Office 2016 Backgrounds?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Office' started by DeathStalker77, Nov 21, 2017.

  1. DeathStalker77

    DeathStalker77 MDL Senior Member

    Nov 8, 2009
    311
    19
    10
    I used to have the Office Backgrounds (ex, Circuitry) - with the newest version, i can no longer locate that option. I can change the THEME (from one of 3 - colorful, white, or dark grey), but not the Background.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks.
     
  2. dhjohns

    dhjohns MDL Guru

    Sep 5, 2013
    3,285
    1,731
    120
    State your version please.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. DeathStalker77

    DeathStalker77 MDL Senior Member

    Nov 8, 2009
    311
    19
    10
    Newest one on the site - v16.0.4266.1001 64bit
     
  4. dhjohns

    dhjohns MDL Guru

    Sep 5, 2013
    3,285
    1,731
    120
    I am not sure what the setting is, but you may try going here HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\16.0\Common\General in the registry, and make sure you have a String Value called Themes with the data set to Themes, and make sure you do not have a DWord called DisableBackgrounds set to 1. If you have that DWord, just delete it, or set it to 0. If you do not have the Themes string value just create it, and set it to Themes.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. DeathStalker77

    DeathStalker77 MDL Senior Member

    Nov 8, 2009
    311
    19
    10
    Will try that. Thanks.
     
  6. rhahgleuhargh

    rhahgleuhargh MDL Junior Member

    Feb 9, 2015
    88
    15
    0
    Hello,
    Are you connected to your cloud account (ie. outlook.com, gmail) ? This is needed if you want to activate backgrounds. You can enter your login in File--> account.
     
  7. DeathStalker77

    DeathStalker77 MDL Senior Member

    Nov 8, 2009
    311
    19
    10
    No, I am not connected, never have been, and never had the problem before. I do not, and never will, use a cloud account.
     
  8. dhjohns

    dhjohns MDL Guru

    Sep 5, 2013
    3,285
    1,731
    120
    Well, that is a shame. You are truly missing out.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. DeathStalker77

    DeathStalker77 MDL Senior Member

    Nov 8, 2009
    311
    19
    10
    To each his own. :)
     
  10. Cameron_21

    Cameron_21 MDL Novice

    Mar 31, 2016
    3
    0
    0
    I have an question. If I have used MS toolkit is it save to use an cloud account.
     
  11. Nucleus

    Nucleus MDL Guru

    Aug 4, 2009
    2,874
    2,924
    90
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. dhjohns

    dhjohns MDL Guru

    Sep 5, 2013
    3,285
    1,731
    120
    I find it best to use default. Everything works well. No black suits knocking at my door yet! :dance:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. DeathStalker77

    DeathStalker77 MDL Senior Member

    Nov 8, 2009
    311
    19
    10
    Well, after the most recent Office updates, I now have the option available again. Still odd, lol.

    Correction, it WAS there after the update. After a subsequent re-boot, the option is gone again. All I have is the option for the Office Theme. :(