Keygens and Anti-Virus?

Discussion in 'Application Software' started by jetjock, Apr 3, 2010.

  1. jetjock

    jetjock MDL Senior Member

    Mar 6, 2010
    279
    15
    10
    If this is not the correct forum for this question, please feel free to remove it.

    I have always wondered what it is about keygens that set off anti-virus programs. I'm not talking about their use; just their mere presence is enough to start to them screaming! If I understand keygens, all they are is a random character generator that uses the same algorithm the program uses to generate a "key". :confused:
     
  2. iamanoob

    iamanoob MDL Senior Member

    Feb 28, 2010
    402
    45
    10
  3. Daz

    Daz MDL Developer / Admin
    Staff Member

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,293
    66,087
    300
    #3 Daz, Apr 4, 2010
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2010
    One suggestion is if you select to ignore the 'threat' that your anti-virus claims it is then instead run the keygen in Sandboxie. I believe the latest version of Sandboxie finally supports 64-bit once again too :)

    * It's best to use the latest BETA version from their forum if you're wanting 64-bit support.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. NoJuan999

    NoJuan999 Experienced SLIC Tool Operator

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,919
    1,930
    300
    One step to help you if you are unsure about a keygen is to run it in a VM or get Sandboxie and run it in a Sandbox (Not as safe on x64 OS though).

    LOL,
    Daz beat me to the post.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. olejnikster

    olejnikster MDL Novice

    Feb 28, 2010
    7
    0
    0
    Depends on the very keygen and also as much the antivirus. In order to make certain keygen's, a code injector(a funnel to another program's code junction) is used. That type of behaviour is common to trojans and viruses, malware. Then some people like messy things and make them that way with stuff that compromises PC's security routines and performance. May even well be the person or the one after that, when the keygen was made, had crap on their PC, which infected the very keygen. Other times a certain antivirus will ring the alarm because it looks like something serious but isin't. Then other certain antiviruses ring the bell because they are commercial products, by commercial people and they want money, not people using paid software for free(not necessarily they have money to spend, or make in all case come by). Go figure, but it's why and the reasons why.
     
  6. Daz

    Daz MDL Developer / Admin
    Staff Member

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,293
    66,087
    300
    #6 Daz, Apr 4, 2010
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2010
    Haha :p

    I just looked over their forum and read about the security of 64-bit, it seems to be pretty secure but still the 32-bit version is the better of the two.

    For anyone interested:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. Daz

    Daz MDL Developer / Admin
    Staff Member

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,293
    66,087
    300
    I didn't know that Kaspersky 2010 had a sandbox system built in, I may have to check that out :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. cadbob

    cadbob MDL Novice

    Nov 1, 2009
    8
    0
    0
    I will have to find clean keygen for Kaspersky 2010 first!
     
  9. jetjock

    jetjock MDL Senior Member

    Mar 6, 2010
    279
    15
    10
    I've tried using Sandboxie on a couple of occasions, but nave never really been able to understand just how it works (or how to work it). I've tried reading their FAQs and help, but if you have a link that explains it in terms an average dummy like me might understand, I'd be most grateful for the help!
     
  10. iamanoob

    iamanoob MDL Senior Member

    Feb 28, 2010
    402
    45
    10
    #11 iamanoob, Apr 4, 2010
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2010
    - Basically.. you can run suspicious executables in a protected area on your Hard Drive . .. (Sandboxie does this)
    - and if it is truly Malware.. it will not harm your computer ..

    Take note if you're running 64-bit:
    It's not as safe under 64-bit.. there's a possibility the Malware can communicate with other programs on your machine .. read about this on Sandboxie's website..

    F.Y.I
    I like to use the Sandboxie built in with Kaspersky .. because it also lists all of the actions of the particular item you are testing..
    i.e. which registry keys were installed/accessed/etc
    i.e. where all the files were installed to, what was altered, removed, etc ..
    i.e. internet activity, etc ..

    so i get an inventory of what exactly was done .. very handy..
     
  11. jetjock

    jetjock MDL Senior Member

    Mar 6, 2010
    279
    15
    10
    Well, I'm not running 64 bit so that's not a problem. I haven't been able to find a working version of Kaspersky (with no trojans) so it's use is out (for now anyway). What I have the biggest problem with in Sandboxie is it's interface. I just have never understood exactly how I'm supposed to use it. If I use Sandboxie, what keeps my anti-virus from preventing my even running the keygen as it does now? The only way I can even launch a keygen is to disable the "check on access" function of the anti-virus, which pretty much negates the function of an anti-virus program. :(
     
  12. NoJuan999

    NoJuan999 Experienced SLIC Tool Operator

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,919
    1,930
    300
    #13 NoJuan999, Apr 4, 2010
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2010
    you just disable the AV and right click on the Keygen and choose Run Sandboxed.
    Then it runs in a Virtual SndBox and will NOT be able to infect your PC.
    But the safest thing you can do is ONLY use keygens from a trusted source, NOT some BS Website that infected all keygen, patches, etc.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. jetjock

    jetjock MDL Senior Member

    Mar 6, 2010
    279
    15
    10
    Thanks, I'll try it out again.
     
  14. jetjock

    jetjock MDL Senior Member

    Mar 6, 2010
    279
    15
    10
    OK, I re-installed Sandboxie and as soon as I read the first instruction I remembered what it was that I didn't understand about it! It says that programs run in the sandbox cannot make changes to your computer. How then am I supposed to install a program (let's say Kaspersky) that I have downloaded from (say Rapidshare), that I suspect may have a hidden trojan or worse? If this program is not able to make changes to my computer, how will it install? Same goes for patches. How can they work if they can't make changes?
     
  15. alextheg

    alextheg Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Jan 7, 2009
    1,773
    800
    60
    You run the desired programme in Sandboxie, if it comes up clean then instal it in real OS.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. iamanoob

    iamanoob MDL Senior Member

    Feb 28, 2010
    402
    45
    10
  17. iamanoob

    iamanoob MDL Senior Member

    Feb 28, 2010
    402
    45
    10
  18. Pusont

    Pusont MDL Novice

    Apr 10, 2010
    5
    0
    0
    I am using a Kaspersky Pure trial at the moment and finding it a descent anti virus overall. @iamanoob - could you kindly Pm's me that link for some possible keys? Really having some trouble finding anything on the safe side out there... thks
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...