Is this PSU sufficient for the Gigabyte Geforce GTX 460 1gb OC?

Discussion in 'PC Hardware' started by JaguarXJ12, Oct 31, 2010.

  1. JaguarXJ12

    JaguarXJ12 MDL Senior Member

    Jun 9, 2010
    446
    633
    10
    #1 JaguarXJ12, Oct 31, 2010
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2010
    Ok so this is my specs as of today, pretty much an minimalist setup:

    MSI P43-C51 mobo
    Intel Core 2 Quad Q9650 3.0ghz 95w
    8gb Kingston HyperX DDR2 1066 2.2v
    **OLD XFX Geforce 9800GT replaced by

    **NEW Gigabyte Geforce GTX 460 1gb OC

    1HDD, 1 DVD-RW/CD-RW drive and three fans

    My PSU is an 500 watt AXP-500P12P with +12V1 17A and +12V2 18A

    I like to think that a 500 watt PSU is sufficient to power this baby but some say that you need 24A both 12V1 and 12V2.

    According to numerous PSU calculators on the net I should do fine (I use around 370 - 430 Watt)

    So my question is, is my rig gonna explode once I turn on the power?
     
  2. potjevleesch

    potjevleesch MDL Addicted

    Aug 7, 2010
    812
    69
    30
    will run fine: I run a dual core e7500 @ 3.00 ghz and a Gainward gtx 460 gs on a 500 watts psu (ocz stealth) no problem:) whasoever, no overheating: air out of the psu is lukewarm after 1 hour of starcraft 2 or MOH with all settings set to extreme (max).
    I precise I only have 1 six pin connector from psu, the 2nd one is derived from a molex.
     
  3. 2centsworth

    2centsworth MDL Senior Member

    Feb 12, 2008
    333
    24
    10
  4. JaguarXJ12

    JaguarXJ12 MDL Senior Member

    Jun 9, 2010
    446
    633
    10
    #4 JaguarXJ12, Nov 2, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
  5. potjevleesch

    potjevleesch MDL Addicted

    Aug 7, 2010
    812
    69
    30
    what worries me now is that it has no six pin connectors, it consequently might be a bit weak in extreme gaming conditions if the gpu is oc'ed
     
  6. JaguarXJ12

    JaguarXJ12 MDL Senior Member

    Jun 9, 2010
    446
    633
    10
    #6 JaguarXJ12, Nov 2, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
  7. potjevleesch

    potjevleesch MDL Addicted

    Aug 7, 2010
    812
    69
    30
    give it a try and tell us ! if the psu is too weak the gpu won't work or your rig won't start in the 1st place, it won't break anything :)
     
  8. JaguarXJ12

    JaguarXJ12 MDL Senior Member

    Jun 9, 2010
    446
    633
    10
    #8 JaguarXJ12, Nov 2, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
  9. potjevleesch

    potjevleesch MDL Addicted

    Aug 7, 2010
    812
    69
    30
    right decision:)
     
  10. JaguarXJ12

    JaguarXJ12 MDL Senior Member

    Jun 9, 2010
    446
    633
    10
    Yeah better safe then sorry.
     
  11. U-Fig

    U-Fig MDL Member

    May 14, 2010
    174
    65
    10
    recently replaced my TAGAN 480 Watt PSU with a Corsair TX650W

    my TAGAN was about 5 yrs old and started to make a whistling sound, indicating that it was reaching the end of it's life
    bought the corsair one for 81 euros and im perfectly satisfied with it
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. JaguarXJ12

    JaguarXJ12 MDL Senior Member

    Jun 9, 2010
    446
    633
    10
    I think it's good to buy a PSU that have a little higher watts then you need, saves you alot in the end. And Corsair is a good brand.

    BTW I installed the new PSU which was modular, excellent is all I can say I even skipped the Molex crap for the GPU and had two PCIe for it with this new one, GREAT!!! I hate Molex connectors, even the one for the DVD drive got switched :) hehe
     
  13. U-Fig

    U-Fig MDL Member

    May 14, 2010
    174
    65
    10
    #13 U-Fig, Nov 4, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2010
    i'm saving up for a new rig myself and thats why i got the corsair PSU in advance
    plus the fact that my TAGAN was dying but it was perfectly able to handle the stress from my current rig until it started whistling at me:) :
    Gigabyte GA-M51GM-S2G
    AMD Athlon64 X2 6000+
    6 samsung HD's 2x IDE 4 x S-ATA II 2.6 TB total
    4 GB 2x2GB DDR2 OCZ Value ram rating a WEI score of 7.0
    GeForce 8800GTS 320 from XFX wich i overclocked myself and has been running stable for 3.5 - 4 years now (can't recall when i bought it exactly)

    the corsair PSU which i bougt isn't modular and i can see why people love them but 2 of my friends had their modular PSU ( one antec and a thermaltake ) blow up on them , taking little more than half the present hardware with them.
    so no modular for me, could be faulty wiring, could be a lot of things and even my current psu could suddenly blow up, however that means that i'm not really to blame for wrongly (ie not tight enough) inserted cables or the like
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. JaguarXJ12

    JaguarXJ12 MDL Senior Member

    Jun 9, 2010
    446
    633
    10
    Well only time will tell if this is alright or not *crosses fingers*
    But I have heard good things about this model. It was pretty straightforward when I installed it, it felt simple and I checked if everything was connected properly. But one can't be 100% sure.
    Either way in the end I think my old 500 watt wouldn't stand a chance with this setup in the long run.
    But to be honest I seriously don't know what to do if something happen, I either cry or laugh about it.
     
  15. U-Fig

    U-Fig MDL Member

    May 14, 2010
    174
    65
    10
    there's this saying that states "IF one's life is devoid of any problems or discomfort and one would like to experience some ,...one should go buy a computer.

    i dont think you will fail with your choice of PSU, however the psu you where describing

    "My PSU is an 500 watt AXP-500P12P with +12V1 17A and +12V2 18A" sounds to me like it is one those cheap-ass PSU's that will last for about 9 months then need to be discarded 17 and 18 AMPS isn't really gonna cut it these days when you make use of a fairly new proc and graphicsboard

    they wil only last a bit longer in a HTPC with onboard graphics and audio , one harddisk and that about sums it up.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. donjeuw

    donjeuw MDL Novice

    Dec 29, 2010
    26
    2
    0
    Yes, it's enough for it
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. IKER

    IKER MDL Novice

    Mar 1, 2011
    39
    6
    0
    #18 IKER, Oct 26, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2011
    two more links:
    _hardwaresecrets.com/article/How-to-Discover-Your-Power-Supplys-Real-Manufacturer/370/2
    _plugloadsolutions.com/80PlusPowerSupplies.aspx
    cheers

    adds ht..ww.

    So sorry. It's exactly my 20 post.