New Mod Approach P5b 1405

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by Yen, Jun 19, 2007.

  1. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    10,971
    10,542
    340
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    10,971
    10,542
    340
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    10,971
    10,542
    340
    I can't believe!!! :D

    THIS WAS MY OWN IDEA. NO HELP FROM ZHAOLIANG!!!

    I'm happy:) :)

    Yen
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Discoboy

    Discoboy MDL Junior Member

    May 20, 2007
    72
    0
    0
    Yen,

    Give yourself a pat on the back for a job very well done ;)

    Discoboy
    ;)
     
  5. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    10,971
    10,542
    340
    ;) I want to thank you!
    Without a person that test the ideas and give competent reports it wouldn't have been possible.

    You have had the risk of bricking mobo and to get trouble.

    BTW: Did you used old Afudos included in China's archive?

    I told Zhaoliang my new way. At this time I could do something for him, cause he didn't know that till now I'm very proud!!!


    Yen
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Discoboy

    Discoboy MDL Junior Member

    May 20, 2007
    72
    0
    0
    Hi Yen,

    Yes I used China's old Asus version 2.07 AFUDOS and not the latest Asus version 2.26

    Regards,
    Discoboy
    ;)
     
  7. guido4096

    guido4096 MDL Novice

    Jun 20, 2007
    8
    0
    0
    ok, I updated my computer as well with the modified 1405 bios. Worked immediatly, pretty cool.

    I flashed using EZ-Flash right from the old bios. Did not even have to change the bios settings, they were all kept and remained the same as before the flash.

    Thanks!
     
  8. pvc

    pvc MDL Novice

    May 28, 2007
    1
    0
    0
    which command did you use for flashing?:

    Afudos /ixxxx.rom /pbnc /n

    or just:

    Afudos /ixxxx.rom.

    What is the difrence between this two methods?
     
  9. Discoboy

    Discoboy MDL Junior Member

    May 20, 2007
    72
    0
    0
    Afudos /ixxxx.rom /pbnc /n

    This command writes to the Boot Block
     
  10. Wonder Woman

    Wonder Woman MDL Member

    Jun 5, 2007
    132
    2
    10
    #11 Wonder Woman, Jun 22, 2007
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    Thanks, Yen

    @ Yen

    Hi,

    I refer to my Post #3407 at http://forums.mydigitallife.net/posts/4075

    I simply wish to thank you and your friends who have helped us mod the BIOes to improve our Windows Vista experience :) :) :)

    As suggested in my post #3407, it would be great if you or any of the staff members in this forum could collect, classify by brand and type of motherboards and store all the successfully modded BIOes into a "Sticky". It would be a great pity if your work were to go to waste.
     
  11. guido4096

    guido4096 MDL Novice

    Jun 20, 2007
    8
    0
    0
    #12 guido4096, Jun 25, 2007
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    All seemed ok, but in the end Vista would not activate. There is a new BIOS that DOES work for me, Vista is now really activated. Please see:
    http://forums.mydigitallife.net/posts/4343
     
  12. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    10,971
    10,542
    340
    #13 Yen, Jun 25, 2007
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    (OP)
    Yes of course. You have to use Afudos for my mod, not EZ-Flash!!! Confirmed by Discoboy.
    The method I used is based on superstatic v1. The one you linked to is modded with superstatic v3, which China4Ever and me started to use later.
    My mod was the first working one. The other one was done later on using a new method.



    Yen
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. guido4096

    guido4096 MDL Novice

    Jun 20, 2007
    8
    0
    0
    Hi Yen,

    Thanks for your feedback. I first used EZ-Flash and after that I also tried AFUDOS to see if that would allow to activate. I still could not get Vista to activate. I guess I should have started from the beginning, with a clean 1405 and then use AFUDOS to flash the modified one over it.


    I assume that the new version uses quite a lot of your technology in there as well, even though it was created by ChinaForever?
     
  14. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    10,971
    10,542
    340
    #15 Yen, Jun 25, 2007
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    (OP)
    We developed that together in a remarkable "Modding" night:) ;) :D

    You can read the full story at MB-ASUS P5K DELUXE (2MB bios) It starts there:

    : http://forums.mydigitallife.net/posts/3877

    The one who has discovered that v3 method was Zhaoliang from a Chinese forum.
    He informed me about a new way via e-mail. And toghether with China4 Ever I (we) realized it.

    Result: First working 2MB bios mod with revised SLP 2.0 rules of Asus.:D

    You have to use old 2.07 Afudos to flash my "old" version. Afudos /ixxxx.rom /pbnc /n



    Yen
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. Discoboy

    Discoboy MDL Junior Member

    May 20, 2007
    72
    0
    0
    #17 Discoboy, Jul 7, 2007
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
  16. guido4096

    guido4096 MDL Novice

    Jun 20, 2007
    8
    0
    0
    Thanks, I just flashed it and vista is still activated. So this one again works fine!

    Thanks to Yen!
     
  17. guido4096

    guido4096 MDL Novice

    Jun 20, 2007
    8
    0
    0