Making OEM DVD - small problem!

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by stonedagain, Dec 31, 2009.

  1. stonedagain

    stonedagain MDL Junior Member

    Sep 30, 2009
    84
    3
    0
    #1 stonedagain, Dec 31, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 29, 2017
    Hi,
    I have made an OEM DVD using an untouched Ultimate x64 iso, & added the $OEM$ folder from here: http://forums.mydigitallife.net/posts/21078026 to the Sources folder, & the AUTOUNATTENDED.xml file to the root directory, using PowerIso. After burning it to disc, I tried to install it, & a menu appeared asking which version I wanted to install. I thought it would have installed Ultimate automatically? The original ei.cfg file is still there:
    [EditionID]
    Ultimate
    [Channel]
    Retail
    [VL]
    0
    As I am new to all this, Have I done something wrong, or is there something else that I should have done?
    Any advice will be much appreciated.
     
  2. defier

    defier MDL Novice

    Jun 1, 2009
    3
    0
    0
    #2 defier, Jan 1, 2010
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2010
    it sounds right what you did.

    i did this yesterday with the same $OEM$ folder from that link but without using the autounattended file. it didnt ask which version to install.
     
  3. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,696
    3,049
    300
    #3 urie, Jan 1, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  4. stonedagain

    stonedagain MDL Junior Member

    Sep 30, 2009
    84
    3
    0
    #4 stonedagain, Jan 1, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
  5. defier

    defier MDL Novice

    Jun 1, 2009
    3
    0
    0
    @urie, i read your other post in the oem sources folder thread. hope vladxed666 has a response to it.

    anyway, it worked for me (activated x64 ultimate) and i was just telling the op that i didnt have to choose which version to install, probably because he used the xml file and i didnt.
     
  6. MaxKts

    MaxKts MDL Novice

    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    0
    0
    Shouldn't the [Channel] be OEM? Maybe that will fix your problem.
     
  7. stonedagain

    stonedagain MDL Junior Member

    Sep 30, 2009
    84
    3
    0
    I tried that, & the menu still appeared. It still installed & activated after selecting Ultimate from the menu, I just can't understand why the menu appears.
     
  8. MaxKts

    MaxKts MDL Novice

    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    0
    0
    It's Microsoft - anything can happen :eek:

    I have seen WinXP and Vista installs run differently on the same machines more than once :confused:

    Possibly the ei.cfg file is corrupted and not recognized during install - have you tried deleting it and creating a new one?
     
  9. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,696
    3,049
    300
    #9 urie, Jan 4, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    The menu is appearing because it is using the Autounattend.xml and version to install is not specified.

    Code:
                <ImageInstall>
                    <OSImage>
                    <InstallFrom>
                    <MetaData wcm:action="add">
                    <Key>/IMAGE/NAME</Key>
                    <Value>Windows 7 ULTIMATE</Value>
                    </MetaData>
                    </InstallFrom>
                    </OSImage>
                </ImageInstall>
    
     
  10. jradomsk

    jradomsk MDL Junior Member

    Oct 22, 2009
    53
    0
    0
    #10 jradomsk, Jan 4, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017

    Since he is using the name tag and autounattend.xml should it not only show as ULTIMATE, and EI.CFG need not be present?
     
  11. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,696
    3,049
    300
    Thats the problem it is not reading the ei.cfg because it is reading the autounattend.xml it can't use both.
     
  12. stonedagain

    stonedagain MDL Junior Member

    Sep 30, 2009
    84
    3
    0
    #12 stonedagain, Jan 4, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    So I need to delete ei.cfg, & edit Autounattend as above?
    Cheers
     
  13. jradomsk

    jradomsk MDL Junior Member

    Oct 22, 2009
    53
    0
    0
    this goes in the windowspe section.. replace what is there marked by
    <ImageInstall> </ImageInstall>

    <ImageInstall>
    <OSImage>
    <InstallFrom>
    <MetaData wcm:action="add">
    <Key>/IMAGE/NAME</Key>
    <Value>Windows 7 ULTIMATE</Value>
    </MetaData>
    </InstallFrom>
    <WillShowUI>OnError</WillShowUI>
    </OSImage>
    </ImageInstall>


    I am not sure if its
    <Value>Windows 7 ULTIMATE</Value>
    or
    <Value>ULTIMATE</Value>

    I have seen conflicting info and I dont use this file..

    please post which works..



    thse cmds tell me thisscript was modifed
    - <OOBE>
    <HideEULAPage>true</HideEULAPage>
    <SkipMachineOOBE>true</SkipMachineOOBE>
    <SkipUserOOBE>true</SkipUserOOBE>
    </OOBE>

    since they are specifically for testing and not allowed by m$ in a deployed system.
     
  14. yngdiego

    yngdiego MDL Member

    Feb 14, 2008
    117
    3
    10
    vLite uses the following snippit, and it works like a charm.


    <InstallFrom>
    - <MetaData wcm:action="add">
    <Key>/IMAGE/NAME</Key>
    <Value>Windows 7 ULTIMATE</Value>
    </MetaData>
    </InstallFrom>