Overclock msi gt 710 2gb GDDR5

Discussion in 'PC Hardware' started by Fly3, May 12, 2019.

  1. Fly3

    Fly3 MDL Junior Member

    Oct 7, 2017
    56
    0
    0
    #1 Fly3, May 12, 2019
    Last edited: May 12, 2019
    Its my first time doing overclock so I need step by step guidance
    I just need 15-20 fps boost in CSGO
    Do I need to keep running the overclock software every time I start Windows ?
    I wonder how many Celsius the gpu will be while gaming after being overclocked ? (its has a small fan)
    Does gpu overclock could harm my hp motherboard or other components ?
    what would be the long term issues ?
    My desktop is hp 6300 i5 8gb ram (Intel Q75 Express)
    320W PSU
    Gpu driver installed by windows.
     
  2. MS_User

    MS_User MDL Guru

    Nov 30, 2014
    3,039
    551
    120
    i dont know about your mobo but u could burn out your GPU...also over clocking requires a bigger PSU for more power.
     
  3. Fly3

    Fly3 MDL Junior Member

    Oct 7, 2017
    56
    0
    0
    #3 Fly3, May 12, 2019
    Last edited: May 12, 2019
    (OP)
    its Intel Q75 Express and PSU is 320W
    also I forget to tell that i didn't install the gpu driver but I let Windows install it automatically
     
  4. MS_User

    MS_User MDL Guru

    Nov 30, 2014
    3,039
    551
    120
    320W is small make sure your desktop has plenty of fans to keep your system cool as possible your GPU is going to get real hot.;)
     
  5. Joe C

    Joe C MDL Guru

    Jan 12, 2012
    2,881
    1,628
    90
    #5 Joe C, May 13, 2019
    Last edited: May 13, 2019
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    11,501
    11,496
    340
    #6 Yen, May 13, 2019
    Last edited: May 13, 2019
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. Fly3

    Fly3 MDL Junior Member

    Oct 7, 2017
    56
    0
    0
    #7 Fly3, May 13, 2019
    Last edited: May 13, 2019
    (OP)
    1280x1024 very low settings i'm just need 20 fps more

    what about just exit msi afterburner when not gaming instead of resetting to default ?
    afterburner is the best ?

    I just have old graphics driver and 3D vision driver
    once i uninstall them windows reinstall those again in a second

    I have no idea about the right way to overclocking and if it safe to do it in my desktop (hp 6300)
    Thanks.
     
  8. digiquandry

    digiquandry MDL Junior Member

    Sep 13, 2015
    80
    77
    0
    go to overclockers.com then build a modest gaming rig. You're not going to win a rally race with a Prius, and I doubt very many people are going to expend the mental energy trying to tell you how it can be done.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. digiquandry

    digiquandry MDL Junior Member

    Sep 13, 2015
    80
    77
    0
    I agree with you. And that appears to be a decent gaming rig. It just needs to get the job done! I by no means implied that it had to be expensive. I think your advice and mine are synonymous.

    However, asking for "overclocking" advice for an off-the-shelf cookie-cutter HP is a little rich.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. Joe C

    Joe C MDL Guru

    Jan 12, 2012
    2,881
    1,628
    90
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    11,501
    11,496
    340
    #12 Yen, May 14, 2019
    Last edited: May 14, 2019
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. Fly3

    Fly3 MDL Junior Member

    Oct 7, 2017
    56
    0
    0
    #13 Fly3, May 14, 2019
    Last edited: May 14, 2019
    (OP)
    I have saw some youtube videos setting core clock 325 and memory clock 225 and voltage 50 for gt710
    and I did it with msi afterburner before I see your reply but voltage is locked so I tried to unlock voltage control from settings but it still locked so I just modified core clock and memory clock pushing them at one time not by stepwise and i didn't touch power limit and temp limit and fan.

    regarding drivers I didn't do anything
    I live in a hot weather country and gpu temp is 67 after overclock while gaming with no issues
    is it safe to just exit msi afterburner instead of load defaults when not gaming ?

    thanks Yen
     
  13. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    11,501
    11,496
    340
    Well, I am always using latest drivers from Nvidia since the driver coming from windows is one year old already.
    67 degrees Celsius are good. When I played Obduction my max temp was 72.

    I think when just exiting afterburner it stays being OC'ed on current session. After reboot it should be default if afterburner is not auto started.

    To take care of GPU I reset to default manually always after gaming since at normal use there is no benefit having OC'ed.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. MS_User

    MS_User MDL Guru

    Nov 30, 2014
    3,039
    551
    120
    #15 MS_User, May 14, 2019
    Last edited: May 15, 2019 at 05:30
    msi gt 710 2gb GDDR5 is a very decent card with lots of ram... still runs on ebay brand new for $70.00 i dont understand why he wants to overclock it...i dont think he will get much more performance out of it just to burn out the card in the end.
     
  15. Fly3

    Fly3 MDL Junior Member

    Oct 7, 2017
    56
    0
    0
    now after hour of gaming the game freeze but sound still run maybe because of the windows drivers ?
    I will roll back to default settings and uninstall afterburner and buy gt 1030 but before doing this I want to know if the old drivers by windows is the reason why ?
     
  16. MS_User

    MS_User MDL Guru

    Nov 30, 2014
    3,039
    551
    120
    freezing could be a few things drivers, CPU, mobo speed, ram speed, do u have a SSD or a mechanical HD , monitor overload cant handle more than lets say 25 million pixels....when u game u have to have a real good machine dedicated for gaming....good luck
     
  17. Joe C

    Joe C MDL Guru

    Jan 12, 2012
    2,881
    1,628
    90
    #18 Joe C, May 14, 2019
    Last edited: May 14, 2019
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    11,501
    11,496
    340
    I guess not. New drivers are usually more optimized for games and might get higher frame rates without to OC.
    To know it for sure you'd have to try. Some games are more sensitive when OC'ed. Others are not and do run with same OC settings hence there are multiple OC slots to save different settings.
    If a particular game freezes the OC settings are too much for it and you have to use lower values.

    Nothing compares to a new GPU of course with regard to getting more performance.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. Fly3

    Fly3 MDL Junior Member

    Oct 7, 2017
    56
    0
    0