Microsoft Edge

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by SAM-R, Mar 18, 2019.

  1. tripog

    tripog MDL Junior Member

    Sep 27, 2012
    90
    18
    0
    the latest build is still crashing


    Posted from Firefox
     
  2. kaljukass

    kaljukass MDL Guru

    Nov 26, 2012
    2,068
    748
    90
    You know how nice it would be if you always wrote exactly what version you're talking about. But if the latter should mean Canary version 86.0.593.0, then I have not been able to detect any problem there. Everything works. No crashes, no delays.
    However, if this should mean the latest stable version, or version 84.0.522.49, then no problem has been found there either.
    So you should look for problems in your system, they are somewhere there in Your system, most likely it is damaged User Profile.
    In the future, please write down which version or versions you are talking about and give a detailed description of the problem.
    I am currently posting this message here using version of Canary version 86.0.593.0. Really, still cannot find absolutely no problems and moreover, there have not been also with previous.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. tripog

    tripog MDL Junior Member

    Sep 27, 2012
    90
    18
    0
    #2623 tripog, Jul 31, 2020
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2020
    it is canary and there is more than one user complaining of it crashing, edge has been f**ked up for a few builds now. just because your use case doesn't make things crash doesn't mean the build is fine. i know this thread is a microsoft circle jerk but yall parroted the same thing in the beginning when all you said nothing was wrong with video playback and eventually Microsoft figured out how to copy chrome without breaking it.
    remember this is why they are not relying on you to test this.
     
  4. nosirrahx

    nosirrahx MDL Senior Member

    Nov 7, 2017
    427
    213
    10
    #2624 nosirrahx, Jul 31, 2020
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2020
    On the latest build edge is crashing when I set the default search to google and type literally anything in the address bar.

    I am checking a few other PCs to see if this seems to be isolated to any specific windows build.

    EDIT:

    3/3 seems to be a real bug.
     
  5. tripog

    tripog MDL Junior Member

    Sep 27, 2012
    90
    18
    0
    mine crashes without google being set and almost anytime I open a new tab or type in a different url
     
  6. C-Link

    C-Link MDL Novice

    Jun 1, 2010
    19
    4
    0
    #2626 C-Link, Jul 31, 2020
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2020
    I'm experiencing crashes as well when typing anything in the address bar. I'm at Canary v86.0.593.0, and the issue has been repeatable on my end.

    Edit:
    I can induce the crash if my search engine is on Google. Configuring the default search engine to other providers such as DuckDuckGo and Bing has not caused me crashes so far from my limited testing.
     
  7. nosirrahx

    nosirrahx MDL Senior Member

    Nov 7, 2017
    427
    213
    10
    I'm on stable build.
     
  8. tistou77

    tistou77 MDL Expert

    Mar 22, 2008
    1,605
    548
    60
    No problem with the last Canary and 3 PCs ;)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. Leopeva64

    Leopeva64 MDL Expert

    Oct 4, 2016
    1,084
    913
    60
  10. nosirrahx

    nosirrahx MDL Senior Member

    Nov 7, 2017
    427
    213
    10
    Seems to have been a server side glitch because all 3 PCs where Edge was crashing for searches with google set as the provider are all functioning normally now.
     
  11. WildByDesign

    WildByDesign MDL Addicted

    Sep 8, 2013
    729
    386
    30
    Yes, seems to have been server-side and resolved for me this morning now as well. That was rough considering it affected Stable channel release as well. My Stable channel Edge crashed yesterday something like 30-40 times while trying to diagnose the issue locally. But I could not get any details to diagnose the cause and therefore ending up being a server-side issue makes sense now.

    I could only type 1 or 2 characters into the address bar and it would crash the entire msedge.exe and all sub-processes. That is not a good look for Stable channel release. Hopefully Microsoft will give some transparency on what caused that because it was quite wide-spread. Well, for anyone that changes their default search engine, I suppose.

    If anybody spots any details regarding the server-side cause of the entire browser crash, whether it's a blog post or even little posts on Twitter from Edge developers, please share here because that was certainly interesting.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. verndog

    verndog MDL Junior Member

    May 3, 2010
    65
    7
    0
    I have never had Edge crash, and I always use stable build (Version 84.0.522.49).
     
  13. ruuu7

    ruuu7 MDL Member

    Mar 7, 2015
    172
    38
    10
    Yeah, same here. Gonna wait till next build.
     
  14. nosirrahx

    nosirrahx MDL Senior Member

    Nov 7, 2017
    427
    213
    10
    Me neither, was surprised to see it and even confirmed on multiple PCs just to make sure it wasn't a problem with just 1 specific computer.

    I don't think it was even an hour between the time I confirmed the bug and confirmed that it was fixed.
     
  15. venejo

    venejo MDL Member

    Oct 2, 2011
    164
    77
    10
    84.0.522.50 stable released
     
  16. tripog

    tripog MDL Junior Member

    Sep 27, 2012
    90
    18
    0
    #2639 tripog, Jul 31, 2020
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2020
    looks like the crashing was fixed in the latest build, lets hope they don't break it again with the next update like last time, my crash was not the same as the google search crash. I thought we was no longer spamming this thread with posts about every time edge gets an update?
     
  17. ruuu7

    ruuu7 MDL Member

    Mar 7, 2015
    172
    38
    10
    Well, thats development. You can always just use the stable version. ;]