My Windows 10 laptop sits on a shelf...

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by windowsfan3829, Mar 19, 2019.

1. windowsfan3829

windowsfan3829 MDL Novice

Mar 17, 2019
    ...probably will not be used again. I gave up trying to make it useful and I'm sticking with XP, Linux Mint Mate, and Windows 7. Anyone else sidelined their Windows 10 box(s)?

2. pf100

pf100 Duct Tape Coder

Oct 22, 2010
    I studied up and made Windows 10 my bitch. You can do it too but it requires patience and diligence. Once you get it working like you want it it's actually a fairly nice OS. Be prepared to spend a lot of time on it. The upside is, Windows 10 is going to be around a long time so if you learn it it will be to your advantage. Xp is dead, Windows 7 is almost dead. That leaves Linux and Windows 10 as your main choices. Learning Windows 10 is no harder than learning Linux. I dual boot Linux Mint and Windows 10.
    Having said all that, if Windows went away tomorrow, I'd be okay with Linux.

3. ohenry

ohenry MDL Senior Member

Aug 10, 2009
    I agree with the above. I loved Windows 7, stuck with it over Windows 8, and even 8.1 (which WAS better than 8). But Windows 7 is old, very old now, it is difficult to get it working on modern hardware.

And I could live with Linux alone, if Windows 10 went away.

4. oilernut

oilernut MDL Senior Member

Jul 8, 2007
    What couldn't you do with your Windows 10 laptop that you wanted to do?

5. volkov956

volkov956 MDL Novice

May 19, 2013
    I put windows 7 on my alienware 17 r3 made my life good yes not officially supported just get used to manually locating drivers and in some cases. playing with INF files

6. redxii

redxii MDL Junior Member

Aug 7, 2016
    #6 redxii, Mar 19, 2019
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2019
    What he said.