NAS Questions - Tandberg D400

Discussion in 'PC Hardware' started by itsmemario1, May 16, 2017.

  1. itsmemario1

    itsmemario1 MDL Senior Member

    Sep 10, 2012
    286
    25
    10
  2. Joe C

    Joe C MDL Guru

    Jan 12, 2012
    2,561
    1,400
    90
    I think your going to need a couple (at least one) hard drives to use that NAS. You can go to the manufactures support web site and with the model number, download the manual and read it thoroughly to understand
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. itsmemario1

    itsmemario1 MDL Senior Member

    Sep 10, 2012
    286
    25
    10
    Oh my, I read the manual, but it seems like I missed the most important phrase in it.

    "the operating system cannot be updated until a RAID configuration has been created"
    meh, whatever the reason is...thank you :)

    Your idea of having a working HDD inside, with he update on it, sounded good as well,
    but I guess I got to put 2 harddisks in there to make it happen, hehe.

    Ill be back. :)
     
  4. itsmemario1

    itsmemario1 MDL Senior Member

    Sep 10, 2012
    286
    25
    10
    I unearthed this device from the attic today. Its still missing the fitting "hot swap trays", so I cant add a HDD.

    I even phoned tandberg and asked if they sell spare "hot swap / tray slots" and they said no.

    I cant find any info about, if other "trays" will fit into this NAS, nor any info about part numbers or anything similar.

    Dimensions of a fitting tray would be roughly 12x18 cm...anyone has any idea if other trays by other manufacturers might fit ?
    Or maybe someone might even own one of these devices ?

    biznas d400.jpg
     
  5. Joe C

    Joe C MDL Guru

    Jan 12, 2012
    2,561
    1,400
    90
    try looking on ebay for previously owned tray's
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. itsmemario1

    itsmemario1 MDL Senior Member

    Sep 10, 2012
    286
    25
    10
    I tried that already. Cant find anything other then the NAS itself or other versions. No trays.

    Hence I asked if maybe other manufacturers trays might fit.
     
  7. Joe C

    Joe C MDL Guru

    Jan 12, 2012
    2,561
    1,400
    90
    Do you live in Lansing, Mi. and did you have a break up with a gal from there?
    A couple years ago I bought some 500gb drives from a gal on craigs list, I got the drive's in drive tray's. When I asked her about the drive tray's she said she broke up with her bf and she was getting rid of his stuff. I accepted the drives in their tray's but I have no idea where these tray's came from....lol
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. itsmemario1

    itsmemario1 MDL Senior Member

    Sep 10, 2012
    286
    25
    10
    hahaha :'D

    I havent laughed at a post on MDL for a long time, nice one !

    Sadly its not me who broke up with a gal that took drives. *lol*

    So YOU did have spare bays for a Tandberg BizNas D400 all the time ? ;D
     
  9. Joe C

    Joe C MDL Guru

    Jan 12, 2012
    2,561
    1,400
    90
    I have no idea where these tray's are from, there's no particular makings or namebrand
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. MS_User

    MS_User MDL Guru

    Nov 30, 2014
    2,770
    452
    90
    thats a discontinue model if u cant find one on flea bay or amazon your s**t out of luck...contact the vendor they mite have a third party that mite sell u the HDD tray....good luck

    Toll-free Sales: (800) 392-2983
     
  11. itsmemario1

    itsmemario1 MDL Senior Member

    Sep 10, 2012
    286
    25
    10
    The 1st thing I did was getting in contact with Tandberg. They do not have these and if, they wouldnt sell em separately, support said.
     
  12. Joe C

    Joe C MDL Guru

    Jan 12, 2012
    2,561
    1,400
    90
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. Joe C

    Joe C MDL Guru

    Jan 12, 2012
    2,561
    1,400
    90
    Looked out in my shed and I still do have 4 of those hdd tray's. All it shows on then is "Made in China" but if you like, I can take a pic for you to see if you think you can use them
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. Sajjo

    Sajjo MDL Senior Member

    Feb 6, 2018
    489
    572
    10
  15. Joe C

    Joe C MDL Guru

    Jan 12, 2012
    2,561
    1,400
    90
    I'll show you a pic later on today but these measure 11.5cm x 16.5cm. No lights or clips
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. Joe C

    Joe C MDL Guru

    Jan 12, 2012
    2,561
    1,400
    90
    There are three tray's in one pic here, the length and width along with the side view. It's in U.S. measurement because I do not have a CM ruler
    hdd trays.jpg
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. Joe C

    Joe C MDL Guru

    Jan 12, 2012
    2,561
    1,400
    90
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...