No edge browser on Server 2016 RTM?

Discussion in 'Windows Server' started by charlieny100, Sep 18, 2016.

  1. charlieny100

    charlieny100 MDL Novice

    Nov 22, 2012
    8
    1
    0
    I don't see any way to install the edge browser on the RTM version floating around. Am I correct in assuming it can't be installed?
     
  2. kaljukass

    kaljukass MDL Addicted

    Nov 26, 2012
    837
    277
    30
    All are trying to get rid of this manure and you want to install it? Why?
     
  3. charlieny100

    charlieny100 MDL Novice

    Nov 22, 2012
    8
    1
    0
    Some people feel this way about all MS products. I assume you are running some form of Windows if you are on this forum. Why do you run someone else's manure?
     
  4. kaljukass

    kaljukass MDL Addicted

    Nov 26, 2012
    837
    277
    30
    :worthy: Sorry, I didn't knew that....., I thought, I'm speaking with humans. My mistake.
     
  5. charlieny100

    charlieny100 MDL Novice

    Nov 22, 2012
    8
    1
    0
    I asked a question I'd like to find an answer for. If you can't help please resist replying. Thanks in advance.
     
  6. Lotusisrael

    Lotusisrael MDL Junior Member

    Jun 28, 2013
    63
    2
    0
  7. xinso

    xinso MDL Guru

    Mar 5, 2009
    4,441
    5,569
    150
    #7 xinso, Oct 8, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Would you mind having a go with MSMG ToolKit-v5.6?

    ToolKit-v5.6\Packs\EdgeBrowser

    To install online:

    Step1: Install main package

    Microsoft-Windows-Internet-Browser-Package~31bf3856ad364e35~amd64~~10.0.14393.0.cab
    Code:
    C:\windows\system32>dism /online /add-package:D:\ToolKit-v5.6\Packs\EdgeBrowser\Microsoft-Windows-Internet-Browser-Package~31bf3856ad364e35~amd64~~10.0.14393.0.cab
    


    Step2: Install language package

    Microsoft-Windows-Internet-Browser-Package~31bf3856ad364e35~amd64~xx-XX~10.0.14393.0.cab
    Code:
    C:\windows\system32>dism /online /add-package:D:\ToolKit-v5.6\Packs\EdgeBrowser\Microsoft-Windows-Internet-Browser-Package~31bf3856ad364e35~amd64~xx-XX~10.0.14393.0.cab
    
    Step3: Reboot

    Note: amd64 (x64) packages is enough.
     
  8. Lotusisrael

    Lotusisrael MDL Junior Member

    Jun 28, 2013
    63
    2
    0
    How does it work? Does this contain code taken from a Windows 10 version to be pasted into Windows Server 2016 ?
     
  9. xinso

    xinso MDL Guru

    Mar 5, 2009
    4,441
    5,569
    150
    #9 xinso, Oct 8, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2016
    Extracting packages from Windows 10 by Bubbles Super Nasty SFX Extractor Tool. (Sorry, I cannot find the topic at the moment)
     
  10. Lotusisrael

    Lotusisrael MDL Junior Member

    Jun 28, 2013
    63
    2
    0
    #10 Lotusisrael, Oct 8, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2016
    I do not to take packages from Windows 10 and copy them to Windows Server 2016. I want to keep it legal, that I know is illegal. WS 2016 already has edgehtml.dll in System32, probably because other rely or may rely on it. There is, probably, a way to enable the use of edgehtml.dll in IE 11, perhaps by using a 3rd party tool, but that tool has to be free itself and not extract code from another version of Windows.
    One way to test if Edge mode can still be used in IE seems this: remove mshtml.dll from both System32 and Syswow64 (backing them up before) and then open IE, see if it still works. Edge mode may actually be default. If it crashes, they can be restored and then the another trick, used before the November Update (tp4), to add certain registry keys
    reg add "HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main" /v DisableRandomFlighting /t REG_DWORD /d 1 /f
    [FONT=Consolas, Menlo, Monaco, Lucida Console, Liberation Mono, DejaVu Sans Mono, Bitstream Vera Sans Mono, Courier New, monospace, sans-serif]reg add "HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main" /v EnableLegacyEdgeSwitching /t REG_DWORD /d 1 /f[/FONT]
    [FONT=Consolas, Menlo, Monaco, Lucida Console, Liberation Mono, DejaVu Sans Mono, Bitstream Vera Sans Mono, Courier New, monospace, sans-serif]then remove mshtml.dll again and open IE. If any of these things work, it is clearly that Edge mode is still there.
    PS: To remove the keys from the Registry, after the experiment:
    [/FONT]reg add "HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main" /v EnableLegacyEdgeSwitching /t REG_DWORD /d 0 /f
     
  11. xinso

    xinso MDL Guru

    Mar 5, 2009
    4,441
    5,569
    150
    #11 xinso, Oct 8, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2016
    Oh, it is interesting.

    enable the use of edgehtml.dll in IE 11?


     
  12. Lotusisrael

    Lotusisrael MDL Junior Member

    Jun 28, 2013
    63
    2
    0
    Me too. I gave some links on this boards, opened a thread in Windows 10 section of this forum. There were some ideas, but most of them centered around Windows 10 Enterprise ltsb. The difference between that Win 10 edition and WS 2016 seems to be that mshtml.dll is present on System32, not Program Files/Internet Explorer. It is locked even from creating Symbolic Links.
     
  13. sebus

    sebus MDL Guru

    Jul 23, 2008
    5,879
    1,772
    180
    Like you have legal copy of WS 2016... Hypocrisy!
     
  14. Lotusisrael

    Lotusisrael MDL Junior Member

    Jun 28, 2013
    63
    2
    0
    #14 Lotusisrael, Oct 8, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2016
    It is trial from Technet, and I shall have a never expiring free
    license from Dreamspark, in late Octomber. Of course it is legal.
     
  15. riahc3

    riahc3 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 29, 2009
    494
    24
    10
    There is no reason why Edge is not in Server 2016. Maybe out of the box it is disabled but...
     
  16. riahc3

    riahc3 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 29, 2009
    494
    24
    10
    #16 riahc3, Oct 11, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Try this:

    Code:
    Get-AppxPackage  *edge* | Add-AppxPackage
     
  17. Lotusisrael

    Lotusisrael MDL Junior Member

    Jun 28, 2013
    63
    2
    0
  18. Lotusisrael

    Lotusisrael MDL Junior Member

    Jun 28, 2013
    63
    2
    0
    Command Prompt? Unrecognised.
     
  19. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    6,787
    10,376
    210
    Believe they were talking about powershell
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  20. Lotusisrael

    Lotusisrael MDL Junior Member

    Jun 28, 2013
    63
    2
    0
    #20 Lotusisrael, Oct 11, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2016
    Ok, it does not work in PowerShell either. Tried it both as one command, then separated in two.