OEM SLP Windows 7 Upgrade Anytime - IT WORKS!

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Sabresite, Jan 12, 2010.

  1. Sabresite

    Sabresite MDL Member

    Nov 7, 2007
    210
    47
    10
    I have here an HP DV7t that came with Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit. I tried to upgrade to ultimate using a retail ultimate disc, but it said I have to use the Windows 7 Upgrade Anytime disc.

    I don't have an upgrade anytime key, so I used the HP Ultimate SLP key AND IT WORKED! Let it be known that you can use SLP keys to do upgrade anytime!
     
  2. sam3971

    sam3971 MDL Guru

    Nov 14, 2008
    2,220
    303
    90
    Yea, it works great too. Don't you need to have a bios mod though or does it matter?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. PAYMYRENT

    PAYMYRENT MDL Developer

    Jul 28, 2009
    1,462
    419
    60
    i did this months ago i used wow7 to upgrade from pro to ultimate :p
     
  4. MasterHacker

    MasterHacker MDL Junior Member

    Dec 10, 2009
    53
    11
    0
    If you already have Windows 7 preinstalled from a major computer manufacture all you need is a slp key because the bios already has slic 2.1 and the certificate is already installed.
     
  5. FreeStyler

    FreeStyler MDL Guru

    Jun 23, 2007
    3,502
    3,613
    120
    Obviously (if you read his post) it was sold with Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit pre-installed, so it is safe to assume the bios already has a 2.1 SLIC and certificate is already installed

    [edit]
    Oops just now notice MasterHacker reply...which says the same ;)
     
  6. TAZMANUK

    TAZMANUK MDL Novice

    Mar 11, 2008
    29
    0
    0
    Hi i need help with the anytime upgrade

    I have a legal home prem version of windows 7 on a self built pc which has a asus motherboard, i tried the anytime upgrade using another ultimate key, it did upgrade to ultimate after 5 minutes or so however then said i only had 3 days to activate it so i had to go back to a norton ghost image that i did before i used anytime upgrade

    can someone please give a guide how to do this process please im stuck with it????? or sent me a private message i have read some of the stickies but dont make sense
     
  7. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,707
    3,064
    300
    You are using a retail key, you need bios modded with slic2.1 and OEM SLP install.
     
  8. zolookas

    zolookas MDL Junior Member

    May 13, 2007
    62
    1
    0
    Yes, you can upgrade with OEM SLP key, but you need to disconnect from the internet while it checks the key.
     
  9. FreeStyler

    FreeStyler MDL Guru

    Jun 23, 2007
    3,502
    3,613
    120
    #9 FreeStyler, Jan 13, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Or a Retail Windows 7 Ultimate Key (unused)...
    But as urie said already, you can not use OEM:SLP Ultimate key(s) to perform a anytime upgrade

    Code:
    Win 7 Home Premium OEM:SLP Pre-Activated -> Win 7 Ultimate OEM:SLP Key (this bios has 2.1 SLIC and OEM Certificate installed)
    Win 7 Home Premium Retail Activated  -> Win 7 Ultimate Retail Key
    
    If you like to be able to use a OEM:SLP Ultimate key to perform the anytime upgrade you need OA SLIC 2.1, either by using a loader or by flashing your bios with a BIOS Mod. You also need to install a matching OEM Certificate.
     
  10. FreeStyler

    FreeStyler MDL Guru

    Jun 23, 2007
    3,502
    3,613
    120
    Only if he has a OA 2.1 BIOS and matching OEM Certicate installed... without it it will not work
     
  11. sam3971

    sam3971 MDL Guru

    Nov 14, 2008
    2,220
    303
    90
    Ok dude. I really was not sure because I already modded my bios so it was just a question. That is good to know though, thank you. :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. conqrr

    conqrr MDL Novice

    Jan 14, 2010
    10
    0
    0
    can i use any oem ultimate key for anytime upgrade?? i have oem compaq win7 home basic in my laptop preinstalled.
     
  13. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,707
    3,064
    300
    If you mean ultimate OEM SLP key yes
     
  14. conqrr

    conqrr MDL Novice

    Jan 14, 2010
    10
    0
    0

    so can i use dell oem slp ultimate win7 to activate on compaq home basic win7?? sry.just wanna be too sure...
     
  15. FreeStyler

    FreeStyler MDL Guru

    Jun 23, 2007
    3,502
    3,613
    120
  16. Dolorous Edd

    Dolorous Edd MDL Expert

    Aug 31, 2009
    1,054
    194
    60
    @OPA, Me thinks this topic should be added to the Repository sticky. While not an installation/activation issue or bios mod it would be usefull and possibly reduce these types of threads if the repository answered a few questions about anytime upgrades and how they are only really helpfull to those with an existing, SLP activated installation of windows 7.

    BTW, have I said that this new style or theme or whatever it is they are using is burning my freaking eyes out of my skull? Sheesh, hard to look at.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. Dr Pete

    Dr Pete MDL Novice

    Jan 23, 2010
    4
    0
    0
    Time to stop lurking and reading and ask a question.

    Computer has slic v2.1 with win7 home premium.
    Tried the ultimate upgrade disk, same story...must use upgrade button.

    Question is this, have MSI motherboard with AMI bios, I don't see it on the list for OEM slp key. (MSI motherboard)
    What key can I use without buggering up my system? :)

    Thank you for this forum and information you provide.
     
  18. Hazar

    Hazar MDL Guru

    Jul 29, 2009
    2,523
    452
    90
    Any key for your edition you want. THEY ARE NOT MANUFACTURER SPECIFIC.

    As stated in the stickies.
     
  19. Dr Pete

    Dr Pete MDL Novice

    Jan 23, 2010
    4
    0
    0
    Thanks for the quick reply Hazar!
    Just fyi, the sticky IMHO should NOT then read the manufacture besides the key if not needed. Buggers up the waters for newbies like myself who read stuff for day's and then have to ask IMHO maybe stupid question ;)

    Spent 1 hour just trying to find out what MB is in this new system, since nothing I can find will read the manufacture, seems MSI is not that popular? Or problems with this board.
    I try to do my homework before I ask a question.
    Again, my thanks to all who help on this forum.