Moving from Vista x64 (MSI OEM) to Win7 Ultimate, do I need to reflash my BIOS?

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Enc3f4L0, Nov 23, 2009.

  1. Enc3f4L0

    Enc3f4L0 MDL Novice

    Jul 12, 2009
    7
    0
    0
    #1 Enc3f4L0, Nov 23, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    Hey guys.

    I have been running Vista x64 Ultimate successfully here for a while but I'm planning to move on to Windows 7 soon.

    To get Vista activated I had to flash my AMI Bios to include an MSI Slic.

    MOBO: MSI P35 Platinum Combo

    *Check this thread for reference of when and how I did this:*
    http://forums.mydigitallife.net/threads/4071?page=58

    From what I've been reading in the related threads here on the forum I'm aware there are no available MSI OEM keys for Win7 Ultimate.

    Could I just use any of the other 'Ultimate' OEM keys (Dell, Acer...) as long as my slic and certificate matches, or will I need to make changes to the Bios to get it to work?

    Here's the key that I've been using with Vista x64.
    89587-OEM-7332132-00031
    Don't remember if this was even an MSI key or already from another brand.

    Thanks and sorry for the newbie issue.
     
  2. gentoo

    gentoo MDL Senior Member

    Oct 6, 2009
    394
    8
    10
    You can use other keys but you will need SLIC 2.1 table in your Bios. Vista used SLIC 2.0. Use SLIC Dump tool which can be found on the site and see which SLIC table you have. If it is 2.0 then you need to see if there is a Bios Mod. If not then you can make a request.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. dzadzev

    dzadzev MDL Junior Member

    Aug 3, 2009
    59
    2
    0
    Your bios is with SLIC 2.0, I just check that ... you will need new bios mod with SLIC 2.1 so you can activate Windows 7 ...
     
  4. NoJuan999

    NoJuan999 Experienced SLIC Tool Operator

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,919
    1,930
    300
    #4 NoJuan999, Nov 23, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2009
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Enc3f4L0

    Enc3f4L0 MDL Novice

    Jul 12, 2009
    7
    0
    0
    Wow, thank you all for the quick replies.

    Yeap, I can confirm it is Version 2.0.

    I'll grab the files and flash when I'm ready to move on to Win7. Gotta write down a few of my OC/voltage values before wiping'em out.

    Just out of curiosity. If I do flash the Bios to Slic 2.1 right now will it mess up my current activation on Vista? Does changing Slic versions require a new certificate or would my current one do?
     
  6. dzadzev

    dzadzev MDL Junior Member

    Aug 3, 2009
    59
    2
    0
    #6 dzadzev, Nov 23, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 29, 2017
    You can use that modded bios posted by NoJuan999 (7338v1.1)
    Or this that I just modded for you, that is 7338v1.2 bios version ...
     
  7. NoJuan999

    NoJuan999 Experienced SLIC Tool Operator

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,919
    1,930
    300
    #7 NoJuan999, Nov 23, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2009
    Your current Certificate will work if it matches the SLIC 2.1 in BIOS.
    But I would advise that you install the certificate included with the modified SLIC 2.1 BIOS just to be sure.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. NoJuan999

    NoJuan999 Experienced SLIC Tool Operator

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,919
    1,930
    300
    #8 NoJuan999, Nov 23, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 29, 2017
    I would advise that you use the v1.1 BIOS because a few people have reported problems with the newer v1.2 BIOS.
    But the choice is certainly yours.

    As stated here:
    http://forums.mydigitallife.net/posts/186214930
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. Rosco

    Rosco MDL Addicted

    Oct 29, 2007
    633
    45
    30
    As far as I know all the certificates around work for both Vista and 7 and are originally Vista certificates.

    Have used old certs for Dell, HP and my own desktop boards - all worked.

    The Vista key will not work with 7 and vice versa but these are all listed on these forums.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. moosh101

    moosh101 MDL Junior Member

    Jul 13, 2009
    69
    3
    0
    SLIC 2.1 and Vista

    Hi,

    SLIC 2.1 is backward compatible with Windows Vista, though updating your BIOS may deactivate your current Vista activation. If it does, simply reinstall the Vista MS Certificate again and all should be well.

    I hope this helps,

    Shane.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. Enc3f4L0

    Enc3f4L0 MDL Novice

    Jul 12, 2009
    7
    0
    0
    Reporting back to this thread since I made the move to Windows 7 x64.

    Thank you once again to all those who helped out.

    @NoJuan999: I used the v1.1 BIOS with the MSI Slic you posted.
    FLashed successfully and I'm activated.

    I have been having a great deal of problems getting my firewire ports to work correctly with my audio interface (I work with recording a lot).
    I'm wondering if the BIOS version has anything to do with it since I wasn't having any of these issues under Vista x64 while using the v1.2 Bios.

    I've tried just about everything to troubleshoot this problem. Used all sorts of drivers and firmware for my hardware, bought new Firewire cards, reinstalled Windows 2 times, you name it...

    Can you elaborate a bit on the 'problems' you mentioned some users experienced using v1.2 bios? A bios update is about the only thing I didn't trying to solve this so I'm seriously considering it.
     
  12. Enc3f4L0

    Enc3f4L0 MDL Novice

    Jul 12, 2009
    7
    0
    0
    Anyone else lurking around know of these issues mentioned with my specific BIOS on version 1.2?