OEM SLP Disc problem

Discussion in 'Windows XP / Older OS' started by stonedagain, Jan 4, 2010.

  1. stonedagain

    stonedagain MDL Junior Member

    Sep 30, 2009
    84
    3
    0
  2. OEM-USER

    OEM-USER Guest

    #2 OEM-USER, Jan 4, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
  3. stonedagain

    stonedagain MDL Junior Member

    Sep 30, 2009
    84
    3
    0
    #3 stonedagain, Jan 4, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    (OP)
  4. OEM-USER

    OEM-USER Guest

    #4 OEM-USER, Jan 4, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
  5. skylark

    skylark MDL Junior Member

    Sep 3, 2009
    57
    10
    0
    #5 skylark, Jan 4, 2010
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2010
    Are you sure you are using an OEM or retail ISO of XP Professional? You would need to change some other files if you are using a VL copy and you would need to change the key if you are using XP Home.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. stonedagain

    stonedagain MDL Junior Member

    Sep 30, 2009
    84
    3
    0
    #6 stonedagain, Jan 5, 2010
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2010
    (OP)
    It was an XP Pro SP3 Retail iso:
    File: WinXPSP3.October 2009.iso
    CRC-32: 215fc4cd
    MD4: ea4499b98cb2e8530cfec9f4f528cbf7
    MD5: 5439a6b0d393ccbc5e5fbe98c3fcaaea
    SHA-1: 3b80a00a0cedcaef51bad1f4f121ea8def1d2580
    I can't remember where I downloaded it from. Anyway, I've just downloaded this iso:
    File: en_windows_xp_professional_with_service_pack_3_x86_cd_vl_x14-73974.iso
    CRC-32: ffffffff
    MD4: eab8932df2fcb275010670cfb1a046a5
    MD5: 5bf476e2fc445b8d06b3c2a6091fe3aa
    SHA-1: 66ac289ae27724c5ae17139227cbe78c01eefe40
    So I can try again!
    Cheers.
     
  7. stonedagain

    stonedagain MDL Junior Member

    Sep 30, 2009
    84
    3
    0
    #7 stonedagain, Jan 5, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    (OP)
  8. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,707
    3,065
    300
    From what i can see it looks like you are using a Modded VLK version. You say you want to use dell serial number do you have a dell machine if not download the HP DMI boot cd and make up and HP OEM cd read the stickies all the info is there. you should also run oembios.exe to see if you already have OEM dmi info there.
     
  9. stonedagain

    stonedagain MDL Junior Member

    Sep 30, 2009
    84
    3
    0
    My bios is modded with Dell slp & Slic 2.1
     
  10. skylark

    skylark MDL Junior Member

    Sep 3, 2009
    57
    10
    0
    #11 skylark, Jan 5, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. Chetboyle

    Chetboyle MDL Novice

    Feb 14, 2015
    2
    0
    0
    Super noob here so forgive me if I ask questions that may have obvious answers. I been reading over these pre-activation/SLP threads for a few days now and want to confirm a few things.

    I would like to create a pre-activated ISO using my own files for an eMachines pc with XP mce that is crippled. (The bootloader on the hdd is completely fubared and there is NOT any way to boot into any safemode option). I managed to extract copies of the original oembios .bin .sig .dat files as well as the entire CatRoot folder on the hdd, then on another machine create the appropriate cabed versions of the oembios files.

    1. to create the winnt.sif file, can I just use the text in post 1, replace the product key with the eMachines SLP key that I had previously extracted from magic JB then paste it into notepad to then save it as the proper .sif file?

    2. Since I am using XP Mediacenter edition do I also need to make a change the text in field [UserData] fullname= XPPRO to something else?

    3. I'd also like to do this with another computer (Dell), using a copy of the original installed os that I cloned onto an old IDE drive. The trouble is now I can't remember if the hdd has xp home prem from my desktop or XP pro from my laptop. Is there a directory that I can easily find the xp version information on the cloned drive?

    Any help is much appreciated.