Modern UI Start Screen Desktop (exe) Shortcut

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by Mr GRiM, Oct 17, 2012.

  1. Mr GRiM

    Mr GRiM MDL Junior Member

    Sep 4, 2012
    84
    119
    0
    #1 Mr GRiM, Oct 17, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2012

    Attached Files:

  2. moderate

    moderate MDL Guru

    Aug 31, 2009
    2,636
    2,143
    90
    I did same thing as you. :))
    ...also I've created Immersive Control Panel Shortcut and Windows Shutdown Shortcut.
     
  3. Mr GRiM

    Mr GRiM MDL Junior Member

    Sep 4, 2012
    84
    119
    0
    So nobody found this useful then :(
     
  4. Mr Theme

    Mr Theme MDL Novice

    Sep 13, 2012
    41
    12
    0

    Your job is always useful, but reality is that day by day less people like Windows 8, the lovers one do not need that tool, the haters one neither....
    If you like it you use it...
    If you do not like it you skip it....

    Appreciated your work VC Master nice going
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. roirraW "edor" ehT

    roirraW "edor" ehT MDL Addicted

    Sep 1, 2007
    616
    213
    30
    What are you talking about??? I love Windows 8 and I find Tihiy's and Mr GRiM's work useful!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. roirraW "edor" ehT

    roirraW "edor" ehT MDL Addicted

    Sep 1, 2007
    616
    213
    30
    I put it on my taskbar just to the right of the Start Button! :D
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. s1ave77

    s1ave77 MDL Guide Dog/Dev

    Aug 15, 2012
    14,976
    19,922
    340
    Guess you missed the point in this. It´s not only about booting direct to desktop. What info in start post is missing, is that if you use StartIsBack by Tihiy, left windows button is opening the Win 7 Startmenu (implemented through tool by Tihiy) and the right one is opening the new "Metro" start screen.
    Unfortunately a lot of keyboards, as mine too, do not have that right win button. So we have to do this otherwise :D.
    Smart solution to do that with autohotkey btw :thumbsup:.
    Regards
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. lil-fella-uk

    lil-fella-uk MDL Novice

    Aug 7, 2012
    6
    3
    0
    love it.. many thanks..
     
  9. duwdu

    duwdu MDL Novice

    Oct 6, 2010
    5
    0
    0
    Thank you for this nifty add-on, Mr GRiM, it will be useful for me, as I use StartIsBack with Win8 on my small-screen laptop that of course lacks a Windows key to the right on its keyboard.

    P34c3
     
  10. Dos_Probie

    Dos_Probie MDL Senior Member

    Jul 18, 2012
    250
    84
    10
    Thanks MrGRiM for the Modern UI, I am also using SkipMetro and it toggles to metro from taskbar just fine!
    I have noticed tho when I enable Ex7 by Tihiy that Modern UI will no longer toggle Metro but only
    toggle to the Start Menu..Do you have any ideas how to keep both to make this work?
     
  11. Dos_Probie

    Dos_Probie MDL Senior Member

    Jul 18, 2012
    250
    84
    10
    K, dumped the Ex7 and using Stardocks Start8 with no conflicts now! :p
     
  12. bobert01

    bobert01 MDL Novice

    Jun 13, 2012
    14
    1
    0
    Hi guys.

    i have a few questions here i hope im in the right place.

    Basically ive just made a machine here its on triple boot 3 oses working okish..

    was thinking about putting 8 on here instead of 7HP-SP1-x64.

    But

    I do not want Metro UI and i want the start menu basically i would like windows 8 but for it to function exactly like win 7 i dont want the metro and dont want windows start menu gone.

    any help ? should i just stay with 7HP with SP1 and x64bit ?
     
  13. Mr GRiM

    Mr GRiM MDL Junior Member

    Sep 4, 2012
    84
    119
    0
    If you don't want metro and are not interested in a touch screen then stay with Windows 7, I know I will be, the only time I will consider buying Windows 8 is if I decide to get a Tablet, there is no other reason to use Windows 8 over 7, some may argue that point but honestly most of the features have been removed or downgraded from Windows 7, most of the so called improvements on Windows 8 are no more useful or productive, they made a few changes to the desktop like Task Manager and some may say it looks better but it does not let you do anything different then the previous one, it just adds lots more silly information that you didn't need to know about.

    Then there is the new "improved" File Copy and delete, OK yes it may work better in some cases but honestly when do you ever want to pause different files while making a copy, seems pointless to me, then there is the graphs again like all the new graphs in File Manager, (someone in the dev department really likes pretty graphs) that serve no purpose and are just there to make it look pretty, (who cares) but there is one major flaw I have seen with this new "improved" copy, when you have a duplicate file name (not necessarily the same file) in the destination you want to copy to it does not give you the option to copy the file to that destination but keep both, you have to either replace the file with the same name or cancel the operation, now personally I have had to do this many times and the new file that you added is just given a (2) on the end of the name, so I really don't see how the new one could be called improved when they have removed the basic functionality of it and replaced it with silly options to pause and pretty graphs.

    Anyway I could go on and on about whats not to like about Windows 8 but at the end of the day everyone should make up their own mind, if you have not played with it yet then go to your local PC store and get them to show you the features and let you have a play, ask them why you should want to upgrade, I am sure they must know the answers, or if your felling game then get the 90 day trial and put it on a Virtual Machine or a second Partition, I am sure you will find plenty of useful information about that on these forums.
     
  14. tgdoug

    tgdoug MDL Novice

    Apr 24, 2013
    1
    0
    0
    #15 tgdoug, Apr 25, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2013
    Initially would not work with Classic Shell. One must switch from basic setting to all settings then left click on the Controls tab and then change "Windows Key opens" to "Windows Start Screen".

    Thanks J
     
  15. pauldamo

    pauldamo MDL Senior Member

    Aug 3, 2009
    452
    41
    10
    i found another quick way to get to the start screen as well,i move my cursor to the bottom left of the screen and a small start screen pops up,i click it and I'm at the start screen. :biggrin: