New activation scheme in Windows 10 RTM (10240) - Product keys aren't required

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by cbutters, Jul 16, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cbutters

    cbutters MDL Junior Member

    Oct 17, 2007
    60
    16
    0
    #1 cbutters, Jul 16, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2015
  2. phazedelta1

    phazedelta1 MDL Junior Member

    Aug 29, 2013
    78
    14
    0
    What about those of us that are constantly changing our hardware? How is that going to affect us?
     
  3. EFA11

    EFA11 Avatar Guru

    Oct 7, 2010
    8,796
    6,743
    270
    cool beans, nice shot of MDL logo in the video :D
     
  4. cbutters

    cbutters MDL Junior Member

    Oct 17, 2007
    60
    16
    0
    The video just serves as proof, the real story here is that microsoft will activate computers without a product key and without a microsoft account!
     
  5. EFA11

    EFA11 Avatar Guru

    Oct 7, 2010
    8,796
    6,743
    270
    Hey Angry Italian, that is an upgrade, not a clean install. Clean installs have been the biggest focus of concern. :biggrin:
     
  6. bromanbro

    bromanbro MDL Member

    Sep 30, 2012
    218
    29
    10
    Means you'll have to Upgrade from 7/8.1 to "register" that system.


    Also means that after first year you're SOL

    Only applies to people with 7/8 retail keys, obviously. People with OEM keys can only activate on one system to begin with.


    Yes, if you do massive hardware changes, you'll be SOL on that system if its HWID changes.
     
  7. Pasta88

    Pasta88 MDL Addicted

    Jun 17, 2009
    872
    13
    30
    sol ????........................
     
  8. spidernz

    spidernz MDL Senior Member

    May 20, 2011
    272
    67
    10
    This must be for if you do it free.
    I doubt if you got a retail purchased OS that you'd be tied to the one system without being able to do massive hardware changes.

    There'd be no point, you'd be shelling out $150-200 each time seems ridiculous.
     
  9. darkodar

    darkodar MDL Addicted

    Feb 12, 2013
    629
    186
    30
    Maybe only with UEFI , my PC with legacy boot is not activated after clean install windows 10 build 10240 pro iso!
     
  10. cbutters

    cbutters MDL Junior Member

    Oct 17, 2007
    60
    16
    0
    Did your PC once have Windows 10 Insider Preview activated on it?
     
  11. coromonadalix

    coromonadalix MDL Senior Member

    Jul 21, 2009
    409
    82
    10
    thats whats bothering me a lot, i have plenty of hdd in hot swap configuration, i change them once in a while, i hope the win 10 activation will not be tied to HW generated id's pfff
    But it would be a good protection for M$oft, maybe bypassing the kms generated key's or kms activators in the wild ???
     
  12. cbutters

    cbutters MDL Junior Member

    Oct 17, 2007
    60
    16
    0
    Simple HDD changes should be OK... I used a different SSD to do the Clean install so I had a working and activated version in case I needed it. So hdd/ssd changes still work.
     
  13. coromonadalix

    coromonadalix MDL Senior Member

    Jul 21, 2009
    409
    82
    10
    i have 10 hdd's, it will surely create activation problems ... time to test that theory
     
  14. FatalIll

    FatalIll MDL Novice

    Apr 6, 2015
    33
    2
    0
    I'm running Windows 7 Ultimate activated by Daz Loader... If I wanted to clean install to Windows 10 10240 Pro, what would be the recommended steps?
     
  15. Krutonium

    Krutonium MDL Senior Member

    Aug 27, 2013
    406
    281
    10
    Well by definition, a Clean install is formatting, so back up all your stuff, format, and install 10.
     
  16. White Wizard

    White Wizard MDL Junior Member

    Jul 3, 2013
    63
    4
    0
    I did a clean installation of windows 10. 10240, and it wouldn't activate, I also wasn't able to personalize the background screen, but now I am able to personalize those background screens and going to system properties it says that I need to connect to the internet to activate windows, but I am already connected to the internet :confused:
     
  17. akhmedtaia

    akhmedtaia MDL Senior Member

    Nov 2, 2013
    485
    124
    10
    #18 akhmedtaia, Jul 16, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 16, 2015
  18. pisthai

    pisthai Imperfect Human

    Jul 29, 2009
    6,641
    1,921
    210
    And what's about use an Microsoft Account?!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. White Wizard

    White Wizard MDL Junior Member

    Jul 3, 2013
    63
    4
    0
    I also used my Microsoft account.