Modded Intel Raid SSD-Driver into Thinkpad

Discussion in 'BIOS Mods' started by ZPW701, Aug 22, 2014.

1. ZPW701

ZPW701 MDL Novice

Aug 22, 2014
    Hi all,
    I've a big problem of integrating a changed Intel RAID-OROM with the possibility of the TRIM-Command into my Lenovo Thinkpad W701.

At Fernando's Win-Raid-Forum where I also got the tip to look inside this forum, I found the fantastic news, that a small change of the Option ROMs for SATA RAID Controllers may allow the TRIM-command also with SSDs inside a RAID0.
    At this side, there are also some changed OROMS of the RAID Controllers.

My big problem: I'm only a total newbie in modding the BIOS and don't find useful informations, that helps me intergrating the modified Intel OROM into my BIOS.

What I did and what seems to be a solution into the right direction, but didn't really work at the moment:

1.) phcomp /D $01C0000.FL1 --> Uncompress BIOS-File
    2.) phnxsplit.exe $01C0000.FLh --> Extract modules
    With this steps, I got a OPROM06.rom, which seems to has the required original OROM Version 9.5.0.1037 of the SATA-RAID-Controller.
    phcomp.exe and phnxsplit.exe come from endeer bios-tools

But the extracted OPROM06.rom has a size of 79,872 Bytes, whereas the modified OROM, (same Version 9.5.0.1037) from Fernando’s Win-RAID Forum has a size of 84,992 Bytes and differs at a lot of Bytes.
    So the assumption is, that the extracted OROM from my BIOS still is in a compressed form.

So I did the following steps to put the modified OROM from Fernando's forum into the same Format of the Phoenix-BIOS:

3.) Create a new file OPROM.SCR (modified from LOGO.SCR, which was a part of the BIOS-Update)
    BANKS -N:1 -S:256 # Flash accessed as one(1), 8192 KByte (64Mb) bank.
    COMPRESS LZINT # Use LZINT when compressing modules
    BOOTBLOCK -S:128 # (J) PSI style, no BB.BIN needed
    OPROM OPROM06n.rom
    PSI -PLACE:"BOOTBLOCK" -ALIGN:TOP -COMPRESS:NO ceimain.bin