Is It Possible To Integrate Windows 7 And Vista Into One Boot Disk

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Nosidak, Jan 13, 2010.

  1. Nosidak

    Nosidak MDL Junior Member

    Dec 21, 2009
    67
    1
    0
    Hi i was wondering if anybody had the answer to my question. i was wondering if ti it possible to integrate both vista and windows 7 into one installation disk.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. tcntad

    tcntad MDL Guru

    Oct 26, 2009
    4,086
    1,298
    150
    You mean one dvd ?

    Should be, you can always try it and use virtualbox and test.
    imagex / export "source:\vista/7 64bit" 1-5 "sourc:\vista/7 32bit" "Edition Name)

    Ofcourse corresponding number / name of editions.

    Report back if it works :p

    If you have a dual layer dvd you can integrate both 32bit and 64bit of vista and windows 7 to one dvd:D.
     
  3. SCBrigth

    SCBrigth MDL Senior Member

    May 9, 2009
    481
    68
    10
    Off post - You quote was my old signature with a little diference:

    Watch your thoughts; they become words.
    Watch your words; they become actions.
    Watch your actions; they become habits.
    Watch your habits; they become character.
    Watch your character; it becomes your destiny.;)

    About your question: you may experience an space problem you need to have separate DVDs for 32bit and 64bit.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Nosidak

    Nosidak MDL Junior Member

    Dec 21, 2009
    67
    1
    0
    OK thanks for the responses. I will try it out. I used to have a copy of vista but my disk is scratched and wont work so i will have to download another copy. i cant at the moment because i have exceeded my Internet usage. I will let you know if it works when i have done it.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Nosidak

    Nosidak MDL Junior Member

    Dec 21, 2009
    67
    1
    0
    I decided to take a walk up the road to my cousins house. He had both bit editions of vista ultimate and i couldnt wait for my internet usage to reset so i borrowed them and made some images out of them. I integrated the vista editions as you would to create an Windows 7 AIO 86-64 bit but i encountered a space problem. So what i decided to do was have them seperated by architecture. So now i have to dual layer disks. One for the 86 bit and one for the 64 bit. I tested it out in virtual box and it works.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Dolorous Edd

    Dolorous Edd MDL Expert

    Aug 31, 2009
    1,054
    194
    60
    Did you actually make the 32/64 bit AIO? Space isn't really an issue when you install from a USB drive. I have a 7 only AIO that is on a hidden 10gb partition on my mybook 1TB drive. Install from it all the time. (hidden as in not assigned a drive letter). If you have the vista/7 32/64 AIO keep it and throw it on a thumb drive.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. Nosidak

    Nosidak MDL Junior Member

    Dec 21, 2009
    67
    1
    0
    Never thought of that. Awesome idea dude. I will definitly do that.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. Nosidak

    Nosidak MDL Junior Member

    Dec 21, 2009
    67
    1
    0
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...