads/7500
    Follow the instructions and it will be added to the list.
     
  9. whitehat2009

    whitehat2009 MDL Member

    Aug 1, 2009
    163
    2
    10
    #9 whitehat2009, Aug 30, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. Gradius

    Gradius MDL Member

    Jul 30, 2009
    193
    5
    10
    Sometimes is easy, sometimes not.

    In case you are just using an auto-tool process, it cannot be more easier.
     
  11. 911medic

    911medic MDL Guru

    Aug 13, 2008
    5,778
    492
    180
    You are welcome!!!!

    It is not that easy without the auto tool. You owe the senior modders and Andyp a great debt, as this is an intensive process without the auto tools.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...