Legal to download Vista RTM SP1 if I already own it?

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by vwgolfman, Feb 5, 2008.

  1. vwgolfman

    vwgolfman MDL Junior Member

    Nov 5, 2007
    54
    0
    0
    I purchased a legitimate copy of Windows Vista Ultimate 32bit OEM.

    I now have the opportunity of downloading Windows Vista 32bit RTM with SP1 included.

    If I were to format my hard drive and reinstall Vista using the downloaded copy can I use my OEM Installation serial?
    Would it activate using my serial and would it be legal to do this?
     
  2. vbguy

    vbguy MDL Novice

    Aug 2, 2007
    8
    0
    0
    You're not going to find any lawyers on this site. But if you have to ask if it's legal, it's probably not.

    Will the serial work? Only if the correct certificate is installed. You can extract the certificate of your currently activated OEM-Vista install (search the forum for the tool), and then reinstall the certificate after you've installed Vista SP1.

    If I were you, I'd first install to another partition and see if everything works before overwriting your current Vista installation.
     
  3. vwgolfman

    vwgolfman MDL Junior Member

    Nov 5, 2007
    54
    0
    0
    But will there be a cert because the OEM version I own is not the type which is pre-activated against a SLIC'd BIOS?

    Also I haven't activated my OEM version as yet (I installed without the serial and as yet haven't activated it).
     
  4. re*s.t.a.r.s.*2

    re*s.t.a.r.s.*2 MDL Junior Member

    Apr 28, 2007
    89
    0
    0
    Yes fellow your serial will activate and it will be legal....;)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. vwgolfman

    vwgolfman MDL Junior Member

    Nov 5, 2007
    54
    0
    0
    Is the RTM Vista DVD identical to the OEM Vista DVD then?

    Are we just paying for the license/serial ?
     
  6. jroc

    jroc MDL Member

    Aug 28, 2007
    117
    0
    10
  7. vwgolfman

    vwgolfman MDL Junior Member

    Nov 5, 2007
    54
    0
    0
    #7 vwgolfman, Feb 6, 2008
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2008
    (OP)
    Thanks for the info jroc and others :)

    I know the difference between OEM and Retail :)

    What I want to know is whether an OEM Vista DVD is the same as an RTM Vista DVD?
    Is it the same thing just named slightly different?

    Something else......
    When I right-click My Computer and select Properties in the window which appears (System) as the bottom it shows a Product ID. Is this Product ID generated from the DVD itself? i.e. If I use the downloaded RTM DVD won't it have a different Product ID to the OEM DVD I purchased?
    Will this cause a problem?
     
  8. jroc

    jroc MDL Member

    Aug 28, 2007
    117
    0
    10
    #8 jroc, Feb 6, 2008
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2008
    no, your product ID is solely computed in conjuction your KEY..the only differance one see's in the product ID is the words 'OEM' if you used a OEM key..retail keys and VOL keys..show all numbers.....the Vista DVD contains OEM-RTM-RETAIL..its the key that determines the type...unlike XP in which the PID determined what got installed...you couldn't install a Retail XP PID CD with a OEM KEY and you couldn't install VOL PID with a Retail PID Key....each CD contained a PID and the Key had to match.
     
  9. vwgolfman

    vwgolfman MDL Junior Member

    Nov 5, 2007
    54
    0
    0
    Thank you jroc.

    This confuses matters a little as my install is showing a Product ID in the "System" window but I have never activated or typed in the serial.
    However it is not showing "OEM" in the Product ID.

    If I were to activate with the purchased OEM Vista DVD would it show the same Product ID as it would if I activated with the downloaded RTM Vista DVD?

    I am just trying to determine if to Microsoft it would appear that I have exactly the same copy (apart from the obvious difference that I have suddenly gone to SP1).
     
  10. legalright

    legalright MDL Novice

    Jul 29, 2009
    1
    0
    0
    I purchased a legitimate copy of Windows Vista Ultimate 32bit OEM.

    I now have the opportunity of downloading Windows Vista 32bit RTM with SP1 included.

    If I were to format my hard drive and reinstall Vista using the downloaded copy can I use my OEM Installation serial?
    Would it activate using my serial and would it be legal to do this?

    You're not going to find any lawyers on this site. But if you have to ask if it's legal, it's probably not.

    Will the serial work? Only if the correct certificate is installed. You can extract the certificate of your currently activated OEM-Vista install (search the forum for the tool), and then reinstall the certificate after you've installed Vista SP1.

    If I were you, I'd first install to another partition and see if everything works before overwriting your current Vista installation.
     
  11. msr

    msr MDL Senior Member

    Dec 27, 2007
    414
    55
    10
    Thread starter, yep you will, why not download vista sp2 dvd. As long as you have a working serial it is ok.

    Here is the info you need

    File Name:
    en_windows_vista_with_sp2_x86_dvd_342266.iso
    Date Posted (UTC): 5/11/2009 8:49:19 AM
    SHA1: 25AD9A776503E6A583BEC07879DBCC5DFD20CD6E
    ISO/CRC: E2AD10F9

    put the sha1 number in google, and you should find it. Probably find it here as well. Make sure the sha1 number matches the iso you download. You can get sha1 programs to find the sha1 numbers of files from google search.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...