PC clock stops.

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by jetjock, Sep 24, 2016.

  1. jetjock

    jetjock MDL Senior Member

    Mar 6, 2010
    281
    15
    10
  2. LatinMcG

    LatinMcG Bios Borker

    Feb 27, 2011
    5,390
    1,464
    180
  3. Joe C

    Joe C MDL Guru

    Jan 12, 2012
    2,474
    1,341
    90
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. kaljukass

    kaljukass MDL Addicted

    Nov 26, 2012
    869
    294
    30
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. jetjock

    jetjock MDL Senior Member

    Mar 6, 2010
    281
    15
    10
    I checked and the service was started but set to manual. Reset it to Automatic and reset clock. We'll see what happens

    jetjock:plane:
     
  6. kaljukass

    kaljukass MDL Addicted

    Nov 26, 2012
    869
    294
    30
    It may be the reason, but as I said. not the only this. If not Your clock still not work, is possible to continue search.
    Normally the taskbar clock starts when the computer starts and then should synchronize with the BIOS clock. If the Time service not run, it cannot synchronize and clock may run but shows 00:00.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. jetjock

    jetjock MDL Senior Member

    Mar 6, 2010
    281
    15
    10
    Just ran scan and it found no broken files. Thanks anyway for the suggestion.

    jetjock :plane:
     
  8. Joe C

    Joe C MDL Guru

    Jan 12, 2012
    2,474
    1,341
    90
    Have you attempted to run sfc /scannow to see if it'll repair any system files yet?

    Although Revo is a good program, using it to uninstall software should be your last option. Try re-installing the clock software and then un-install through Programs and Features in the control panel. Often times software will share .dll's with each other and ripping them out with Revo will take out a required .dll file that is being used for something else.
    What is the name of this clock software that you installed?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. bpwnes

    bpwnes MDL Member

    Aug 11, 2015
    151
    27
    10
    Flash BIOS then? If that doesn't work, an upgrade install of Windows would fix any OS related problems.
     
  10. jetjock

    jetjock MDL Senior Member

    Mar 6, 2010
    281
    15
    10
    Have been trying to do that. Flashing an ASUS BIOS almost requires a degree in computer engineering! :confused: I'll let you know if I can get it figured out. Thanks.

    jetjock :plane:
     
  11. jetjock

    jetjock MDL Senior Member

    Mar 6, 2010
    281
    15
    10
    Program was called Socket Watch. I'll try a reinstall, but doubt that will help as clock was messup before uninstalling. Only took it out because something in the system clock had caused it to red X and it wouldn't work anymore.

    jetjock :plane:
     
  12. pisthai

    pisthai Imperfect Human

    Jul 29, 2009
    6,814
    1,997
    210
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. Joe C

    Joe C MDL Guru

    Jan 12, 2012
    2,474
    1,341
    90
    If that doesn't work, you may need to do a repair install to fix it
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. jetjock

    jetjock MDL Senior Member

    Mar 6, 2010
    281
    15
    10
    If your still watching this Joe, I wound up installing an Acronis backup from the week before I noticed a small hiccup on my computer. When it happened, I didn't think much of it as it was so small and happened so quickly. The only outward sign that anything had happened was I noticed my mailbox list in Eudora was changed slightly. I just fixed that and thought no more of the glitch. After trying everything suggested in this thread (except flashing the BIOS, which is always a last resort as far as I'm concerned) I decided to restore back to before the glitch happened. It's been two days now and the machine appears to be working just fine.

    Don't know what the glitch was, but my Avast & MalwareBytes programs didn't find any malware or virus, and since I wasn't on any Website, I doubt it was caused by either. All is well for now. Thanks to all who tried to help.

    jetjock :plane:
     
  15. MS_User

    MS_User MDL Guru

    Nov 30, 2014
    2,700
    419
    90

    dont flash your bios....theirs always a risk that u can kill your comp.....i dont think is a bios issue.. re-install windows again.
     
  16. MS_User

    MS_User MDL Guru

    Nov 30, 2014
    2,700
    419
    90

    thats good u got it fix:clap:
     
  17. LatinMcG

    LatinMcG Bios Borker

    Feb 27, 2011
    5,390
    1,464
    180
    #19 LatinMcG, Sep 29, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2016