MSMG Toolkit to Convert Windows 8.1 RTM to Windows 8.1 RTM GA ISO Image

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by MSMG, Oct 23, 2013.

  1. MSMG

    MSMG MDL Developer

    Jul 15, 2011
    2,263
    5,403
    90
    #1 MSMG, Oct 23, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  2. French frog

    French frog MDL Junior Member

    Sep 10, 2012
    98
    80
    0
    #2 French frog, Oct 23, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2013
    Hi
    Thank you, work fine.
    just rename en_iso in fr_iso for me, french frog :D
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. abbodi1406

    abbodi1406 MDL KB0000001

    Feb 19, 2011
    8,100
    27,026
    270
    #3 abbodi1406, Oct 23, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2013
    KB2889543 is outdated, best is to use the newer one KB2886439

    KB2883200 will not be replaced :cool:
     
  4. uffbros

    uffbros MDL Senior Member

    Aug 9, 2010
    336
    26
    10
    #4 uffbros, Oct 23, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2013
    Doesn't work for me. I run the script and the windows folder named Documents opens and that is it??? Maybe step 3?? What index number would I want? How do I do this step? Other than that I did as instructed.
     
  5. uffbros

    uffbros MDL Senior Member

    Aug 9, 2010
    336
    26
    10
    Figured it out. I named the initial folder W8 Folder instead of W8 as the path you list is C:\W8 Folder. I'm good now. Thanks.
     
  6. uffbros

    uffbros MDL Senior Member

    Aug 9, 2010
    336
    26
    10
    Ok I can see where I won't be able to use this. The new file size is 4.46GB. I install using USB and GPT UEFI Boot so the USB has to be formatted Fat32. Fat 32 only goes to 4GB in size so I'm licked.
     
  7. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    6,682
    10,139
    210
    Just out of curiosity, why this part?:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    6,682
    10,139
    210
    As long as the largest file is under 4gb, it will fit on a fat32 drive.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. uffbros

    uffbros MDL Senior Member

    Aug 9, 2010
    336
    26
    10
    The sources folder is 4.2GB...Most people with 8.1 would want the GPT UEFI install...Damn
     
  10. Mr Jinje

    Mr Jinje MDL Expert

    Aug 19, 2009
    1,773
    1,088
    60
    #10 Mr Jinje, Oct 23, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Does this script not perform the resetbase against the mounted .wim ? Is that why the size is so much larger.

    Code:
    dism /Image:c:\w8\mount\install  /cleanup-image /startcomponentcleanup /resetbase
    #
     
  11. eric33

    eric33 MDL Junior Member

    Nov 21, 2012
    80
    13
    0
    after Convert Windows 8.1 RTM to Windows 8.1 RTM GA ISO Image, can i make a Windows 8.1 WMC ?
     
  12. eric33

    eric33 MDL Junior Member

    Nov 21, 2012
    80
    13
    0
    #12 eric33, Oct 24, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    where in the script can i put dism /Image:c:\w8\mount\install /cleanup-image /startcomponentcleanup /resetbase
    #
     
  13. Mr Jinje

    Mr Jinje MDL Expert

    Aug 19, 2009
    1,773
    1,088
    60
    #13 Mr Jinje, Oct 24, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2013
    Not sure, the workflow is hinkey with all the batch 'functions', so MSMG would be the one to ask.

    For know I would test my theory by mounting the file (after using MSMG's script), run the resetbase, commit wim, then export the image into a new .wim container. (pick any name you want)

    Or maybe it cannot be done until after installation.
     
  14. CEW

    CEW MDL Member

    Jan 21, 2011
    204
    109
    10
    Unless I misremember, I think I tried that. As I recall, it refused because there were pending updates.
     
  15. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    6,682
    10,139
    210
    Folder size doesn't matter, filesize does.
    As long as the install.wim is under 4GB it will fit.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    6,682
    10,139
    210
    You cannot because most of the updates trigger pending status.
    What you can do, and what I plan on starting to do come this next patch date is make a setupcomplete.cmd with the resetbase line
    Make folder structure: $oem$\$$\Setup\Scripts\
    Then inside the scripts\ folder, make setupcomplete.cmd with the following:
    dism /online /cleanup-image /startcomponentcleanup /resetbase

    Save the file and copy the entire $oem$ folder to the \sources\ folder of the iso.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. Mr Jinje

    Mr Jinje MDL Expert

    Aug 19, 2009
    1,773
    1,088
    60
    #17 Mr Jinje, Oct 24, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2013
    In light of that, then the next steps after the batch would be to install the iso, sysprep, resetbase (or vice versa) and recapture the new GA wim with fully integrated updates. Then you might get an under 4GB install.wim.
     
  18. warlordll

    warlordll MDL Member

    Apr 25, 2011
    231
    23
    10
    any size fits on fat32 if you use the zotac usb maker
     
  19. ace2

    ace2 Guest

    Update Windows 8.1 Enterprise Evaluation with:
    KB2894179
    KB2883200
    KB2894029
    Using MGMG Toolkit, Updated fine, Thanks ace2 .;)
     
  20. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    6,682
    10,139
    210
    Already done that. A better solution would be to figure out a way to extract the install.esd files though...
    Even if you delete the administrator folder before capturing, it still generates a decent amount unique data.
    We really need to get an install.esd extraction method down solid.
    I have the prowmc install.esd files, but I don't have Pro, Core, Pro N, Core N, or Core SL en-us versions
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...