Need help creating bootable DOS dvd

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by alextheg, Sep 17, 2009.

  1. alextheg

    alextheg Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Jan 7, 2009
    1,776
    806
    60
    I am trying to create a bootable DOS dvd so as to flash my bios using Afudos. These are the steps ive taken :
    1. Open PowerISO.
    2. Open a Bootable ISO image (must be .ISO file not an actual CD or DVD, Windows 7 RTM ISO will work fine) with PowerISO
    3. Click on Action ... Boot Menu and choose save boot information (save it somewhere on your HD).
    4. Close that ISO image (use file close).
    5. With NO image open in PowerISO click on Action ... Boot and choose ad Add Boot Information (It will be a .bif file).
    6. Browse to the file you just saved and open it to add the boot info to the new image.
    7. Added bios.rom file and Afudos.exe.
    8. Burnt and tested disc.
    9. Entered bios and set cd/dvd rom to 1st boot priority.

    However the disc boots to a black screen with flashing cursor, hangs for a long time and then just boots to win 7. If anyone can help me out i would be seriously gratefull as i feel like im going round in circles. :confused:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,707
    3,064
    300
  3. alextheg

    alextheg Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Jan 7, 2009
    1,776
    806
    60
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. alextheg

    alextheg Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Jan 7, 2009
    1,776
    806
    60
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Hazar

    Hazar MDL Guru

    Jul 29, 2009
    2,523
    452
    90
    I agree. Whilst sometimes google can be useful, this is a forum almost exclusively dedicated to BIOS modding, so its perfectly acceptable to post about it here without fear of being made fun of by the moderators (besides he didn't even use it properly, to use lmgtfy you need to type in a search, and it will give you a link to give to the person where it googles it for them :D)
     
  6. NoJuan999

    NoJuan999 Experienced SLIC Tool Operator

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,919
    1,930
    300
    #8 NoJuan999, Sep 17, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. FaiKee

    FaiKee Misinformation spreader

    Jul 24, 2009
    4,305
    5,797
    150
    make a hiren's bootable CD, it's useful for you anyway.
     
  8. 911medic

    911medic MDL Guru

    Aug 13, 2008
    5,778
    490
    180
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. alextheg

    alextheg Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Jan 7, 2009
    1,776
    806
    60
    lol, thanks Hazar. Couldnt have put it better myself .
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. Hazar

    Hazar MDL Guru

    Jul 29, 2009
    2,523
    452
    90
    Well also I know nothing about this but to make a DOS (floppy) you can right click it and select format, and tick DOS bootable floppy :D
     
  11. alextheg

    alextheg Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Jan 7, 2009
    1,776
    806
    60
    :)Thanks to you all for your input. I will try this again after work. I will get my modded bios up and running if its the last thing i do ! BTW, im only using dvd because i used all my cd+r trying to get this bootdisk working ?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. alextheg

    alextheg Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Jan 7, 2009
    1,776
    806
    60
    No floppy drive unfortunately Hazar. If i did i wouldnt even need a boot disk. Just put amibios.rom file on a disk, hold ctrl+home at boot and hey presto one flashed bios.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. alextheg

    alextheg Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Jan 7, 2009
    1,776
    806
    60
    No floppy drive unfortunately Hazar. If i did i wouldnt even need a boot disk. Just put amibios.rom file on a disk, hold ctrl+home at boot and hey presto one flashed bios.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. Mr Jinje

    Mr Jinje MDL Expert

    Aug 19, 2009
    1,773
    1,080
    60
  15. luky

    luky MDL Addicted

    Dec 21, 2008
    721
    31
    30
    What if the bios of more than one diskette ??? :confused:
     
  16. alextheg

    alextheg Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Jan 7, 2009
    1,776
    806
    60
    No floppy drive unfortunately Hazar. If i did i wouldnt even need a boot disk. Just put amibios.rom file on a disk, hold ctrl+home at boot and hey presto one flashed bios.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...