MSI Master2 FAR7 video card incompatibility

Discussion in 'BIOS Mods' started by Devilman1, Sep 29, 2010.

1. Devilman1

Devilman1 MDL Novice

Sep 13, 2010
    I have a MSI Master2 FAR7 Motherboard with 2 Opteron 275 processor (OST275FAA6CB) and 4 Gbyte RAm PC2700 ECC Registered, the computer worked without any problem with my old ATI x1950Pro, but it started to do artifact so I decided to change it with a Powercolor HD3850 and then with an HIS Radeon 4670 both AGP.
    The system boot, but without video and the monitor shows no video input.
    The AGP slot works becuase I borrow an old Matrox G450 and I can see the video.
    Surfing the Net I read that is a BIOS issue, probably an ACPI problem,
    I contacted the MSi but they answered that the board is pretty old and that they no have interest in updating the BIOS.

Here is the BIOS link: download1.msi.com/files/downloads/bos_exe/Server_W9617VMS120.zipthe version is 1.20 and is Award.

Thanks

2. Devilman1

Devilman1 MDL Novice

Sep 13, 2010
    I notice that the MSI K8T Neo2-F is very similar to my board except that it has only one CPU and that it use a realtek chip for networking instead of Broadcom and my is extensive ACPI compliant while the other only ACPI.

Could it help?

TIA

3. Devilman1

Devilman1 MDL Novice

Sep 13, 2010
    I was just wondering if could be possible that this BIOS has a sort of whitelisti for all device included graphic adapters or if agp pro slot need to know the card ID to work.

Thanks

4. Devilman1

Devilman1 MDL Novice

Sep 13, 2010
    I compared the bios version 1 and 1.12, where they assure to having improved the VGA compatibility and I noticed that ACPITBL.BIN is the same like:

B57PXE.ROM
    boot_blk.bin
    CPUCODE.BIN
    6420r210.ROM

while different are:

awardext.rom
    awardeyt.rom
    decomp_blk.bin
    _EN_CODE.BIN

if I compare version 1.12 with version 1.20 only:

6420r210.ROM
    B57PXE.ROM
    CPUCODE.BIN

are the same while:

ACPITBL.BIN
    boot_blk.bin